Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Peachey Congratulating Colin Best

bubs

After returning to the car on Sunday after spending 30 minutes trying to get out of the Oki Doki Pokey after the game, the knobs on 2GB (especially Fulton) were absolutely GIVING it to David Peachey for shaking hands with Colin Best after he scored his try. They felt that Stuart should haul him in over the coals for it, that it was setting a bad example considering the game was still in the balance, and was not a good sight for juniors watching.

Did anyone else find it worrying in the SLIGHTEST BIT????
No problems at all for me. He could not have stopped the try, he wasn't at fault for allowing the try to be scored, and Colin was a mate of his from Best's time at the Sharks.
What he DID show is that he is a good bloke, and respects people, even if they do play for a second rate team, who have third rate supporters at the present time.
I couldn't believe how much that gesture upset the 2gb commentators.

gunnamatta bay

Did anyone else find it worrying in the SLIGHTEST BIT????

No. The guys leaving the club at the end of the year after a distinguished career. Its not like he gave Best a gob full like you see a lot of others do when the opposition score. Very postive image for the kids. The thread on the same subject on the nrl forum appears mainly positive. Fultons just a cranky old EX footballer

shadowboxer

the 2gb commentators said that the score flatered the sharks about 1000 times. Where as the other games such as the flogging of souths hardly rates a mention. We have and always will get little support from the media. I didnt have a problem with it, sportsman like yes, maybe fwit fulton forgot the 2 played together for such a long time

I too heard them carrying on...f**kwits

good on you Peach.
I think they used to use a word in the old days.........

Sportsmanship.

Well I wasn't totaly for it at all at that time of the game, (could've come across as a submission)I don't think it was worth much fuss either.

drake

2Gb are morons.

Peach just showed his quality. It's not like he and Besty hadn't spent a fair bit of time together.

Peach is an absolute gentleman and all round nice guy. Those boofheads on 2GB could learn a thing or two about sportsmanship from him.

I've got a bit of free time today so I'm going to log onto their website and give them a gobful. Might write a Letter to the Editor of the Telecrap as well.

let peach live his own life ffs. he has nothing to prove to bob fulton or anybody, but fulton would never miss an oportunity to stick it to the sharks. if peach had said nothing he'd still be looking for something to ride him about something else.

fulton was a brilliantly talented player and highly successful coach but has always been a petulant little self-important dick. he should get the hell out of public life before he annoys the crap out of anybody else.

Perhaps he could have saved the congratulations for after the game, as it obviously sent the wrong signals to the cretinous media. Lots of players from opposing teams are friendly to oneanother after games. I refuse to listen to 2GB and advise others to do the same, as the coverage on 2BL is much better and there aren't any adds.

maxpower3000

Bloody Hell!, I dont believe what I am reading here.

There is no place for gentlemen on a footy field, you need to be fired up, you need to hate your opponents and you need agression in order to spur on the rest of your team.

There is plenty of time to be a gentleman before the game, after the game and the week leading up to the game.

No wonder we are struggling to put teams away because we have a team of gentlemen.

Peachey,..... good try colin I hope you can make it a double
Simmons,..... here you go Mat let me push you through this gap

Chest Pain

A key point that seems to be missed here is that Peach himself was one of the few Sharks who didn't look lethargic and pedestrian. This certainly didn't change after the incident.

G

gorilla

Peachey is a confident football, well respected by many, and seems a good bloke. What he did just shows all that.

IMO the game was gone after that try - it would send signals if you don't like to see sportsmanship.

Shaking hands is for after the game, not during.

Maybe he was going for the intercept . . .

pogo

you are kidding arent you mr sharky?

test captain, test coach, premiership winning coach!!! i wish cronulla had a few more has beens.

fair dinkum, you and others dont understand his mindset.

fulton is backing up the long held view by many that the sharks dont care enough when they get beat.

simple as that.

Peach or not, I didn't like it. Not one bit. It's exactly the type of softcock sh*t that gets me so angry about the club.

Should of punched the merkin.

maxpower3000 said:
Bloody Hell!, I dont believe what I am reading here.

There is no place for gentlemen on a footy field, you need to be fired up, you need to hate your opponents and you need agression in order to spur on the rest of your team.

There is plenty of time to be a gentleman before the game, after the game and the week leading up to the game.

No wonder we are struggling to put teams away because we have a team of gentlemen.

Peachey,..... good try colin I hope you can make it a double
Simmons,..... here you go Mat let me push you through this gap

Ahh Max, you've nailed it againi!