Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Peter V'landys - New NRL/ARLC Chairman

Wb1234

It'd only lose around $70k revenue a year at best. Its not a decision maker.
Given the credibility of the person who came up with that figure I have my doubts

The article I quoted lists the proximity to the rugby league ground as a reason for the purchase.

They obviously have a thing for buying hotels which are closeish to rugby league grounds

Who knows what savings in travel costs the nrl comes up with by hosting visiting teams there or what extra patronage it gets on game day over average.

As a travelling player from interstate I’d sure rather stay near the beach in Cronulla than the Novotel at Homebush or the Meriton apartments in parra lol

Wb1234

Because clubs are now getting funding of 5 million over the cap things like this are happening

Nrl needs to bring in better salary cap incentives for clubs to increase their junior spending and employ more development officers

Wb1234

“All three [hotels] are bought in vicinity to where we play grassroots or elite rugby. The plan is to grow quite significantly using rugby league IP and our major events … to drive the performance of these assets.”

Given the credibility of the person who came up with that figure I have my doubts

The article I quoted lists the proximity to the rugby league ground as a reason for the purchase.

They obviously have a thing for buying hotels which are closeish to rugby league grounds

Who knows what savings in travel costs the nrl comes up with by hosting visiting teams there or what extra patronage it gets on game day over average.

As a travelling player from interstate I’d sure rather stay near the beach in Cronulla than the Novotel at Homebush or the Meriton apartments in parra lol
you dont have to doubt, just think about it for a change lol
Hotel will be at 70-80% avg occupancy on non game days.
Lets be generous and say the boost of game day fully fills the usually unoccupied rooms.
In a 71 bed hotel thats 14-20 rooms.
at $300 a night that means each game day is worth around $4,200-6000.
Or over the course of a 12 home games season a grand total of $50,400-$72,000.

Its simple maths!

Vlad59

Lets be generous and say the boost of game day fully fills the usually unoccupied rooms.

It’s simple maths!
A hotel of this size charging $300 a night at 80% capacity will take over $6 million a year. Provides some perspective.

Wb1234

Its simple maths!
Tell that to Andrew abdo nrl ceo who said they are buying hotels near footy grounds to leverage off rugby league games / events to enhance the value of these assets

numbers dont lie. $50-70k difference? They might want to rethink their strategy if that is their logic lol

For a start there aren’t thousands of rooms at the beach. There are two hotels there of any standard and, apart from this one, the rest are 3 star across the shire. It’s in a great location next to the ground, next to the shopping centre, walkways etc and, assuming you have a car, it’s one minute from the beach. It’s also close to the train station. I’m not sure why this hotel is getting all this negative attention. It’s a ripper.

It’s also a 17 minute drive from the cultural Mecca that is Engadine Maccas.

JamesRustle

Anyone thinking the nrl would buy the ground to move the sharks away and devalue their asset next doors has rocks in their head

And group capacity will go back to 18k
In that scenario the NRL would sell off the ground and convert the hotel to a drug and alcohol rehab facility to service the drug addled Shire residents... it would have 100% occupancy.