Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

People you want to punch in the face

thorson1987

I feel bad for trucks - it's hard enough for me to change lanes in a small but powerful sedan when the idiot in front of me is going 30 kph below the limit, and all other lanes are cursing at 110 kph. How the hell is a massive truck supposed to change lanes?

They piss me off. Every morning, and every afternoon.

Easy, turn indicator on for a bit. Eventually just start moving over when the gap is big enough. They usually slow down for me.

If anyone is blind enough to not see me move over, they shouldn't be driving.

Dragon2010

Shits me when prick do that.

If you are doing the speed limit, you don't need to slow down when you go past cops.

I've gone past cops on the M7/M2 doing 105-108KM's and they've done nothing. The highway patrol came into our factory once (Talk to us about an incident that happened with one of our cars on the M7 - not a fault, FTR) and I asked them, "How much over do you have to be to get pinged on the M7/M2?". He goes, "We don't get you for being a few over, but 10 or more and we will". He reckons most of the revenue they clean-up on is uncovered loads and un-registered cards.

Reminds me of the time I was driving on the M5 one morning going to Uni (Was on a different campus) and there was a Ute in front of me, he had water/oil drums in the back. I was sitting behind him at a safe distance, suddenly, one of the barrels come flying off, I quickly swerve into my left lane and avoid the barrel as this things rolls and just causes chaos to every car behind us. Making people slam brakes, move lanes and cause near accidents.

Easy, turn indicator on for a bit. Eventually just start moving over when the gap is big enough. They usually slow down for me.

It's pretty much what I have to end up doing, but it just irritates me.

They inconvenience two lanes by driving so far below the limit.

And they are often driving at 80 kph - take the Great Western Highway, if that's the case.

Dragon2010

I feel bad for trucks - it's hard enough for me to change lanes in a small but powerful sedan when the idiot in front of me is going 30 kph below the limit, and all other lanes are cruising at 110 kph. How the hell is a massive truck supposed to change lanes?

They piss me off. Every morning, and every afternoon.

I've NEVER had an issue with trucks on the road. I give them the room they don't, don't f*ck around with them and try cut them off. In return, they merge safely and cause me no harm.

And if you are that worried about it, stay at the same speed as truck drivers, we let each other know where the cops are hiding so generally they will be doing the speed limit.

That trick I know thanks to our drivers.

And you're right about the ramps - they see traffic moving at 100 kph, but these arseholes think it's intelligent to drive at 60 kph down the ramps...cretins.

Urgh, this happened to me a few weeks ago. Some guy literally stopped on the on-ramps and waited for a safe gap to "turn at any time with care" style. Made it so dangerous.

This.

thorson1987

I've gone past cops on the M7/M2 doing 105-108KM's and they've done nothing. The highway patrol came into our factory once (Talk to us about an incident that happened with one of our cars on the M7 - not a fault, FTR) and I asked them, "How much over do you have to be to get pinged on the M7/M2?". He goes, "We don't get you for being a few over, but 10 or more and we will". He reckons most of the revenue they clean-up on is uncovered loads and un-registered cards.

Reminds me of the time I was driving on the M5 one morning going to Uni (Was on a different campus) and there was a Ute in front of me, he had water/oil drums in the back. I was sitting behind him at a safe distance, suddenly, one of the barrels come flying off, I quickly swerve into my left lane and avoid the barrel as this things rolls and just causes chaos to every car behind us. Making people slam brakes, move lanes and cause near accidents.

One of our rigid drivers ran over a ladder that fell off a ute today on the M7. He was lucky id didn't bounce up on him.

And alot of the cops revenue is also from pinging us for unrestrained loads, even though we have tautliners.

I very rarely strap my load down when doing local work with a tautliner.

Unless it is DG's or a weird load. But if it is a full load of palletised freight, it aint going anywhere, and if I do roll the truck somehow straps wont stop the shit from going all over the road.

It's pretty much what I have to end up doing, but it just irritates me.

They inconvenience two lanes by driving so far below the limit.

And they are often driving at 80 kph - take the Great Western Highway, if that's the case.

The GWH isn't too bad of an afternoon either. But I get paid hourly so have no problem sitting on the M4 in peak hour.

I've NEVER had an issue with trucks on the road. I give them the room they don't, don't f*ck around with them and try cut them off. In return, they merge safely and cause me no harm.

That trick I know thanks to our drivers.

Urgh, this happened to me a few weeks ago. Some guy literally stopped on the on-ramps and waited for a safe gap to "turn at any time with care" style. Made it so dangerous.

This.

What I meant is that if there is a big truck in the left lane, stuck behind a cretin going at 70 or 8 kph, and they wish to change lanes to pick up speed, it's usually harder for them, because of traffic and picking up enough speed to change lanes. Or at least theoretically.

I have no problems with trucks - if I am stick behind a truck going 80 kph on the M4, I have no issues with it - they're massive vehicles, and I don't blame them.

But when I see douchebags in new cars going 80 kph, it pisses me off - they should take the Highway if they're not comfortable driving at 100 kph.

Dragon2010

One of our rigid drivers ran over a ladder that fell off a ute today on the M7. He was lucky id didn't bounce up on him.

And alot of the cops revenue is also from pinging us for unrestrained loads, even though we have tautliners.

Unless it is DG's or a weird load. But if it is a full load of palletised freight, it aint going anywhere, and if I do roll the truck somehow straps wont stop the shit from going all over the road.

I was lucky I quick enough to avoid the barrel, it was full of liquid and the way it bounced would have totalled my car (Not to mention, I was in my dads car, not by old shitbox) - had someone been in my left lane, my only choice was to slam the brakes and brace of the impact.

I mean, how f*cking stupid do some people have to be to not secure a load like that?

I agree, a full palletised freight is going nowhere, but a ladder or barell will.

The GWH isn't too bad of an afternoon either. But I get paid hourly so have no problem sitting on the M4 in peak hour.

Haha nice!

I just don't understand some of the people who take the M4. It's like they don't know how to drive!

thorson1987

What I meant is that if there is a big truck in the left lane, stuck behind a cretin going at 70 or 8 kph, and they wish to change lanes to pick up speed, it's usually harder for them, because of traffic and picking up enough speed to change lanes. Or at least theoretically.

I have no problems with trucks - if I am stick behind a truck going 80 kph on the M4, I have no issues with it - they're massive vehicles, and I don't blame them.

But when I see douchebags in new cars going 80 kph, it pisses me off - they should take the Highway if they're not comfortable driving at 100 kph.

It's also why I don't agree with L and P platers being restricted with speeds.

They should be able to do the same speed as the posted speed limit.

Also, people who don't get up to speed whilst on an on-ramp.

yep.. this x1000..

i do find it funny when i encounter one of these people on a two lane on-ramp (they are usually in the right lane), and burn past them in the left lane as i get up to 100km quicker than they do, and end up a long way ahead..

but..

the number of them who flash their lights or agitate after you've gone past, like you've cut them off or something..

learn the rules, muppets... if there are two lanes, you should be in the left lane if you're slower.. and if someone passes you in the left lane, it means you are at fault, not the other way..

the funniest was when one sped along the freeway to get past me, then cut me off as if to say "hah, there you go"..

people are funny when they're in their little car-cocoons...

Dragon2010

Agree 100%. I'm just saying, I have no issues with the trucks, always seems to be the idiots around them that make their lives hard. But somehow, people are always quick to blame the trucks.

Haha nice!

I just don't understand some of the people who take the M4. It's like they don't know how to drive!

In honesty, I've seen the worse drivers on the M2. I drive it every day, every day I get a shock at one's stupidity.

It's also why I don't agree with L and P platers being restricted with speeds.

They should be able to do the same speed as the posted speed limit.

I agree completely.

You see a lot of P and L-platers driving on the motorway at well below the speed limit, but only because they have to practise, and they must drive slower.

thorson1987

I was lucky I quick enough to avoid the barrel, it was full of liquid and the way it bounced would have totalled my car (Not to mention, I was in my dads car, not by old shitbox) - had someone been in my left lane, my only choice was to slam the brakes and brace of the impact.

I mean, how f*cking stupid do some people have to be to not secure a load like that?

I agree, a full palletised freight is going nowhere, but a ladder or barell will.

When I use the open trailer, every little thing is restrained.

Yet you see some trucks where the stuff in the middle isn't as high as the outsides (f**ked why you would load it like that) and they only have restraints straight over the top.

So the smaller shit is just sitting there.

Agree 100%. I'm just saying, I have no issues with the trucks, always seems to be the idiots around them that make their lives hard. But somehow, people are always quick to blame the trucks.

In honesty, I've seen the worse drivers on the M2. I drive it every day, every day I get a shock at one's stupidity.

Absolutely - I blame the idiots, not the trucks.

I reckon there are idiots on every motorway.

yep.. this x1000..

i do find it funny when i encounter one of these people on a two lane on-ramp (they are usually in the right lane), and burn past them in the left lane as i get up to 100km quicker than they do, and end up a long way ahead..

but..

the number of them who flash their lights or agitate after you've gone past, like you've cut them off or something..

learn the rules, muppets... if there are two lanes, you should be in the left lane if you're slower.. and if someone passes you in the left lane, it means you are at fault, not the other way..

the funniest was when one sped along the freeway to get past me, then cut me off as if to say "hah, there you go"..

Idiots.

thorson1987

Easy targets. The TWU is never loud enough either, they are too busy blaming Coles or Woolies when there is a truck accident.

The closer you get towards a city, the worse the drivers are.

Easy targets. The TWU is never loud enough either, they are too busy blaming Coles or Woolies when there is a truck accident.

The closer you get towards a city, the worse the drivers are.

I reckon truck accidents are usually not the truckies' fault, based on my experiences.

My favourite event occurred this afternoon - some idiot cut off a big truck from the right lane onto the middle, and slammed on the brakes.

And he had the gall to flip the bird at the truckie behind him who sounded his horn at him, because he was forced to slam on his brakes.

thorson1987

yep.. this x1000..

but..

Yeah don't get me started on Melbourne drivers.

For such a good freeway system, f**k they make it look difficult to get around.

Especially taxi drivers. I learnt when I would get into Melbourne that if a Taxi was doing 10-15km/h under the limit on the Ring Rd/Tulla/Monash they had a customer.

Yet when they are empty they usually sit about 10km/h over the limit.

Dragon2010

I agree completely.

You see a lot of P and L-platers driving on the motorway at well below the speed limit, but only because they have to practise, and they must drive slower.

Dude, I'm a green P-Plater still (Had to stay on my reds two years due to surgery and nor driving for nearly 8 months). I always do the speed limit or when in the right-lane, just a touch above (105 or so). Some are slow, yes.

When I use the open trailer, every little thing is restrained.

Yet you see some trucks where the stuff in the middle isn't as high as the outsides (f**ked why you would load it like that) and they only have restraints straight over the top.

So the smaller shit is just sitting there.

I mean, the way it just flew off and rolled across the M5 at 100k's an hr was scary. Lucky no one hit. Would've caused catastrophic damage. Lucky I didn't have to explain that story to my dad "Uhhh....dad I know we swapped cars for the weekend but yours just got hit by a water barrel". :lol:

Absolutely - I blame the idiots, not the trucks.

I reckon there are idiots on every motorway.

M2 just seems to top it. Be it because it's used as access for the M1 area, M2, M7 and surrounding areas. I've just seen a fair share of stupid shit. Drivers in general are f*cking dumb though.

Valid point.

thorson1987

I reckon truck accidents are usually not the truckies' fault, based on my experiences.

Alot of them aren't. But unfortunately you will never hear the media say it was the car driver at fault

My favourite event occurred this afternoon - some idiot cut off a big truck from the right lane onto the middle, and slammed on the brakes.

And he had the gall to flip the bird at the truckie behind him who sounded his horn at him, because he was forced to slam on his brakes.

I had one a few weeks ago.

Coming down Parramatta Rd after James Ruse Dr. Was in the middle lane as the left hand lane was closing. Traffic was creeping slowly but someone tried to squeeze up the inside of me towards the end of the lane. I saw him with the mirror that is above the passenger door that points straight down. Said f**k this and forced him to go behind me.

When he finally got beside me again when it was back to 3 lanes (he was turning at the next street) he beeped his horn and stuck his finger up at me.

I just smiled and waved at him and it pissed him off even more.