Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Peter V'landys - New NRL/ARLC Chairman

You have no point. You’re talking absolute uninformed & uneducated nonsense.

The QRL admin facilitates more than just the seniors in Q-Cup. They facilitate 6 direct full fledged representative competitions. Hotplus Cup, BMD, MM Cup, CC Cup, HN U19s and HN U17s all which fall directly within the Q-Cup clubs.

After that the QRL facilitate the regional comps.
Cairns DRL, Mackay DRL, Mid West RL, Mount Isa RL, Townsville DRL, Highlands CDRL, Gladstone DRL, Rockhampton DRL, Roma DRL, Toowoomba DRL, Bundaberg DRL, Central Burnett DRL, Southern Burnett DRL, SCDRL, GCDRL, BRL, IRL and another 3/4 I’ve missed.

Within those various districts there’s anywhere between 4-16 seniors clubs and 6-20 junior clubs.

QRL’s slice is to manage cash back into those districts. Your gravy train directly impacts junior funding because it impacts resourcing.

No one from QRL is getting rich because of this nonsensical gravy train you flag.

You yet again have no idea what you’re talking about and still continue to consistently drop nonsensical dribble as opinion. Yes, hard work indeed - hard work for everyone trying sift through the nonsense you conjure.

A bloke your age should have more common sense.

No, the Qld based NRL clubs have flirted with the idea of their own senior reserves team but want nothing to do with the tiers below that. They don’t want to directly fund MM or CC which is the equivalent to SG and HM.

Thats where the issue lies. You still need considerable funding to the development grades irrespective of if there’s a national reserve grade or not.

As I said yesterday - 16/17 years olds who are ready to go into the best elite NRL pathways don’t magically sprout. They still require years worth of resources put towards their talents to be able to get to that stage. QRL funds that, always has.

Dolphins - due to their structure all the way down to under-6s through various affiliated junior clubs that feed into the overarching Dolphins system also have that correct set up. (ie. junior clubs in Aspley, Banyo, Brothers Norths, Norths Juniors, Holy Spirit, Sanford, Valleys, Arana Hills, Brighton, Mitchelton, Wests, Dolphins Juniors, Pine Rivers, Dayboro).

It’s far more complex than these 5 minute league unlimited posts from people who don’t understand the intricacies of the QRL seem to understand.
in others words

PERTHWRONGS, DING BLOODY DONG

Fangs

The nswrl and qrl are dinosaurs that were supposed to be eliminated by the introduction of the arlc to eliminate wasted money

The qrl was against the dolphins joining the nrl because they didn’t want one of their clubs going there. The nswrl wasted money on a needless court case

The clubs want national reserve grade. But it won’t come in because the nswrl and qrl wont allow it

They are holding back progress to protect their empires

I think there is some truth in this. Dinosaurs would exist within.

But you won't do away with them. And having them on your side to instate massive change in the sport is a smarter approach. A national reserve grade competition will require their support.

Why go to war with the QRL and NSWRL? They are Rugby League people and love the game.

BuffaloRules

The nswrl and qrl are dinosaurs that were supposed to be eliminated by the introduction of the arlc to eliminate wasted money

The qrl was against the dolphins joining the nrl because they didn’t want one of their clubs going there. The nswrl wasted money on a needless court case

The clubs want national reserve grade. But it won’t come in because the nswrl and qrl wont allow it

They are holding back progress to protect their empires

Is a national reserve grade comp really a big deal over what they have now ?

Will it be more expensive to run ? Will, it generate more money ?

Dogs Of War

Is a national reserve grade comp really a big deal over what they have now ?

Will it be more expensive to run ? Will, it generate more money ?

I think more importantly given the money the guys get at that level, is the impact that travelling interstate etc would have on their careers outside of footy. Keeping things much more local is a much better method.

Phil Gould has said in previous podcasts that a national reserve grade is silly for those guys. And even levels under that where he would prefer talent stays more local and is not taken away from potential friends and family which help them stay grounded and provide support.

Red&BlackBear

But you won't do away with them. And having them on your side to instate massive change in the sport is a smarter approach. A national reserve grade competition will require their support.

Why go to war with the QRL and NSWRL? They are Rugby League people and love the game.
I’m unsure about NSWRL but QRL have some pretty savvy people running it.

Brian Canavan as chair - one of the biggest expansionists in the game.

Ben Ikin as ceo - one of the smartest brains in the game.

Would many people know that Cooper Cronk is on the board of directors? Duff, OHanlon & Begg know their stuff.

steeden.

I’m unsure about NSWRL but QRL have some pretty savvy people running it.

Brian Canavan as chair - one of the biggest expansionists in the game.

Ben Ikin as ceo - one of the smartest brains in the game.

Would many people know that Cooper Cronk is on the board of directors? Duff, OHanlon & Begg know their stuff.
All this chat feels like non-Queenslanders telling us how to run our stuff.
it’s working well. no need to change it

Wb1234

Indep commission was supposed to eliminate multiple levels of boards / management which are costly and often duplicated efforts

Their love of league is primarily focused on their own interest as opposed to what’s good for the whole game

Commission is weak. Clubs and state bodies control it

Those boards should be eliminated and full control of all spending go through the nrl and policies like reserve grade implemented without their input

Red&BlackBear

Indep commission was supposed to eliminate multiple levels of boards / management which are costly and often duplicated efforts

Their love of league is primarily focused on their own interest as opposed to what’s good for the whole game

Commission is weak. Clubs and state bodies control it

Those boards should be eliminated and full control of all spending go through the nrl and policies like reserve grade implemented without the input
The commission has no idea how to handle junior football.

They don’t understand what goes into the pathways and the infrastructure that give the game the players we resource.

A commission member would have no idea how much money needs to be spent in North Queensland or Central New South Wales. Your view is incredibly shortsighted.

Wb1234

The commission has no idea how to handle junior football.

They don’t understand what goes into the pathways and the infrastructure that give the game the players we resource.

A commission member would have no idea how much money needs to be spent in North Queensland or Central New South Wales. Your view is incredibly shortsighted.
They would appoint people on the ground to report to them

You think the arl is running your bears from their commission meetings in Sydney

The issue is about who makes overall decisions and funding priorities

There’s no oversight of how the money is spent

And opposing what nrl clubs want in terms of national reserve grade is not in the best interest of the game

Your talking about scenarios were funding stops for juniors is bs. Funding won’t get cut it’s about who decides how the game is run

Red&BlackBear

They would appoint people on the ground to report to them

You think the arl is running your bears from their commission meetings in Sydney

The issue is about who makes overall decisions and funding priorities

There’s no oversight of how the money is spent

And opposing what nrl clubs want in terms of national reserve grade is not in the best interest of the game

Your talking about scenarios were funding stops for juniors is bs. Funding won’t get cut it’s about who decides how the game is run
The people who understand are already in their positions with NSWRL and QRL.

You have absolutely no idea what you’re talking about. You have no idea what I’m thinking. Stop assuming so much stuff you’re clearly not qualified in.

There’s complete oversight in spending - but as I mentioned yesterday, the funding is not enough. This is why people like myself and others cover the over and aboves to keep things ticking along.

The scenario of funding stopping for juniors is completely true - where do you think the money for officials and other auxiliaries for those grades comes from? The sky?

You’re then putting the funding back to the clubs. The Broncos don’t care about what happens in Toowoomba, Cowboys don’t care about what’s happening in Mt Isa etc.

You are far from an expert on this mate, best listen to people who are directly involved. If it was as easy as you think it would have already been done.

Wb1234

The people who understand are already in their positions with NSWRL and QRL.

You have absolutely no idea what you’re talking about. You have no idea what I’m thinking. Stop assuming so much stuff you’re clearly not qualified in.

There’s complete oversight in spending - but as I mentioned yesterday, the funding is not enough. This is why people like myself and others cover the over and aboves to keep things ticking along.

The scenario of funding stopping for juniors is completely true - where do you think the money for officials and other auxiliaries for those grades comes from? The sky?

You’re then putting the funding back to the clubs. The Broncos don’t care about what happens in Toowoomba, Cowboys don’t care about what’s happening in Mt Isa etc.

You are far from an expert on this mate, best listen to people who are directly involved. If it was as easy as you think it would have already been done.
Clubs already spend loads on juniors

Oversight is from the arl not the state bodies

National reserve grade and under 21 are important for the games development

Arguing against them is just parochialism

Where does the qrl get its money from ? The 500 people who go to qrl games each week ain’t it

Red&BlackBear

Clubs already spend loads on juniors

Oversight is from the arl not the state bodies

National reserve grade and under 21 are important for the games development

Arguing against them is just parochialism

Where does the qrl get its money from ? The 500 people who go to qrl games each week ain’t it
Clubs only spend on their selected juniors
- which is limited in numbers and limited in financial investment.

The QLD NRL clubs do not spend money on regional juniors or any club that’s not associated with that NRL club and here’s a hit tip - there’s a bucket load. It’s the QRL clubs that’s spend on the networks of clubs which feed into that specific representative club.

QRL gets its part-funding from ARLC. That is the business transaction from the return of interest of managing and facilitating junior clubs, those pathways, the infrastructures and resources ie game day officials that naturally progress through the grades to be scooped by the NRL clubs and NRL management.

NRL clubs (specific to QLD) will spend the cash on U-21s but they won’t spend it on the grades below that. Therein lies an issue - the national tiers will still not be aligned. There will still be discrepancy between NRL club vs. the real pathways below it which is the QRL clubs that’s actually produce the talent.

This gravy train is made up. It doesn’t exist. The money that’s going into the state bodies is going there because they are facilitating and managing clubs.

Arguing this point is as I said - you are far from an expert here mate.

Dogs Of War

The QLD NRL clubs do not spend money on regional juniors or any club that’s not associated with that NRL club and here’s a hit tip - there’s a bucket load. It’s the QRL clubs that’s spend on the networks of clubs which feed into that specific representative club.

QRL gets its part-funding from ARLC. That is the business transaction from the return of interest of managing and facilitating junior clubs, those pathways, the infrastructures and resources ie game day officials that naturally progress through the grades to be scooped by the NRL clubs and NRL management.

As I said - you are far from an expert here mate.

I wish I could find the podcast with Ben Ikin explaining his role at the QRL and all the pies they have fingers in. It was pretty amazing stuff, and happy that Ikin is running stuff cause he seems to have his shit together.

Wb1234

As I said - you are far from an expert here mate.
Qrl didn’t want the dolphins in the nrl

Not because it wasn’t a good idea

Because they didn’t want to lose one of their strongest clubs

And why ignore the question on national rg and under 21 ?

The qrl don’t want either and it’s not because it’s what’s best for league

Dogs Of War

How have they lost one of their strongest clubs. From my last check, if anything their QRL club which still plays in the QLD Cup has been strengthen as they have NRL top 30 guys in that squad. Along with North Devils and Central QLD capras.

Having gone to heaps of Wynnum games. The battle of the bays is one of the biggest QLD Cup games that happen each year. Wynnum vs Redcliffe.

Red&BlackBear

Out of curiosity where are you pulling this QRL didn’t want Phins in the NRL from?

QRL have openly endorsed Phins, twice now.

First time was when Phins fought to retain the Dolphins moniker for future usage when GC tried to use it in 2005 and then when Phins were pushing for entry in 2021.

QRL also endorsed Tigers and Jets. QRL are openly endorsing both these clubs actively right now.

I’m not ignoring the question on U-21 as it already exists. The QLD NRL clubs have teams in the NRLQ..

The national reserve grade isn’t best for league, it’s actually diluting resources and hampering the regional areas from actively participating in senior footy through a meaningful medium.

QRL as a state league is set up better than NSWRL in this regard. Even comparing it to NSWRL which is the basis of national reserves isn’t relevant. NSWRL doesn’t have senior grade representation through out the state, QLD does. It services the state to a far greater degree and is far more important than it’s being given credit for.

Wb1234

I wish I could find the podcast with Ben Ikin explaining his role at the QRL and all the pies they have fingers in. It was pretty amazing stuff, and happy that Ikin is running stuff cause he seems to have his shit together.
I mean he did drop the ball on stadium funding for league stadiums in qld from the o
How have they lost one of their strongest clubs. From my last check, if anything their QRL club which still plays in the QLD Cup has been strengthen as they have NRL top 30 guys in that squad. Along with North Devils and Central QLD capras.

Having gone to heaps of Wynnum games. The battle of the bays is one of the biggest QLD Cup games that happen each year. Wynnum vs Redcliffe.
The qrl did not want them in the nrl

So if that’s the kind of leadership they show can they really be trusted

Wb1234

Out of curiosity where are you pulling this QRL didn’t want Phins in the NRL from?

QRL have openly endorsed Phins, twice now.

First time was when Phins fought to retain the Dolphins moniker for future usage when GC tried to use it in 2005 and then when Phins were pushing for entry in 2021.

QRL also endorsed Tigers and Jets. QRL are openly endorsing both these clubs actively right now.

I’m not ignoring the question on U-21 as it already exists. The QLD NRL clubs have teams in the NRLQ..

The national reserve grade isn’t best for league, it’s actually diluting resources and hampering the regional areas from actively participating in senior footy through a meaningful medium.

QRL as a state league is set up better than NSWRL in this regard. Even comparing it to NSWRL which is the basis of national reserves isn’t relevant. NSWRL doesn’t have senior grade representation through out the state, QLD does. It services the state to a far greater degree and is far more important than it’s being given credit for.
Pretty funny you never heard of it and claim to the mr qld rl

This was when they were talking about adding the dolphins