Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Peter V'landys - New NRL/ARLC Chairman

Colk

With the origin crowds this year and no covid costs the game will record an even bigger profit than last year

this is whilst nrl clubs are getting more money from the arlc than afl clubs get and the arlc just invested in an asset which is showing an initial ten percent yield

and next year the dolphins will enter the nrl and soon become one of the biggest rugby league clubs on earth

I would share your optimism if we didn’t have a shonky racing guy acting as a de facto dictator or we actually got what we should have deserved in TV negotiations. How good would that be?

Storm80

The only aim of a draft is too even out the competition and it would be a massive cultural shift in RL. It was accepted in by the Melbourne VFL clubs in the 1980s because the game was already being centralised and clubs were starting to move to central stadiums (all clubs were playing games at Waverley and/or MCG), and supporters were distributed almost evenly across the city. An AFL style draft would mean that NRL clubs are not permitted to have any junior teams (all junior RL and development would be run by the NRL), and the bottom placed club would have first choice of 18 year olds. So, this years, Wests could take any 18yo player from anywhere.

We are told that centralised stadiums can't work due to Sydney's hilly terrain and the lack of properley planned road or public transport s

Not sure the the NRL would ever be able to get that past the clubs even if they wanted to.

Why does the location of Lions training facility have any bearing on where the next NRL should be? Aside from maybe 500 - 1000 who may attend an AFLW game in Springfield, it has no relevance at all.
It has all the relevance in the world. The growth areas is exactly where the junior talent will be over the next 20 plus years.

Take Cam Smith from Logan. At his size he’s a perfect inside mid fielder for AFL. So any kid Cam Smiths size in south west Brisbane within a presence 15km of Lions HQ is gonna get invited to join their junior academy’s and get offered scholarships etc. Sure maybe the kid hates AFL and won’t go, but plenty will.

Look at Issac Heeney for the swans. Has the potential to be a great half or full back in NRL. What position is NRL clubs screaming for more talent? Half back, Hooker and Full back.

That’s where the competition for the future of the game is. And if lions can convince say 2-5 top local talents a year to give AFL a crack because the training ground is 5 mins away - guess what’s gonna make it easier for mum and dad to get the kid to?

Spring Hill? 40km away Dolphins? 70km away Titans? 80km away.

Or do the parents say to the kid “look i know it’s AFL but this is an amazing opportunity, it’s just 10 min drive - come on let’s just see whether ya like it?”

The National football club around the corner that’s always turning up to local schools and giving out free merch and tickets to games and registering kids for Auskick is gonna dominate the broncos dolphins and any QRL club in recruiting kids.

It’s pretty obvious what AFL have been doing for the past 40 years. They don’t even keep their plans secret. They do the due diligence and go after foreign areas. They look for a chink in NRL participation and exploit it to build there game.

So what code do you want the next Cam Smith from south west Brisbane to play? Cause it’s likely in 10-15 years kids that could have killed it as halves in NRL are running around the midfield for the Lions.

If you go with the brisbane Firehawks or Brisbane Jets you have local kids that can easily attend state of the art facilities south of the river etc and undermine the Lions efforts in the region.

The lions aren’t going anywhere either. They have no.1 draft pick locked up this year. A generational talent who should dominate the league for the next 10-15 years. A son of former premiership player. Leaving AFL a pocket of Brisbane to exploit for its own gains is gonna comeback to haunt NRL for the junior talent (especially halves) the AFL will successful poach from NRL in juniors.

Valid point, but it’s just not the biggest growth area for Brisbane suburbs in next 20 years. Those are inner south and western suburbs.

its paywalled unfortunately

“South Brisbane’s population is expected to more than double in the next 20 years, with industry experts saying the government needs to look at dispersing populations going forward.”

Suburbs with the biggest expected population growth by 2041
  • South Brisbane – 17,398 more people.
  • West End – 14,755 more people.
  • Rochedale – Burbank- 12,180 more people.
  • Newstead – Bowen Hills – 12,004 more people.
  • Upper Mount Gravatt – 10,570 more people.
  • Pallara – Willawong – 9,655 more people.
It’s why they built the new subway from south to city. And guess where the new subway stops - right out the front of the Gabba.

I’m not saying north shouldn’t get a team eventually. But it shouldn’t be the 2nd team when Brisbane Lions are setting up in the south and west - exactly where the population is gonna be. That’s the threat to NRL junior development

Redcliffe is 39km from Lang park. Ipswich is 41km from Lang park. Inner south and west are the growth of Brisbane.

People say Ipswich is to far out of Brisbane to get a team, so wtf is Redcliffe getting one? It’s only 2km closer to Lang park than Ipswich.

Springfield is where lions new HQ is is 30km from Lang park 27km from Ipswich and 27km to Gabba. Inner south and west (even if it’s Mount Gravatt or rocklea etc) is the perfect place for a 2nd team to build over next 20 years. The river splits the city in half anyway - so give broncos north of the river and East Tigers or Brisbane Bombers south.

They won’t do it cause News Ltd wants south and west for broncos catchment without having to do any real junior development there. The Broncos are happy for a “little brother” to play 39km away.

So what do people who love Nrl but don’t like broncos in south and west do? Go for the dolphins and travel 70km to a game in Redcliffe?? They better off avoiding the gateway and just heading south 80km to Robina to watch the Titans. It’s ludicrous.

Growing up on GC in the late 80s/90s - Redcliffe wasn’t even really thought of as Brisbane. At least not to me or everyone I knew. Similar to Ipswich or like geelong to Melbourne. So it ain’t really a real “2nd brisbane” club more like a regional venture that appeases News Ltd owned Broncos.

And the dolphins will not help develop the game south of the river - nor do the Broncos so Brisbane Lions have free reign to dominate the south (new Gabba stadium with subway station in front of it) and west Springfield HQ.

NRL couldn’t have handed the south and west better to the AFL if they tried. I’m starting to think Beta PVL is actually an AFL stooge
I grew up in Upper Mt Gravatt then moved to Rochedale South. AwFuL has done way more to promote itself on the southside during my time on Earth.

I tried to get the bludgers at the QRL and Logan City Council to revive the Logan Scorpions a decade ago and base them out of Cronulla Park, but they weren't interested in returning my calls. Now we've got the Springwood Pumas AwFuL club relocating to Cronulla Park to play out of a nice venue that's been built for them with tax payer money. It makes me so angry and depressed to know our game's hillbilly administration doesn't give a f**k about the sport and don't have the business acumen to get the job done.

Abdo spoke about the Dolphins being brought in to counter the Lions.

How can the Dolphins counter the Lions when they are based on the opposite side of the metropolis?

The only team that could counter the Lions is the Easts Tigers, who planned on representing everyone in Brisbane. V'landys and Abdo turned them down. These people are beholden to News Ltd and are giving AwFuL a free ride to reign supreme over the next 50 years.

Storm80

I grew up in Upper Mt Gravatt then moved to Rochedale South. AwFuL has done way more to promote itself on the southside during my time on Earth.

I tried to get the bludgers at the QRL and Logan City Council to revive the Logan Scorpions a decade ago and base them out of Cronulla Park, but they weren't interested in returning my calls. Now we've got the Springwood Pumas AwFuL club relocating to Cronulla Park to play out of a nice venue that's been built for them with tax payer money. It makes me so angry and depressed to know our game's hillbilly administration doesn't give a f**k about the sport and don't have the business acumen to get the job done.

Abdo spoke about the Dolphins being brought in to counter the Lions.

How can the Dolphins counter the Lions when they are based on the opposite side of the metropolis?

The only team that could counter the Lions is the Easts Tigers, who planned on representing everyone in Brisbane. V'landys and Abdo turned them down. These people are beholden to News Ltd and are giving AwFuL a free ride to reign supreme over the next 50 years.
I imagine the ones championing Redcliffe as the miracle on this website are either born and bred Redcliffe fans or have never lived in SEQ and have absolutely no idea of what we’re talking about.

Can you imagine the damage $500m over 3 years between 2025-27 is going to do in south west Brisbane to NRL juniors? It’s unfathomable just how much money AFL have to dominate the region now. Plus they now have 3 years to plan exactly how best to attack the market and spend the money wisely.

Lions will be a top 4 side for the next 5 years with Ashcroft coming to the club in 2023. By the time he hits 22 and getting to his peak is 2026 the second year of a media deal that has $170m more annually to invest in QLD and NSW.

It blows my mind how the stars have aligned for AFL to get a hold of the south brisbane market and Gold Coast over the next 10 years. They are gonna leave NRL for dead in relation to youth development

Packer “you only get one alan bond in your lifetime”

Alpha Gil “you only get one Peter V’Landys in your lifetime”

Desert Qlder

Don't underestimate the enmity that QRL clubs feel towards V'Landys. After him and Abdo attempted to kill the Queensland Cup, by bringing in the ridiculous national reserve grade.

It didn't make much news in the Sydney media of course. But ruffled a lot of feathers in Queensland.

They keep making enemies with their approach.

Desert Qlder

I imagine the ones championing Redcliffe as the miracle on this website are either born and bred Redcliffe fans or have never lived in SEQ and have absolutely no idea of what we’re talking about.
Bang on, Redcliffe are a joke of an entrant into the NRL. A marketing scam of the highest order.

They have ten thousand fans, everyone else hates them. Now we're f**king stuck with them.

Don't underestimate the enmity that QRL clubs feel towards V'Landys. After him and Abdo attempted to kill the Queensland Cup, by bringing in the ridiculous national reserve grade.

It didn't make much news in the Sydney media of course. But ruffled a lot of feathers in Queensland.

They keep making enemies with their approach.
Thats good to hear, we know NSWRL must hate him after dragging them into court. We only need 10 clubs to get onside and he can be ousted!

Jamberoo

It has all the relevance in the world. The growth areas is exactly where the junior talent will be over the next 20 plus years.

Take Cam Smith from Logan. At his size he’s a perfect inside mid fielder for AFL. So any kid Cam Smiths size in south west Brisbane within a presence 15km of Lions HQ is gonna get invited to join their junior academy’s and get offered scholarships etc. Sure maybe the kid hates AFL and won’t go, but plenty will.

Look at Issac Heeney for the swans. Has the potential to be a great half or full back in NRL. What position is NRL clubs screaming for more talent? Half back, Hooker and Full back.

That’s where the competition for the future of the game is. And if lions can convince say 2-5 top local talents a year to give AFL a crack because the training ground is 5 mins away - guess what’s gonna make it easier for mum and dad to get the kid to?

Spring Hill? 40km away Dolphins? 70km away Titans? 80km away.

Or do the parents say to the kid “look i know it’s AFL but this is an amazing opportunity, it’s just 10 min drive - come on let’s just see whether ya like it?”

The National football club around the corner that’s always turning up to local schools and giving out free merch and tickets to games and registering kids for Auskick is gonna dominate the broncos dolphins and any QRL club in recruiting kids.

It’s pretty obvious what AFL have been doing for the past 40 years. They don’t even keep their plans secret. They do the due diligence and go after foreign areas. They look for a chink in NRL participation and exploit it to build there game.

So what code do you want the next Cam Smith from south west Brisbane to play? Cause it’s likely in 10-15 years kids that could have killed it as halves in NRL are running around the midfield for the Lions.

If you go with the brisbane Firehawks or Brisbane Jets you have local kids that can easily attend state of the art facilities south of the river etc and undermine the Lions efforts in the region.

The lions aren’t going anywhere either. They have no.1 draft pick locked up this year. A generational talent who should dominate the league for the next 10-15 years. A son of former premiership player. Leaving AFL a pocket of Brisbane to exploit for its own gains is gonna comeback to haunt NRL for the junior talent (especially halves) the AFL will successful poach from NRL in juniors.
The Lions are not going to be paying any more attention to a kid from SW Brisbane than they would a kid from Redcliffe. This is not how AFL clubs think. They have scouts everywhere. It makes little difference where their HQ is.

Colk

Bang on, Redcliffe are a joke of an entrant into the NRL. A marketing scam of the highest order.

They have ten thousand fans, everyone else hates them. Now we're f**king stuck with them.

It’s why you probably shouldn’t have brought up a side from QLD Cup. The Firehawks was the best call in terms of strategy (a club totally seperate from the QRL and in the right location) although I hated their logo and marketing

They only did that as they wanted funding security from a pokie den. Again that's the problem when you dont have the funds to lead decisions yourself and make choices that are best for the game.

Storm80

Yeah Redcliffe, as an Easts fan growing up on GC, was always a team I hated. Well to be fair, I didn’t really like any other team - but Redcliffe I hated for some reason

Storm80

The Lions are not going to be paying any more attention to a kid from SW Brisbane than they would a kid from Redcliffe. This is not how AFL clubs think. They have scouts everywhere. It makes little difference where their HQ is.
Yes they scout everywhere. Not denying that. But the Springfield location makes all the difference.

Why do you think they decided to move 27km from the Gabba for their new facility? Just cheap land in the middle of nowhere? Ofcourse not.

They have a strategy to get a foot hold in the youth in the growth area of Brisbane. It’s pretty obvious they’ll be looking at local talent closely to fill their academy. They’ll be hoping to dominate the SW Brisbane youth market which is bad news for NRL youth development in the area.

It’s pretty obvious what they are doing. If they dominate SW Brisbane youth it’s more likely the next cam smith will be playing AFL rather than NRL.

When the Gabba gets pulled down, there is still the potential for Springfield to host AFL games as well. Talks are underway for refurbing the show grounds for them, but I’d say against teams with small followings - I wouldnt be surprised if they play in Springfield to assert dominance in the area over NRL.

And the lions will find it easier to recruit SW Brisbane kids with training at the Gabba and in Springfield. I don’t expect many kids at Redcliffe would bother travelling 70km to train in SW Brisbane. It’s not about paying more attention to one kid over another - but making it easier for a kid to attend training etc. By identifying and focusing on SW Brisbane they will capture that youth market to the detriment of NRL cause they have no presence there.

Jamberoo

Thought it might be of interest. Just exactly how Alpha Gil pulled off the media rights deal…

Link doesn't work but the main reason is competition, and therefore massive offers from all networks. They pay AFL more because it is national and gives them more reach, even though the ratings are virtually the same. Ch7 exec mentioned that because the AFL is national, it the ratings of The Front Bar, which in turn cross promotes AFL games. Ch7 does not want RL as they have wall to wall AFL, AFLW & VFL games (nine in total last weekend in Melbourne), so at best RL has 9 & 10 competing for FTA rights.

One small point. AFL players, and its players' association, have accepted having a draft in the AFL. Rugby league players and its players' association are deadset against it. In fact when the draft came into the NSWRL, John Adams was President of the Players' Association and he, along with his executive backed it. The players though were so incensed by it, they voted Adams out as President and voted in Kevin Ryan, as Ryan campaigned on a platform of opposing the draft.

After Ryan assumed office, the players' association funded Terry Hill's court case which saw the draft thrown out as a restraint of trade. So unless you get the players association aboard, chances of getting a draft up in running in Australia are nil.

Colk

One small point. AFL player, and its players association, have accepted having a draft in the AFL. Rugby league players and its players association are deadset against it. In fact when the draft came into the NSWRL, John Adams was President of the PLayers Association and he, along with his executive backed it. The players though were so incensed by it, they voted Adams out as President and voted in Kevin Ryan, as Ryan campaigned on a platform of opposing the draft.

After Ryan assumed office, the players' association funded Terry Hill's court case which saw the draft thrown out as a restraint of trade. So unless you get the players association aboaard, chances of getting a draft up in running in Australia are nil.

I agree. A draft is very unlikely to ever happen. I’m sure there are other options to be established in conjunction with the salary cap.

Jamberoo

Yes they scout everywhere. Not denying that. But the Springfield location makes all the difference.

Why do you think they decided to move 27km from the Gabba for their new facility? Just cheap land in the middle of nowhere? Ofcourse not.

They have a strategy to get a foot hold in the youth in the growth area of Brisbane. It’s pretty obvious they’ll be looking at local talent closely to fill their academy. They’ll be hoping to dominate the SW Brisbane youth market which is bad news for NRL youth development in the area.

It’s pretty obvious what they are doing. If they dominate SW Brisbane youth it’s more likely the next cam smith will be playing AFL rather than NRL.

When the Gabba gets pulled down, there is still the potential for Springfield to host AFL games as well. Talks are underway for refurbing the show grounds for them, but I’d say against teams with small followings - I wouldnt be surprised if they play in Springfield to assert dominance in the area over NRL.

And the lions will find it easier to recruit SW Brisbane kids with training at the Gabba and in Springfield. I don’t expect many kids at Redcliffe would bother travelling 70km to train in SW Brisbane. It’s not about paying more attention to one kid over another - but making it easier for a kid to attend training etc. By identifying and focusing on SW Brisbane they will capture that youth market to the detriment of NRL cause they have no presence there.
I reckon 99% of kids will have already chosen between AFL & RL before they are noticed by scouts of either code. It would be hard for a talented 12 year old to do both seriously. Kids will play whatever sport they prefer. If you're playing AFL and get offered an Lions academy place you would take it up no matter which part of Brisbane you live. And there are auskick centres all over Brisbane which is the key for them.