Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Paul Mellor

black_dot

I totally agree mate, he's on a pittance at the broncos and we can afford to spend overs for him as our other buying doesn't seem to be working out.

black_dot said:
I totally agree mate, he's on a pittance at the broncos and we can afford to spend overs for him as our other buying doesn't seem to be working out.

A pittance is right! It's amazing what some of their guys will play for just to stay and be a part of the Broncos organisation.

I'm of the impression we could offer 3 x his current contract and not break the bank. In fact not even make him the highest paid back.

It's been like pulling teeth though I hear and the board is said to be fed up.

The other big name target is playing silly buggers now as well.

Captain Jack Sparrow said:
A pittance is right! It's amazing what some of their guys will play for just to stay and be a part of the Broncos organisation.

I'm of the impression we could offer 3 x his current contract and not break the bank. In fact not even make him the highest paid back.

It's been like pulling teeth though I hear and the board is said to be fed up.

The other big name target is playing silly buggers now as well.

That doesn't sound too good.

What about Adam Perry is he still off contract?
I rate him.

The thing with Berrigan is he can play 3 4 6 7 and 9 if need be. (9 is hooker isn't it?....I'm still working on 11 12 13 as the front row.)

Alan Shore

Berrigan can play centres, five-eighth, half, hooker and even lock. Very versatile, but I love his form as a centre. Provides a kicking option as well. I want this guy in a blue jersey.

black_dot

He's a QLDer Tama that aint gunna happen......Blue black and white maybe.

Sparrow, the board can be as fed up as they like, It's irrelevant in the signing of players and I hope they don't have anything to do with choosing players.

Just wanted to say that using Mellor at the back end of a game as wide running backrower has a lot of Merritt (hehe). May well prolong his time with us also. He is struggling to do the 80.

Mr Sharkie

We've always made a home away from home for Queenslanders (Nutley, Lang, McKenna, Bell, Campbell etc.)

Berrigan Come On Down!

black_dot said:
He's a QLDer Tama that aint gunna happen......Blue black and white maybe.

Sparrow, the board can be as fed up as they like, It's irrelevant in the signing of players and I hope they don't have anything to do with choosing players.

We wish!!

black_dot

LOL I know mate, a fair whack of wishful thinking there on my part eh ? we can only dream !

It's on reason why I really am a fan of the warriors model. Run properly like a business. CEO and coach . Coach and recruiting helpers pick and choose players, CEO gives em the nod and writes the cheque, coach runs the footy, CEO pays the bills and runs the club.

have you ever been to a game over there ? it's awesome, for the battle they fight with the rugby code mate they do a fine job. Give me a mick watson anyday !

Funny that blacky, if you read the Warriors Forum, they will tell you he is the problem.

black_dot

I understand he has detractors, but any other opertational ceo would have led that club into the ground by now, the accounts make interesting reading and let's face it, they are the only NRL club that profits acting solely as an NRL club, no pokies, no club.

All NRl clubs should aspire to that level.

And also pay their player in NZ dollars effectively giving them 25% higher cap in a country where the cost of living is significantly lower.

black_dot

That may just put them near what the broncos pay their players to stay in brissy, where the cost of living is cheaper and they pay severe unders to keep players in brisbane because the players are brisbane kids....

The warriors have to throw overs at aussie players to attract them over the ditch, and that is simply converted into aussie dollars.

Mr Sharkie

black_dot said:
It's on reason why I really am a fan of the warriors model. Run properly like a business. CEO and coach . Coach and recruiting helpers pick and choose players, CEO gives em the nod and writes the cheque, coach runs the footy, CEO pays the bills and runs the club.

The Roosters seem to do well financially as well as I believe (correct if I am wrong) they have a similar set-up.

I guess it's all a bit too logical for the Sharks to have football managers making football decisions & business managers making business decisions.

(As opposed to ego centric, power hungry, war mongers like Barry Pierce)