Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Paul Vaughan

rasaint

OK by all means levy fines. I don’t have a problem with that principle; however the NRL is now fining players huge money $50K PLUS suspensions? The crime is a gathering of players in a COVID bubble. I don’t know the legal ins and outs but seems very draconian to me. Our club has effectively said it has no problem this situation? Is it possible that players at other clubs may have nibbled on this pie also but escaped detection? Yes I know, our blokes got caught.

Police and Government authorities levy $1K for COVID breaches. I live in a reasonably well to do suburb. All week particularly in the evenings people around the neighbourhood are bringing fold up chairs even tables on the footpath and nature strips etc and together having drinks, food, chats. I couldn’t care less. But a nark might properly observe that this breaches ‘stay home orders’.

Genuinely, does anyone know what the NRL has on our club? I’m not being funny. A week or so back I saw our terrific young Fijian winger charged with a leg wrapping beaut power tackle described as a ‘shoulder charge‘ and rubbed out 4 weeks with the judiciary process reportedly returning a guilty verdict in 5 minutes; is that respectful of the process itself? Our club appeared to wave that through ( far as I could tell) without any public criticism of the decision or it’s seeming cursory process.

It seems the suspension of 8 weeks to our metre eating SOO prop and some weird suspension rotation system of our other NRL players is designed to keep weakening our team over the next month. Why not let it all happen at the Manly game and be done with the NRL circus. Fellas and Gals it is understandable to be very annoyed at the players involved but perspective requires fairness.

SaintPauli

I saw Paul Vaughan on Nine news footage of him on the phone and pacing back and forth in home at a frantic pace. Not a great sight or sign. This guy is goneeeee.

Dragon Blood

This Club stands for nothing. Players don’t care, no passion, a BOD full of self interest. What a great way to top off a 100 year anniversary....
Exactly my thoughts too FlameThrower.

I'm not sure if it was a special occasion for PV (maybe a birthday for him or his Mrs???), but if there was a true professional culture within the club from top to bottom, a concrete cohesive team spirt and environment within, then i'm sure such a celebration could have been organised for all players, wags, officials etc within the NRL bubble protocol to avoid such a huge national (front page) embarrassment.

As a Dragons fan all my life (40+ years) I have never been ashamed to tell anyone that I'm a Saints supporter up until today.

Hopefully it's a kick up the arse to the BOD and current owners.....that this NRL shite is for real and not just a play thing....a tax loss write off.....it's time to get serious or cut your losses and get the FCKU OUT and let someone more professional and capable to run this once proud club and be able to compete with the modern evolution of the game like Penrith.... Melbourne... Rorters... clubs have

RedVDave

The 8 game ban imposed on Vaughan effectively means no more games for him in 2021 unless we make the semis which is now highly unlikely.

Let's say for argument sake we make the semis no way he gets picked a) he would be underdone and b) it would be rewarding this behaviour if he doesn't get sacked he's gone for the year regardless.

Blood Shot Eyes

Webster just stated on 100% Footy that both Griffin and Haran addressed the players after the warriors game and said words to the effect that we know you all like to get together and have a drink, but you just can't in the current circumstances....

The players went out and did it anyway....speaks volumes....
Whether or not its fact that Griffin and Haran warned the players and whether we think they didnt moraly do anything wrong ie committ a serious crime, 13 not 1 or 2 players MUST have known they were ignoring the NRL strict Covid rules and MUST have known it was during strict state lockdown rules....I will defend and support my team on most occassions but they've lost me with this act of selfish stupidity ......Im still waiting for a player or players from the group to step forward and front the media and their fans and apologise ....

I pretty much agree with everything said by rasaint, however these guys knew the terms and conditions. Even though I can't consider the gathering constitutes a breach since they all train, travel and play together and no-one outside the club was present (unlike St Cleary's tik tok session) it was a shortsighted and regrettable decision which the media has predictably jumped all over and made us a laughingstock with "cultural problems".
We're sitting in seventh with teams queueing up below us and tough games ahead, and a significant portion of the playing group chooses to do something as risky as this. It just shows me that their hearts aren't in it.
I'd be happy if Vaughan, Norman or JdB never took the field in a Saints jersey again. As for the other guys who went, I'd be giving them the ultimatum that if they didn't knuckle down and earn their money for the rest of the season that they're on borrowed time too.

denis preston

Webster just stated on 100% Footy that both Griffin and Haran addressed the players after the warriors game and said words to the effect that we know you all like to get together and have a drink, but you just can't in the current circumstances....

The players went out and did it anyway....speaks volumes....
IF that's true, the Board has no alternative but to sack a player or two put others on notice and then announce that Hook has been given a 2 year extension to give him space & time to change the culture. Does anyone know if there would be any clauses in contracts in regard to conduct and if so could use this episode to sack non performing players without having to pay their contracts out ? Still cant believe what some are on.

thebigredv

I saw Paul Vaughan on Nine news footage of him on the phone and pacing back and forth in home at a frantic pace. Not a great sight or sign. This guy is goneeeee.

He will be gone but I reckon he will be snapped up just as quick by another club and they will get a handy player, and Vaughan will just move on with it.

In the end we lose for have invested in the wrong player.

I've always viewed Vaughan as someone who is good at banding the boys together, a fairly passionate player despite his form patches of late. Now he will be remembered as one of the more selfish players who has done deep damage to the club with the sway he pulls around a rotten playing group.

Blood Shot Eyes

How have they got footage of this. Using drones ir hiding in trees?
Who knows mate..just saw Channel 9 showing Vaughan walking his dog....and wait for it, the reporter asked him was Jack Debelin really hiding under your bed...seriously !!!!! As I said yesterday if Debelin reportedly wasnt there when the cops arrived where did journos get the alledged info from....why single his name out...answer, because hes been in the news of late and it adds to the media circus

The calm one

He will be gone but I reckon he will be snapped up just as quick by another club and they will get a handy player, and Vaughan will just move on with it.

In the end we lose for have invested in the wrong player.

I've always viewed Vaughan as someone who is good at banding the boys together, a fairly passionate player despite his form patches of late. Now he will be remembered as one of the more selfish players who has done deep damage to the club with the sway he pulls around a rotten playing group.
Sorry I disagree. It has become quite obvious that there is a boys club that exists amongst the ranks called,
"I will do what I like, when I like"
Members are, DeBelin, Vaughan, Dufty & Norman.
Show some balls, sack Vaughan, three members are gone and DeBelin might get the message and wake up to himself. The money the club saves on sacking Vaughan will pick up a hand player in his absence.

Gippsy

Gees he's copping it isn't he, from everywhere. I just hope some people, especially the club, considers his mental health and gives him some support.