Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Penrith v Souths semi final

mxlegend99

Let’s not go through this again.

Charlie was dropped for a reason.

Let’s see how tomorrow unfolds. Our 17 was much better balanced with Dylan but it is what it is, so we can only hope it doesn’t cost us.
Charlie was part of the team when we were unstoppable. Edwards was kind of in and out of the team through that period. This backline is the same one that pumped Souths 56-12 before Origin

Since his last injury Edwards hasnt really been an asset. Earlier in the year he was terrific. But on current form I don't see him as a big loss. I see Critter at fullback being a good thing for us as he wasn't going to be able to get involved on the wing outside of Momirovski.

We lose kick return metres. We gain speed who can nullify attacking kicks.we wont gain anything in attack on the wing. But we will gain a bit at fullback.

Edit
From our 56-12 winning side

TPJ in for Eisenhuth
Leota in for Sorrensen
Kenny in for May

Souths have lost Mitchell and Mansour. Gained murray

Vicpanther

dont like loosing dyl. but i dont think it will make a difference. To'o will make the hard runs with critta and momo.
Should be no reason for charlie to do any early hitups unless he has the ball off a kick.

Aliceinwonderland

I reckon the massive swing in possession probably changed it more.

Crighton had better inroads into the Souths defensive line that Edwards did.

Yep the swing in possession had an effect, but in saying that I believe Edwards hasn't been running freely for some months. According to NRL physio these planter issues with the foot can linger.

I’m confident Crichton can do the job at FB, he’s improved there as the year went on. Although he’s still got some improving to do on some technical stuff.

Surprised to see Staines back, though.

Aliceinwonderland

I’m confident Crichton can do the job at FB, he’s improved there as the year went on. Although he’s still got some improving to do on some technical stuff.

Surprised to see Staines back, though.

I think I said earlier when he was first 'rested' that I thought he'd be back....I must use my crystal ball more. 🤣🤗

WestyLife

The big change is critta not Staines. Happy for Staines to be back but fullback is infinitely more important. Critta was good last time there though.

Girds89

Dylan out is a huge loss. Not sure how anyone could think otherwise.

Hopefully charlie has a dig tomorrow. Cant have passengers in finals footy. All 17 have to get in and contribute.

For him that means get off the bloody wing and look for offloads and oppurtunities
mid set. And if he returns the ball i want to see 100% effort... if daine laurie and jayden campbell can do it no excuses.

As for critta im sure he will go well but cant help but feel the balance of the side is out without edwards.

Girds89

I like Dylan mate but the writing is on the wall
One minute your saying he wont be there this year, next its 2022 finals...

The idea he doesnt come straight back in this year when fit is ridiculous regardless to how good critta goes tmoz.

May the best man out of edwards, staines, critta and turuva get fb next year but thats a long way away.

Souths are going to be a really tough challenge tmoz and im expecting a really hard even game.

Aliceinwonderland

It's going to be a huge challenge, and a big game.

Edwards I believe is playing injured with his foot. I understand it's a chronic type of injury that does linger (a plantar facisa tear)

(taken from NRL Physio twitter feed)

and that's why at times he hasn't been breaking tackles like he was earlier in the year.

When Penrith played Souths in Dubbo, Critta was fullback and Staines was on the wing.

Tomorrow nights game has the potential to be much closer......(although I'd love a dubbo scoreline in Penrith's favour)