Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Peachey's comeback! Or did he?

But El,

Isn't it the reason we resigned him for another year?
His ability to set up tries ????

If not what does he do?
Has has the worst metres gained out of any fullback in the NRL.

I am very happy that Peach is back.

I dunno what you have against him DS but you are showing a fairly heavy anti-Peach bias in this thread.

Sure, he ain't what he used to be but you are painting a very poor portrait of him. One he doesn't deserve.

You know what it is McSharkie?

I'm getting sick and tired of people bagging young players in the side who try their guts out and are generally making a good fist of their time in first grade. And then protected species like Peachey who did bugger all last night getting a smooth ride by some forum posters because of what he has done in the PAST!

Can I ask you this then . . . . ?

Who was better last night, Peach or Simmo?

and . . .

Who has been better at fullback this year, Peach or Simmo?

Peach for this year.

But if Peach and Simmo were stocks on the stock market I'd be selling down my Peach holdings and buying up in Simmo stock.

Simmo may come good but Peach is a long long long way ahead of him at this stage.

bubs

Without a doubt Peach made some great try-saving tackles last night.
If it wasn't for Peach, the score could have been a lot worse than it was.

Surely

Peach played well, he was fairly solid and i thought in attack he just needed some players to run off him some more.

He knocked on but made up for it by reading the inside pass and taking an intercept ... he has vision, something most of the others don't.

pogo

peachey went pretty good ds and is a class player no doubt.

your stock market analogy is spot on however.

pogo

gday nark, hows life treating you mate., is that really you who rings the big sports breakfast on 2ky each morning??

my advice to you would be to stay away from the stock market and get into memorabillia , lol.

by the way greg bird sends his best regards and thanks you for your absolute and continuing support.

he would be more than happy to sign your football or maybe even a limited edition sharks jersey.

millersnose

lol

you are a brave man DS

i wander what other comments will be today after you dare criticise the sacredest cow

Jimbo

Dragon Slayer said:
Peach for this year.

But if Peach and Simmo were stocks on the stock market I'd be selling down my Peach holdings and buying up in Simmo stock.

Active investment strategies always outperform passive in the short-term

;-)

Isurus

I know everyone is entitled to their opinion but when all bar one person thinks Peachey had a fairly good game, it doesn't say much about that one persons ability to judge a players performance.

DS - are you sure you were watching the same game as everyone else. Peach played well. Sure he made that mistake at the back, but apart from that he was pretty solid. Got a few repeat sets with grubbers into the in-goal and his defence was excellent.

You argued that Lockyer carved us up at the start, but being the worlds best 5/8, shouldn't he have done more also. Maybe Lockyer and Peach weren't at their try assisting best because of the quality of defence on the night.

chili pepper

Peach had a solid game. He will be much better for the run and its a bit much to expect him to set up a brace of tries in his first match after an extended lay-off.

I do agree with you DS about the baging of youngsters, ie Simmons. I can't believe the bagging he gets here. Clearly he needs to work on his defence but he is worth persiting with. He certainly did not cost us the game and many players would be flat out stopping a rampaging Carroll from that close. What he should have done was got under the ball to stop him grounding it rather than try to help get him over the sideline.

millersnose

i wouldnt expect simmons to stop carroll

i would have expect carrol to have been slowed down enough for cover to arrive

he actually picked up speed

its like simmons actually helped

Isurus,

I was watching the same game and had an excellent view of proceedings.
But I think it's always a dead giveaway how well a team is attacking when they get a repeat set of six. Usually the good teams when they get the repeat set twice on the opposition line they will go over for a try. We had at least 5 repeat sets!

P.S. Shire Shark I played and made plenty of dollars during the tech boom on the stock market. And yes I did buy One Tel stock and made plenty in the early days. Fortunately I new when to hold and when to fold and didn't get burn't.

For anyone interested in the stock market we are going through an oil exploration boom and some of the leading oil companies have dwindling reserves and the oil price is rocketing.
I've been in a stock called Hardman Resources and bought around the 80 cent mark at Xmas and there at around $2.35 as I write. They are just about to start a massive drilling program and more finds of black gold will rocket the price. Also could become a takeover target to one of the majors. It's a BUY!

However please speak to your financial advisor before purchasing. I am not a financial consultant. LOL

chili pepper

millersnose said:
i wouldnt expect simmons to stop carroll

i would have expect carrol to have been slowed down enough for cover to arrive

he actually picked up speed

its like simmons actually helped

He must have slowed him a bit - enough time for Bailey and Bird to arrive in cover.

They had a chance to get him over the sideline but Carroll was just too strong.

What was Mcgoldrick doing just standing there watching though? He could have made the difference. He may have been to far away too but the replay shows him standing there watching.

Isurus

From memory wasn't it Lomu that came in late to the tackle - he lacked urgency and simple just added a bit of weight. he could have done more.

McGoldrick was too far way - may have looked close on TV but wasn't close enough to get involved from memory.

I only saw the replays at the ground (probably clearer if you are sitting close to a TV screen), but I don't know how they could tell it was a try.