Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Opinion Penrith

The things I like about my Penrith Panthers
They really enjoy playing the game ( and being around their mates)
They play a great brand of footy. High Tempo , skilful and tactical.
They represent a Rugby League part of the world.
They are stacked with local boys ( Some clubs like the Storm think local boy is a navigation aid !)

blaza88z

I was just having some fun, but dealing with this pathetic coward is becoming tiresome. I'm not going to bother anymore, I'll leave it up to any Panthers fan that can't stand having this Mergepies loser giving Penrith fans a bad name. I'm sure he is going to claim victory, but like everything else he claims it will be a fallacy.

He is doing it for a response, it's pretty obvious lol

The current crop of my Penrith Panthers have emerged from under the radar to some extent.

All the hype was on the club a few years back and they even started a title favourites with Cartwright and co expected to take the club down the Yellow brick road. The Broncos were the next club to be hyped up with Bennett declaring the emerging forwards as the clubs best ever.

Meanwhile my Penrith Panthers entered last season without any hype and despite being predicted to miss the 8 they have excelled with a much maligned coach. Luai wasn’t very impressive all that long ago because he was running across field too much and too hyped up. He matured very quickly however and is doing everything very well now. I’ll be interested to see if he can keep it up when things turn sour at some stage.

From the next best teams in the Comp that aren't the gifted Penrith Panthers, I don’t understand the narrative that the Storm and Roosters and the Eels play a boring brand of footy. They have consistently been the best attacking sides in the competition over the last few years. They’ve both built solid defensive structures over a number of years which has been key to their success but their attacking play is as good, if not better, than anyone else in the competition. We are in for a great finals series possibly the best in years and years and years.

blaza88z

The current crop of my Penrith Panthers have emerged from under the radar to some extent.

All the hype was on the club a few years back and they even started a title favourites with Cartwright and co expected to take the club down the Yellow brick road. The Broncos were the next club to be hyped up with Bennett declaring the emerging forwards as the clubs best ever.

Meanwhile my Penrith Panthers entered last season without any hype and despite being predicted to miss the 8 they have excelled with a much maligned coach. Luai wasn’t very impressive all that long ago because he was running across field too much and too hyped up. He matured very quickly however and is doing everything very well now. I’ll be interested to see if he can keep it up when things turn sour at some stage.

Agree

From the next best teams in the Comp that aren't the gifted Penrith Panthers, I don’t understand the narrative that the Storm and Roosters and the Eels play a boring brand of footy. They have consistently been the best attacking sides in the competition over the last few years. They’ve both built solid defensive structures over a number of years which has been key to their success but their attacking play is as good, if not better, than anyone else in the competition. We are in for a great finals series possibly the best in years and years and years.

Agree

Enough already @stryker

Apologies to their fans, It wasn’t quite a narrative by me that the Melbourne Storm and Sydney Roosters and Parramatta Eels were completely boring. In 2018 and 2019 they all were top 4 in the best attacking sides in the game. But the Storm and Roosters and to some extent also the Eels of those years were happy to slow down sets by conceding penalties and strangle the flow of the game. The game has changed due to the 6 again rule mainly because of teams doing what the Chooks. Eels and Storm did. And the current Penrith Panthers benefitted from that rule change because they are far more specialised in fast, free-flowing footy.

Legends

But the Storm and Roosters and to some extent also the Eels of those years were happy to slow down sets by conceding penalties and strangle the flow of the game.
At the time, somebody did an analysis of all penalties conceded and debunked that particular myth - at least in terms of the Roosters.

mxlegend99

Keary, Morris, Collins, Radley, Friend, Cordner, Verrills and Butcher were regulars in the 17, I would’ve thought.
What would the top 17 this weekend be if all players were fit and available? Curious as to who misses out.

Not really sure how Roosters fans see it. You have done phenomenally well through injuries though.

What would the top 17 this weekend be if all players were fit and available? Curious as to who misses out.

Not really sure how Roosters fans see it. You have done phenomenally well through injuries though.
They’ve done very well. It’s just a shame as it killed off any chance of a threepeat last year and a decent (not saying we’d win it) shot this year. Ikuvalu, Lam as well as most of the current bench go back to reggies to answer your question. Flip side of all this is we got to bring in Walker and Suaalli early.

Fangs

Punt pimples for good with Clearysil.

On game day, I get nervous...

*Laces up boots*

And that's usually when the breakouts start...

*Concerned look in the mirror*

Thats why I use Clearasil. Just apply once a day and the breakouts go away.

"OHHH CLEARY IS OVER" *booming voice*

So if you want to keep it clear? Make it Clearasil.

"HE HAS KICKED IT! ITS OVER"

On game day, I get nervous...

*Laces up boots*

And that's usually when the breakouts start...

*Concerned look in the mirror*

Thats why I use Clearasil. Just apply once a day and the breakouts go away.

"OHHH CLEARY IS OVER" *booming voice*

So if you want to keep it clear? Make it Clearasil.

"HE HAS KICKED IT! ITS OVER"
Lol. Add a musical sting at the end.
I can see Cleary now the zits have gone.

For mine it would be

1 teddy
2 toops
3 J-Moz
4 Manu
5 B-Moz
6 keary
7 walker
8 Collins
9 friend
10 SST
11 cordner
12 Crighton
13 radley
14 verrils
15 JWH
16 Liu
17 sitilli

That means sualli, hutch, lam, butcher, fifita, baker, lussick and marschke all miss out. Sualli would only miss out due to not debuting yet as I don't think it was ever planned he would play this year.

At least 7 of the players I named in that team above will be missing this week.

I agree we have done well given the injuries and I reckon it would be a genuine 3 horse race if we were near or at full strength as opposed to a 2 horse race. It is what it is though, you guys had a horrendous toll a couple years back from memory.