Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Perth Bears Media Watch

insert.pause

NSO should only be used for trial games, so should kayo. It’s crazy that in this day & age we bring in new teams only to have them play out of small suburban grounds. Particularly phins, a huge justification for a second team in Brisbane was supposed to be using Suncorp and they only play there 9 times!

Wb1234

NSO should only be used for trial games, so should kayo. It’s crazy that in this day & age we bring in new teams only to have them play out of suburban shitholes. Particularly phins, a huge justification for a second team in Brisbane was supposed to be using Suncorp and they only play there 9 times!
At least a few games on Sunshine Coast stadium when it’s done to cover that northern area

NSO should only be used for trial games, so should kayo. It’s crazy that in this day & age we bring in new teams only to have them play out of small suburban grounds. Particularly phins, a huge justification for a second team in Brisbane was supposed to be using Suncorp and they only play there 9 times!
def think that
nso game for trial but central coast for the 1 regular season game in sydney.

for contexts
hhf park 20,500 capacity
cc stadium 20,050 capacity

i know allianz is a good spot too but geez let the bears play that 1 regular season same at cc. only right i reckon.

bears v knights or roosters @ cc stadium. yearly game.

insert.pause

def think that

for contexts
hhf park 20,500 capacity

i know allianz is a good spot too but geez let the bears play that 1 regular season same at cc. only right i reckon.

Just let the roosters continue to sell a home game there and play against Perth and have the bears home games at SFS where they should be able to turn it into a marquee fixture.

Be better than them selling home games to f**king Darwin or Perth.
nah, thats small thinking mate.
darwin is a battle ground for talent. its just very raw. i get it
but with the home games to perth that has kept up the appetite for nrl up in wa which helped pay off for the eventual team.
souths and phins played their part. they dont take their games there, theres no games there at all.

Just let the roosters continue to sell a home game there and play against Perth and have the bears home games at SFS where they should be able to turn it into a marquee fixture.
maybe. i just think after all the efforts bears put into the cc for decades including chipping in the actual stadium itself it should be their home game.
i reckon if ya put a poll up for the old guard norths fans, most would wanna go to cc rather than sfs. there's a connection there with cc. plus going against traffic and plenty bears fans and ex players live up that way.
to this day its the biggest what if missed opportunity.

insert.pause

but with the home games to perth that has kept up the appetite for nrl up in wa which helped pay off for the eventual team.
souths and phins played their part. they dont take their games there, theres no games there at all.
As a new club phins should be playing all their games in their market, that’s not small thinking, that’s establishing a local presence in their formative years. In the past phins have taken a home game to Perth, they should keep these expansions markets to shitty Sydney clubs who can’t pull a crowd at home anyway.

Wb1234

def think that

for contexts
hhf park 20,500 capacity

That’s a good idea but I really think they could sell out the one game at Allianz

Manly souths or chooks

I was watching an old game from nso and yeh it’s a dump lol

Doubt bears have too much support at Gosford anyway these days if they ever did the area pretty much hated northern eagles

As a new club phins should be playing all their games in their market, that’s not small thinking, that’s establishing a local presence in their formative years. In the past phins have taken a home game to Perth, they should keep these expansions markets to shitty Sydney clubs who can’t pull a crowd at home anyway.
phins don't need to establish themselves in the market to the same extent as others though.
the dolphin brand has been around for almost 80 years. queenslanders know them. they will get solid crowds regardless.

now what they dont have is a national brand footprint. as in not many outside qld would be on them. you find souths, eels, dragons, broncos fans all over the shop. outside se qld and an OK % central qld not many phins fans outside that market.

its about exposure. they already have the membership numbers. they get the tv audience in their market. they get good crowds. people know the phins. what they dont have is exposure outside their market to bring in new fans. they arent trying to win their market, broncos rule and always will rule and plus phins, theyre already set and it'll only be steady incremental growth from the initial sugar hit of being brand new nrl club (but not really new).

its outside that'll really lift their numbers up.

to break it down they probably grow their overall fan base by 1%-2.4% max each year inside south queensland to add to their already impressive numbers. its outside it where they can add 7.5%-10% yearly fan base growth. hence their called dolphins and not insert geography. theyve played it well and you can tell have good business minded people. they quickly jumped on darwin the moment eels contract with nt lapsed.

Wb1234

maybe. i just think after all the efforts bears put into the cc for decades including chipping in the actual stadium itself it should be their home game.
i reckon if ya put a poll up for the old guard norths fans, most would wanna go to cc rather than sfs. there's a connection there with cc. plus going against traffic and plenty bears fans and ex players live up that way.
to this day its the biggest what if missed opportunity.
Yeh central coast bears would’ve been a fantastic club. The two regions connect. Train station from Sydney. Good stadium

Bears trying to service wa, north Sydney and Gosford is too much imo

Besides roosters central coast is really knights territory

Loads of fans travel from there to games

insert.pause

phins don't need to establish themselves in the market to the same extent as others though.
the dolphin brand has been around for almost 80 years. queenslanders know them. they will get solid crowds regardless.

now what they dont have is a national brand footprint. as in not many outside qld would be on them. you find souths, eels, dragons, broncos fans all over the shop. outside se qld and an OK % central qld not many phins fans outside that market.

its about exposure. they already have the membership numbers. they get the tv audience in their market. they get good crowds. people know the phins. what they dont have is exposure outside their market to bring in new fans. they arent trying to win the market, theyre already set and it'll only be steady incremental growth. its outside that'll really lift their numbers up.
I live in Brisbane, they absolutely do need to establish themselves in Brisbane, particularly when they are naturally going to be compared to the broncos. Playing games at kayo only makes them look small & inferior.

Yeh central coast bears would’ve been a fantastic club. The two regions connect. Train station from Sydney. Good stadium

Bears trying to service wa, north Sydney and Gosford is too much imo

Besides roosters central coast is really knights territory

Loads of fans travel from there to games
dont think servicing north sydney is any sort of issue as there's always gonna be a connection there.
west aussies is their main market now. but throwing a bone at central coast wouldn't hurt. after all the ns catchment basically touches the cc catchment. plenty kids from cc in the ns junior grades. etc

now im not saying they take over from roosters or anything. im just saying have 1 game at cc stadium a year (their sydney home game) as a thank you to their fan base that could jibbed out of a team (cc), close enough to ns (for easy travel) and they get to play on a ground that ns put money into it. to me it makes sense.

if its allianz so be it, i get that as well. i just really think the old guard norths fans which this sydney home game is catered too would prefer cc thats all. its all about history to them at the end of the day right? well a lot of history at cc stadium with bears brand.

I live in Brisbane, they absolutely do need to establish themselves in Brisbane, particularly when they are naturally going to be compared to the broncos. Playing games at kayo only makes them look small & inferior.
but theyll never out-do broncos, this is directly the thoughts of their own club people who run it. theyre thinking bigger than brisbane, always have. thinking brisbane alone wont get them the full growth the brands wants.

look at some numbers here with context.
31,000 members in 2023, 2024 and 2025 apparently is higher. they at last count were 4th of all nrl clubs.
22,900 average crowd in 2025 but for suncorp only home games its 25660 average.
Of all clubs dolphins average crowds in 2025 lands them in 5th but if you only count suncorp stadium they are 3rd.

1769990592636.png

membership numbers 2024.
1769990726449.png1769990753232.png

I get what ya saying, i really do but the numbers internally to seqld dont support your argument. dolphins are in the high end of metrics based on their localised support. remember broncos are the exception, not the norm. dolphins far exceed way more established clubs and the closest real comparison which should be the titans (not broncos, rememeber exception not the norm) dolphins wipe the floor with them.

this says dolphins growth in the catchment would only be incremental and consistent but still incremental after a strong sugar hit start. from a business point phins know they will continue having that consistent support and exposure locally, unless they do a wests tigers style tank (board room, poorly managed etc). so their chances of big % growth to take them from 31,000 members to 45,000 members would be external exposure. localised exposure grows it around 1000 per year i reckon which is still good. but thats how it looks like going off what theyre doing from business outlook anyways. i think numbers support it.

i think jets would be the same. 24k-27k members & 22k-24k average crowds off the bat. which is great. theyd marginally increase year on year locally. but externally is where they too could make a big jump (more so memberships)

makes for a good chat though.

bears different spot because they have 2 locations to draw fans members crowds etc from. they dont need singapore, not right off the bat anyways.

Gobsmacked

Oh, 100%. And as stated, the same timezone as us (WA) so timewise, on TV, it'll suit. It also opens the door for the NRL in Singapore, which, no doubt, PVL will be stoked with.

Like I said, I have no problem with it, and think it's a great thing ... so long as not too many 'home' games are being played away from WA in a season. This isn't a new team in an established area (ala the Dolphins). This is a new team in a developing area. An area that will have very dedicated and big, continued support in time, so long as the WA public feel like this is their team and not some part-time team who just come here occasionally to take some government (aka 'tax') money.

That said, being FIFO is a common thing here in WA..!
I don't really believe that they should be taking a home game to Sydney, they'll already play there 9 times!
Maybe once in their first season as a nod to Bears fans but that's it. Bears fans on the east coast have plenty of opportunities to go to the footy.

How many NRL games is there each year in Sydney? And the extra games each round give them even more..!
I don't think we should be taking games away from Perth with their grand total of 12...to give to Sydney..

Singapore on the other hand.. it could even be that novelty weekend away for Perth fans that they enjoy.

Wb1234

but theyll never out-do broncos, this is directly the thoughts of their own club people who run it. theyre thinking bigger than brisbane, always have. thinking brisbane alone wont get them the full growth the brands wants.

31,000 members in 2023, 2024 and 2025 apparently is higher. they at last count were 4th of all nrl clubs.
Of all clubs dolphins average crowds in 2025 lands them in 5th but if you only count suncorp stadium they are 3rd.

View attachment 109331

membership numbers 2024.
View attachment 109332View attachment 109333

I get what ya saying, i really do but the numbers internally to seqld dont support your argument. dolphins are in the high end of metrics based on their localised support. remember broncos are the exception, not the norm. dolphins far exceed way more established clubs and the closest real comparison which should be the titans (not broncos, rememeber exception not the norm) dolphins wipe the floor with them.

this says dolphins growth in the catchment would only be incremental and consistent but still incremental after a strong sugar hit start. from a business point phins know they will continue having that consistent support and exposure locally, unless they do a wests tigers style tank (board room, poorly managed etc). so their chances of big % growth to take them from 31,000 members to 45,000 members would be external exposure. localised exposure grows it around 1000 per year i reckon which is still good. but thats how it looks like going off what theyre doing from business outlook anyways. i think numbers support it.

i think jets would be the same. 24k-27k members & 22k-24k average crowds off the bat. which is great. theyd marginally increase year on year locally. but externally is where they too could make a big jump (more so memberships)

bears different spot because they have 2 locations to draw fans members crowds etc from. they dont need singapore, not right off the bat anyways.
I get the feeling terry reader is a bit too old school and not quite up to running an nrl club

Broncos have been their usual grubs and tried to block them by trying to keep players from going there

Should’ve kept Bennett on a lifetime deal that would’ve set the club up forever

I get the feeling terry reader is a bit too old school and not quite up to running an nrl club

Broncos have been their usual grubs and tried to block them by trying to keep players from going there

Should’ve kept Bennett on a lifetime deal that would’ve set the club up forever
maybe but pretty sure terry reader isn't even 50 yet. think mid to later 40's. not really sure how he could be old school if his formative years in learning to be a manager then a ceo were had over the last 15-20 years during the nrl's 2010's and early 2020's era.

but maybe who knows.

Wb1234

maybe but pretty sure terry reader isn't even 50 yet. think mid to later 40's. not really sure how he could be old school if his formative years in learning to be a manager then a ceo were had over the last 15-20 years during the nrl's 2010's and early 2020's era.

but maybe who knows.
Used to running a qrl club not an nrl club

Same as the guy who runs wests Newcastle league / nrl knights

Not saying they aren’t a success but could be way bigger

Brisbanes got a massive population and league is number one

Northern Brisbane / redcliff area having a large population boom

insert.pause

View attachment 109331

membership numbers 2024.
View attachment 109332View attachment 109333

Identity in sport is crucial, they have to be careful they don’t fall into the trap of trying to represent everyone and end up representing no one. Starting off without a geographical name attached already opens them up to that sort of criticism.