Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Peter V'landys - New NRL/ARLC Chairman

Colk

This sort of image was driven by the media since after the SL war to drive the value of the game down. They banged on about it for years creating this image of the game. Remember that DH patrick smith saying RL had a culture to despise.
Yet AFL was here to save the universe.
incidents in league would be all connected together in a report and blown out of proportion eg coffs harbour incident.

Very well said.

Colk

I tried to explain earlier on minutes, Breaks etc alone why it should be the case. Some people just don't want to hear it

No, it’s because you have changed the parameters of the argument so you don’t have to criticise V’Landys and the administration.

If this is the determining factor (I think it is a factor yes but it has always been there) then you would have been on the forum stating you were expecting fumbleball to get a lot more than the NRL.

I’m sure you or one of the other posters could direct me to those posts

Colk

That’s a good question but wouldn’t surprise if it’s all on V’landys as he behaves like an autocrat but Abdo will definitely take the fall, though if/when things turn to shit.

Yep 100%. That is what dictatorships do. They throw a few of the staff to the lions when they are under pressure. They also fill their staff with yes men to consolidate their power. Abdo looks and sounds like a yes man

Seen it many times in corporate world where bosses employ people with less talent ensuring they’ll never be a threat to them in the future. Unfortunately, the company never grows into something better with meagre talent.

Colk

Seen it many times in corporate world where bosses employ people with less talent ensuring they’ll never be a threat to them in the future. Unfortunately, the company never grows into something better with meagre talent.

Abdo says a lot of buzzwords and has all of the corporate double speak. He also presents well to the media. So he is a good front man if you will. There is obviously no substance behind any of it though.

mongoose

It isn't a false perception. RL does not have any aspirations in localities or institutions where the wealthier classes are at. Any interest people with wealth have in RL is purely on those individuals rather than the code making them feel welcome.
i see what you're saying, the NRL does focus too much promotion and marketing towards the sports betting, kfc eating tradie (nothing wrong them!). The perception that all their fans are like this is not true though. I have a Bachelors degree in Science and several of my friends have degrees and post grad qualification and they are passionate League fans. Even many players are going to Uni now... League probably needs to expand its horizons in terms of its marketing... need to think of the Triple J listening craft beer drinkers, not just the XXXX guzzling ACDC fans lol

ps - i f**king hate triple J

Colk

i see what you're saying, the NRL does focus too much promotion and marketing towards the sports betting, kfc eating tradie (nothing wrong them!). The perception that all their fans are like this is not true though. I have a Bachelors degree in Science and several of my friends have degrees and post grad qualification and they are passionate League fans. Even many players are going to Uni now... League probably needs to expand its horizons in terms of its marketing... need to think of the Triple J listening craft beer drinkers, not just the XXXX guzzling ACDC fans lol

Triple J is good if you want to constantly listen to rap or dance music, your name is Ocean and you want to listen to ‘sweet tunes’. It’s a shame because there is a lot of decent alternative music if you wish to find it.

But yes the perception does need to be changed

P.S I’m surprised people still listen to radio frankly

mongoose

Triple J is good if you want to constantly listen to rap or dance music, your name is Ocean and you want to listen to ‘sweet tunes’. It’s a shame because there is a lot of decent alternative music if you wish to find it.

But yes the perception does need to be changed

P.S I’m surprised people still listen to radio frankly
'The J's' was good in the 90s and early 2000s... fell off a cliff in the last 12 or so years though. Hilltop Hoods can f**k off lol

Storm80

Overall spend yes
Profit and loss no
and so it begins… the shifting of the goal posts

Previously it was “NRL get the same or similar TV rights as AFL”.

Now it’s “TV rights are different for each code you can’t compare apples with oranges … hey quick look over their NRL make more profit”.

So cutting back on costs like getting rid of two refs and giving up on NRL media and digital arm to boost your profits is to be celebrated?

Running the code on the smell of an oily rag to make a profit in the short term is not automatically a good thing. Giving more money from profit to clubs (most of which just piss it away) is not automatically good investment.

What individuals benefit from increased profit? Do commission members get bonus’ for x amount of profit?

Profit on its own is useless if you have no real vision to grow the game and out compete the AFL in Sydney and Brisbane.

AFL has less profit, but if they stripped back to the smell of an oily rag - guess what AFL would have massive profit.

The whole point of more tv and media rights isn’t profits - it’s to have a war chest to build and invest in your code, assert dominance in foreign markets, get kids and women to play your code and make sure your next media deal is bigger than the last. Rinse and repeat.

By winning the war for community engagement and interest you pretty much guarentee federal and state government funding in the future.

It all boils down to this - since the early 80’s the VFL/AFL organised themselves into a commission that championed the greater good of the code over individual clubs. This lead to a vision to expand into all capital cities and invest money in junior pathways and participation in foreign states.

The NSWRL/ARL never had such a vision. They just expanded the game to regions for more tv rights without reinvesting in grass roots or juniors. They never took it serious to relocate Sydney clubs - which is odd considering they kicked Newtown out. The Clubs have always retained too much power to be able to rationalise and streamline the game in Sydney.

Super league and News Ltd, for all its faults, at least understood Sydney clubs needed to make way for the greater good of the game and its growth. Then the NRL become this bastardised version of both ARL and SL which now has just gone backwards to appease News Ltd and NSW market.

You can continue to cherry pick facts and figures all you want and take it out of context. The bottom line is TV and media rights should be used primarily for investment and growing the game not so you can say “hey profit” for the sake of a good looking balance sheet.

Alpha Gil dominates Beta PVL for one, there are several, key reason - he is part of a long line of AFL leaders that have had clear vision and purpose without the need to suckle at the teet of News Ltd and Sydney Clubs.

On top of this overachieving theme of better administration in AFL - Alpha Gil is better looking, smarter, more humble, builds better government and business connections and is just a far more polished performer than Beta PVL.

I mean come on we all saw the Today ramblings of getting kids off those computer machines so they can play sport and Rugba Leeg at a local drowns and that government should give NRL the $800m instead of flood victims in Lismore. That interview was a disgrace and made the code a laughing stock. Mates in Melbourne I know we’re like “WTF is wrong with this bloke??” Haha. Alpha Gil would never perform so poorly.

Hence, and let’s bring this baby around to the jist of the thread, Alpha Gil fleeced the NRL and Beta PVL by obtaining an obscene amount more for the AFL in media rights which will then be reinvested in key foreign markets of NSW and QLD (the growth areas of south and west suburbs of Brisbane where NRL has no presence because News Ltd own broncos don’t want a NRL team there).

This media deal solidified the future 20 years of the AFL to continue to grow in NSW and QLD at the expense of NRL. If you don’t understand that is bad news for NRL, god help you.

Colk

'The J's' was good in the 90s and early 2000s... fell off a cliff in the last 12 or so years though. Hilltop Hoods can f**k off lol

Totally. They were fine when they actually played a real eclectic range of music (rock, blues, heavy metal, some rap and some electronica)

Every time that I have turned on their station it sounds just like every other station.

Also, several of my friends and I are university graduates and predominantly follow League. Yes, there is a ‘bogan’ element and that is perfectly fine but the followers of the game are incredibly diverse in terms of ethnic, religious, education and financial backgrounds. It’s time for the game to market this reality a lot better

T-Boon

This sort of image was driven by the media since after the SL war to drive the value of the game down. They banged on about it for years creating this image of the game. Remember that DH patrick smith saying RL had a culture to despise.
Yet AFL was here to save the universe.
incidents in league would be all connected together in a report and blown out of proportion eg coffs harbour incident.

Except it is true.
Even in small town settings the rugby league players (particularly when in their group) are arseholes who think they are heros and probably have minor criminal records. And they also tend to be dumb merkins.

There is a solution: Stop excluding intelligent people who go to good schools and university and such maybe even actively encourage them to participate.

T-Boon

Same.
I went to a high school that was a league school then went to a uni where league had literally zero presence except that everyone had a team they supported from their youth. Nobody had a rugby team as such but they all played rugby. That is where a disconnect begins for league.
RL should have a stated goal/obsession with taking universities over in NSW & QLD.
Instead, I see Sydney Uni is on Fox today playing AFL FFS.

Iamback

and so it begins… the shifting of the goal posts

Previously it was “NRL get the same or similar TV rights as AFL”.

Now it’s “TV rights are different for each code you can’t compare apples with oranges … hey quick look over their NRL make more profit”.

So cutting back on costs like getting rid of two refs and giving up on NRL media and digital arm to boost your profits is to be celebrated?

Running the code on the smell of an oily rag to make a profit in the short term is not automatically a good thing. Giving more money from profit to clubs (most of which just piss it away) is not automatically good investment.

What individuals benefit from increased profit? Do commission members get bonus’ for x amount of profit?

Profit on its own is useless if you have no real vision to grow the game and out compete the AFL in Sydney and Brisbane.

AFL has less profit, but if they stripped back to the smell of an oily rag - guess what AFL would have massive profit.

The whole point of more tv and media rights isn’t profits - it’s to have a war chest to build and invest in your code, assert dominance in foreign markets, get kids and women to play your code and make sure your next media deal is bigger than the last. Rinse and repeat.

By winning the war for community engagement and interest you pretty much guarentee federal and state government funding in the future.

It all boils down to this - since the early 80’s the VFL/AFL organised themselves into a commission that championed the greater good of the code over individual clubs. This lead to a vision to expand into all capital cities and invest money in junior pathways and participation in foreign states.

The NSWRL/ARL never had such a vision. They just expanded the game to regions for more tv rights without reinvesting in grass roots or juniors. They never took it serious to relocate Sydney clubs - which is odd considering they kicked Newtown out. The Clubs have always retained too much power to be able to rationalise and streamline the game in Sydney.

Super league and News Ltd, for all its faults, at least understood Sydney clubs needed to make way for the greater good of the game and its growth. Then the NRL become this bastardised version of both ARL and SL which now has just gone backwards to appease News Ltd and NSW market.

You can continue to cherry pick facts and figures all you want and take it out of context. The bottom line is TV and media rights should be used primarily for investment and growing the game not so you can say “hey profit” for the sake of a good looking balance sheet.

Alpha Gil dominates Beta PVL for one, there are several, key reason - he is part of a long line of AFL leaders that have had clear vision and purpose without the need to suckle at the teet of News Ltd and Sydney Clubs.

On top of this overachieving theme of better administration in AFL - Alpha Gil is better looking, smarter, more humble, builds better government and business connections and is just a far more polished performer than Beta PVL.

I mean come on we all saw the Today ramblings of getting kids off those computer machines so they can play sport and Rugba Leeg at a local drowns and that government should give NRL the $800m instead of flood victims in Lismore. That interview was a disgrace and made the code a laughing stock. Mates in Melbourne I know we’re like “WTF is wrong with this bloke??” Haha. Alpha Gil would never perform so poorly.

Hence, and let’s bring this baby around to the jist of the thread, Alpha Gil fleeced the NRL and Beta PVL by obtaining an obscene amount more for the AFL in media rights which will then be reinvested in key foreign markets of NSW and QLD (the growth areas of south and west suburbs of Brisbane where NRL has no presence because News Ltd own broncos don’t want a NRL team there).

This media deal solidified the future 20 years of the AFL to continue to grow in NSW and QLD at the expense of NRL. If you don’t understand that is bad news for NRL, god help you.

Where have I said TV rights is the ONLY metric of a good performing NRL?

NRL haven't started to new TV deal yet

2019 $30m profit - we no club on handouts, which shows all round performance

2021 $45m profit

about to start a new TV deal with a new club coming in

Crowds up from 2019
Tv Ratings up

The issue I have is people saying NRL undersold the rights when no one knows for certain what pay tv pays either code

@Storm80, I don’t overall disagree with your post but SL’s aggressive takeover was rushed and ill thought out. Some fans were legitimately pissed off that their club was being put forward for relocation or merged or kicked out while others weren’t. SL’s divide and conquer strategy is responsible for the mess we were left with. It’s a shame because it’s a lost opportunity. There should’ve been a twenty year plan back then but that was never gonna happen with a hostile corporate takeover. Anyway, getting two proud clubs with tradition such as Easts/Souths was always gonna be a tall order. At the time, Politis had put a lot of time and effort into bring Easts back from teetering on the edge of the abyss. Meanwhile Piggins, who was doing a shit job with the basket case Souths were back then wanted equal say in the running of the club. Why would Politis risk his good work? And then of course, there’s the hate to get over. However, you could argue now that the rivalry between them is of greater benefit to the game than the merged club ever would’ve been.

Also, while I agree the AFL is doing a better job than RL, I don’t see how they “put together a commission that rose above the clubs for the greater good”. They still have nine AFL clubs in Melbourne, don’t they? Why is nine too many for Sydney but not Melbourne? We had four clubs that merged - six at one stage and shafted one that tried to relocate to the central coast.

We haven’t done much different to them in the major capital, I would’ve thought. They got there expansion done better than us but it was easier for them as they already had a national footprint as well as corporate support. Our corporates prefer the other code, sadly.

Colk

@Storm80, I don’t overall disagree with your post but SL’s aggressive takeover was rushed and ill thought out. Some fans were legitimately pissed off that their club was being put forward for relocation or merged or kicked out while others weren’t. SL’s divide and conquer strategy is responsible for the mess we were left with. It’s a shame because it’s a lost opportunity. There should’ve been a twenty year plan back then but that was never gonna happen with a hostile corporate takeover. Anyway, getting two proud clubs with tradition such as Easts/Souths was always gonna be a tall order. At the time, Politis had put a lot of time and effort into bring Easts back from teetering on the edge of the abyss. Meanwhile Piggins, who was doing a shit job with the basket case Souths were back then wanted equal say in the running of the club. Why would Politis risk his good work? And then of course, there’s the hate to get over. However, you could argue now that the rivalry between them is of greater benefit to the game than the merged club ever would’ve been.

Also, while I agree the AFL is doing a better job than RL, I don’t see how they “put together a commission that rose above the clubs for the greater good”. They still have nine AFL clubs in Melbourne, don’t they? Why is nine too many for Sydney but not Melbourne? We had four clubs that merged - six at one stage and shafted one that tried to relocate to the central coast.

We haven’t done much different to them in the major capital, I would’ve thought. They got there expansion done better than us but it was easier for them as they already had a national footprint as well as corporate support. Our corporates prefer the other code, sadly.

Souths/Easts merging is about as dumb as Norths/Manly merging. In fact mergers just don’t work.

The game would have been a lot better to try and get Sydney teams to relocate. Hard to do of course

Colk

Where have I said TV rights is the ONLY metric of a good performing NRL?

NRL haven't started to new TV deal yet

2019 $30m profit - we no club on handouts, which shows all round performance

2021 $45m profit

about to start a new TV deal with a new club coming in

Crowds up from 2019
Tv Ratings up

The issue I have is people saying NRL undersold the rights when no one knows for certain what pay tv pays either code

Continue to bury your head mate. The difference between the two rights deals has now never been greater.

LeagueXIII

Except it is true.
Even in small town settings the rugby league players (particularly when in their group) are arseholes who think they are heros and probably have minor criminal records. And they also tend to be dumb merkins.

There is a solution: Stop excluding intelligent people who go to good schools and university and such maybe even actively encourage them to participate.

Ironically when i was young a hell of a lot of players were school teachers. Strange that the public was educated by dumb rugby league players.