Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pet hates in gyms

RHCP

New hate - weedy 17-18yo boys who go in groups of 3 or more (in stupid clothes) and spend their time "lifting" weights way way too big for them with ridiculously poor (and dangerous) form and then waiting 15 minutes while all of their mates have a go too... actually caught one flexing his pea-shooters in the mirror the other day... I lol'ed.
:lol: Sounds like most of the guys I go to the gym with.

People who take anything a personal trainer or somebody slightly bigger/stronger then them says as gospel fact, without using any kind of common sense. And then refusing to admit defeat when I prove them wrong.

Shorty

^Yeah it's hard these days because the qualifications of personal training and fitness in general can be very poor.
You can do like a Mickey Mouse course that takes 3 months and you're done.
You can't learn anatomy and physiology in that amount of time....it's a worry.

In saying that one of the best personal trainers I know did this course, but he was passionate about it and really listened in.
But a good fitness trainer gives their clients things to research themselves - That's the best way to learn.

fourplay

Did anyone else hear Andy Raymond's comment during the Tigers/Raiders game?

"Tom Learoyd-Lars looks like the kind of guy who would do bicep curls in the squat rack."

dogslife

In no particular order

- Blokes who hiss like they're a busted tyre while doing weights
- Blokes who stare at themselves in the mirror because they fancy themselves
- Blokes who do weights like they're trying to emulate the pistons on an engine (up and down in 1/4 of a second)
- Blokes who take up pieces of equipment for long periods all the while resting 5 minutes in between sets

GuardDog

In no particular order

- Blokes who hiss like they're a busted tyre while doing weights
- Blokes who stare at themselves in the mirror because they fancy themselves
- Blokes who do weights like they're trying to emulate the pistons on an engine (up and down in 1/4 of a second)
- Blokes who take up pieces of equipment for long periods all the while resting 5 minutes in between sets

when the person is lifting a decent amount of weight that the bar is bending then its excusable but yes agree with the rest

dogslife

Bump. You can add people who bring their kids to the gym, and that bloke who has a smoke right before he comes in and gets on the machine next to you, making it virtually impossible to breathe. Both happened to me tonight

joshie

Guys who lift heaps of weight and just scream then drop it!

then walk around for 5 minutes, hands on hips, like hes the champ.

Ausguy

Bump. You can add people who bring their kids to the gym, and that bloke who has a smoke right before he comes in and gets on the machine next to you, making it virtually impossible to breathe. Both happened to me tonight

filthy... i love how i see guys have a smoke before or after the gym... i think to myself why bother you're dead 20+ years before the avg if you keep that up anyway.

SpaceMonkey

when the person is lifting a decent amount of weight that the bar is bending then its excusable but yes agree with the rest

Yeah, grunting/hissing is totally excusable if you've got a solid weight on the bar, especially when squatting!

RHCP

If it's heaps of weight I personally wouldn't have a problem with it.

Walt Flanigan

For some reason some douche bags are always spitting their chewing gum into the bubbler. Even though there is a bin right next to it.

Nearly dry-retch when I take a drink and can smell it.

shaggs

^This

Or the guy who knocks the plates off to do a 'drop set' and leaves them spread all over the floor.

Collateral

geniuss who lift a ridiculous amount of weight for their un-proportioned body, while making the usual over-the-top noises while doing it, who once they do 2 reps of the weights, drop it to the floor and walk around the gym trying to death stare anyone who happens to look in their direction.

Just a tip, if you think doing weights makes you a fighter, then lol. You and your oversized biceps will get pumped out of the ring in a fight gym.

Karl

You have to make a certain amount of noise if you're really pushing your limits. If noise in a gym offends you, you've got an issue. I trained with a guy who would push so hard on squats he'd give himself a blood nose sometimes. The last couple of impossible reps in the last set, the ones you don't think you've got a hope in hell of doing and wouldn't even try if there wasn't a good partner there to make you, the last squat where you get tunnel vision and dots and it takes an age to get back up and you nearly pass out - these are the ones that make you grow. My old gym had a green bucket to spew in. It got used a lot. And there is no way to dead-lift quietly.

Messy people in the gym is a pet hate. Put the weights back buddy. And people who sit around on equipment yacking or leave their towels on stuff and walk off for a pee and a drink and then wander back and get all huffy if their stuff has been moved.

And people doing PERFECT form with small weights. You want bigger muscles, you need to lift more weight, not less weight absolutely PERFECTLY.

joshie

You have to make a certain amount of noise if you're really pushing your limits. If noise in a gym offends you, you've got an issue. I trained with a guy who would push so hard on squats he'd give himself a blood nose sometimes. The last couple of impossible reps in the last set, the ones you don't think you've got a hope in hell of doing and wouldn't even try if there wasn't a good partner there to make you, the last squat where you get tunnel vision and dots and it takes an age to get back up and you nearly pass out - these are the ones that make you grow. My old gym had a green bucket to spew in. It got used a lot. And there is no way to dead-lift quietly.

Messy people in the gym is a pet hate. Put the weights back buddy. And people who sit around on equipment yacking or leave their towels on stuff and walk off for a pee and a drink and then wander back and get all huffy if their stuff has been moved.

And people doing PERFECT form with small weights. You want bigger muscles, you need to lift more weight, not less weight absolutely PERFECTLY.

but when you hear "ARGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH" and some dude looks like he is about to turn super saiyn just to show off, it gets old fast.

If you are actually lifting weights and not trying to show off I have no problem. But the idoits who lift a certain amount and drop it acting like he is Hulk Hogan annoys me, especially when they have too much of a cool down period to really have the desired impact.

Thomas

Just went to the gym then. There was a guy preening himself in the mirror every 4 minutes. Yes, he was buffed but flexing in the gym isn't cool. I was doing squats and he came over behind me and started doing bicep curls. He then got annoyed when I stepped back into the rack and said "Excuse me mate, can I see the mirror"

I said "I can't really move the whole rack mate"

f**king budgerigar.

Tom Shines

So you'd rather someone bicep curl 40kg with their back and shoulder doing most of the work, than 30kg lifted properly?

S.S.T.I.D

People who do isolation movements in the power rack are f@cked. People who lift beyond their means are f@cked. People who use the lifting platform for anything other than Olympic movements are f@cked. People who complain about me dropping the bar on the lifting platform when I'm max snatching, cleaning, clean and jerking or jerking are f@cked.

dogslife

So you'd rather someone bicep curl 40kg with their back and shoulder doing most of the work, than 30kg lifted properly?

Agreed. Form over substance. You're not going to build any muscle using heavy weights if you need to do a full body heave to lift the bludger, and you look like a f**king genius in the process

SpaceMonkey

People who do isolation movements in the power rack are f@cked. People who lift beyond their means are f@cked. People who use the lifting platform for anything other than Olympic movements are f@cked. People who complain about me dropping the bar on the lifting platform when I'm max snatching, cleaning, clean and jerking or jerking are f@cked.

Lol what do they think a lifting platform is there for? Otherwise you'd just be lifting on the floor....

The platform is for deadlifts and oly lifts.

Agree on the power rack too, the rack is for squatting, and maybe bench or press if there's no dedicated bench press setup or rack to press out of available.

piss of and do your curls in front of the mirror with the other poodles ;)