Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Picking a New #7

TruSaint

Personally I would give Mary a bit of leeway for the early season if he went with Mann or Field in the 7, both would need to adjust, but would pay their dividends later in the season.

Im willing to give him 6-8 rounds to show ( as he stated today and yesterday ) that he had adopted a new approach.

Jai Field.. not yet... give him 12 months to muscle up a little, Mann or Nona yes... Worth the risk.

Dufty.. yes.

I have been super critical of Mary and his consistent "D" phlilosophy, i just hope that what we hear now is true, and that he will take advantage of assistant staff, be broader minded, and play as he said today " whats in front of them ".

Mary last year was very tunnell visioned. He dropped Mann after 2 games, yet kept Lafai ( whom was obviously playing with an injury or very low on confidence ) for most of the season. That tells me he already had pre-concieved notions of " who was worth the risk ".

Combinations need time to evolve. They will make errors. But our spine needs to given a chance over time.

warwickdragon

Isn't shaun Nona recovering from serious surgery? If so I'd be surprised if a short term option wasn't added to the team eg an organising backup half such as Hastings

TruSaint

Isn't shaun Nona recovering from serious surgery? If so I'd be surprised if a short term option wasn't added to the team eg an organising backup half such as Hastings

Hastings / Carney / and co. have been ruled out as signings according to Millward.
Didnt know Nona was that seriously injured.

Nona had a ankle injury he sustained against Burleigh and had an op.

He is back in training so he is on track to be ready for the trials thats what I have been lead to believe.

Mann should be given every oppurtunity in the halves for the entire pre-season to see how he goes and honestly i think he will be fine he seems like a smart fellow.

Field is just to small at this stage but he had been playing first grade for Shellharbour before entering the under 20's and he got bashed around a bit but it didn't faze him. I know bush footy isn't the same but playing for the Cutters will certainly test him.

I won't be surprised to see Jack Payne given a 1 yr deal as a second tier player.

For all the hype around Field Payne was the organiser the linch pin in the side.

He directed the team very well and never looked flustered.

TruSaint

Nona had a ankle injury he sustained against Burleigh and had an op.

He is back in training so he is on track to be ready for the trials thats what I have been lead to believe.

Mann should be given every oppurtunity in the halves for the entire pre-season to see how he goes and honestly i think he will be fine he seems like a smart fellow.

Field is just to small at this stage but he had been playing first grade for Shellharbour before entering the under 20's and he got bashed around a bit but it didn't faze him. I know bush footy isn't the same but playing for the Cutters will certainly test him.

I won't be surprised to see Jack Payne given a 1 yr deal as a second tier player.

For all the hype around Field Payne was the organiser the linch pin in the side.

Thx for the update on Nona mate

Dragsters

Totally agree Coast.

I said similar in an earlier post somewhere.

At least some of us have seen enough of the pair to know that Payne was the organiser at 7 and I reckon we need to lock him down now as a serious option if we can't manufacture a 7.

monsterkev

One of the advantages of Mann not mentioned was that he is probably the strongest defender out of all the options and is deceptively strong. For a half he is actually very robust yet is still quick and agile.

McCrone does not have the speed and agility needed and together with Nona are not the future. They are stop gap options at best, I would prefer us to look for the players that can take the team into the future. Nona has had chances but has been unable to show the commitment and dedication to take it the next level.

Jai Field is potential plus but I think he probably needs to be eased into playing the top grade. I know some posters have indicated size doesn't matter. I disagree, you don't have to be a monster but you do have to have enough size and strength to avoid injury. At the moment he doesn't look like he has quite the right muscle bulk or tone. PS: we're not talking a lot but 5kg more of hard muscle would make all the difference.
Need to put faith in the mann
He will need more than just a few games though
We have nothing to lose
He is better than the other options
Or we end up with soward/carney or hastings
No thanks

inside_pass

It doesn't really matter who plays in the halves because while McGregor is coach the team will be exactly the same with no direction or game plan.
2017 is going to be another wasted season as usual.

monsterkev

Where in the same position as the knights in 2016 having to blood juniors
We have had years of pain buying players albeit some shit ones and not doing any good
Now we have no choice but to give these juniors a go but lets give them a good go at it not just one ordinary game and your out
I just hope we dont finish in rhe same position as the knights did in 2016

giboz71

More than anything, spine positions (especially half) have become increasingly specialised. You can’t just stick someone big and fast like you can in the back row or outside backs. Spine players have fundamentals like kicking, passing and vision absolutely nailed down and they have the ability to break down a game plan to figure out what option to take in a split second.. JT, Cronk, Smith and Boyd are obviously the benchmark, but guys like Moylan, Coote, Taylor, Hunt etc aren’t far behind. These guys have footy smarts written all over them.

This is where we have struggled for so long. Duges and Rein have zero footy IQ, and Widdop and Benji are just flat out sh#t. This unfortunately was our spine for the better part of 3 years, guided by clueless Mary. FMD.

Point being, you can’t stick someone like Mann, who hasn’t played half in years and expect him to succeed. He’s a smart player for sure and should be in the side, but it’s a bit much to expect him to succeed at half (where so many others have failed).

There is a reason why halves and other spine players command the big $$$. Time for us stump up and get someone that can finally lead this team around.

Lethal25

More than anything, spine positions (especially half) have become increasingly specialised. You can’t just stick someone big and fast like you can in the back row or outside backs. Spine players have fundamentals like kicking, passing and vision absolutely nailed down and they have the ability to break down a game plan to figure out what option to take in a split second.. JT, Cronk, Smith and Boyd are obviously the benchmark, but guys like Moylan, Coote, Taylor, Hunt etc aren’t far behind. These guys have footy smarts written all over them.

This is where we have struggled for so long. Duges and Rein have zero footy IQ, and Widdop and Benji are just flat out sh#t. This unfortunately was our spine for the better part of 3 years, guided by clueless Mary. FMD.

Point being, you can’t stick someone like Mann, who hasn’t played half in years and expect him to succeed. He’s a smart player for sure and should be in the side, but it’s a bit much to expect him to succeed at half (where so many others have failed).

There is a reason why halves and other spine players command the big $$$. Time for us stump up and get someone that can finally lead this team around.

We are not a club who can afford to be gambling on key positions. I agree we do need to lock down a guy who will lead the team around and is proven

Carlton

We are in the position we are in. So who do we stump up for in 2017, there is no one worthwhile so why wouldn't we try what we have in house and see if one of them is good enough to carry us forward.

I agree that spine positions are specialised but to assume only current halves have the skills is nonsense. Cooper Cronk did not start as a half, Mann has played most of his football in the halves.

giboz71

We are in the position we are in. So who do we stump up for in 2017, there is no one worthwhile so why wouldn't we try what we have in house and see if one of them is good enough to carry us forward.

I agree that spine positions are specialised but to assume only current halves have the skills is nonsense. Cooper Cronk did not start as a half, Mann has played most of his football in the halves.

I was more talking about 2018.

Hutch would have been given a shot this year, but I doubt he would have been the answer. If Mann is given the job in 2017, so be it.

I like Mann, but we ain’t winning a comp with him at 7.

Carlton

I was more talking about 2018.

Hutch would have been given a shot this year, but I doubt he would have been the answer. If Mann is given the job in 2017, so be it.

I like Mann, but we ain’t winning a comp with him at 7.

I half agree, half disagree. By 2018 we need to have identified and secured the right halves, they may have come from inside or we may have to buy them from outside.

What I don't agree with is the assumption Mann won't make it even without seeing him take on the role. I think he may be more than just competent and could provide a lot of the answers we are after. The good thing is we have a season hopefully to explore these options and it doesn't matter which one of us is right because there is time to address any problems.

giboz71

I half agree, half disagree. By 2018 we need to have identified and secured the right halves, they may have come from inside or we may have to buy them from outside.

What I don't agree with is the assumption Mann won't make it even without seeing him take on the role. I think he may be more than just competent and could provide a lot of the answers we are after. The good thing is we have a season hopefully to explore these options and it doesn't matter which one of us is right because there is time to address any problems.

I hope you're right. As I've said, I rate Mann highly and agree he needs to be in the side.

Perhaps paired with a bona fide half where he can play a running 5/8 role could even be a good option? But as the guy to steer the ship and call the shots, especially in the red zone, where a true 7 is so crucial, not sure how he'd go.

Happy to be proven wrong though.

Dragsters

I don't think anyone is sure giboz71 but most seem to agree that Mann is the best credentialled in house option we have.

He has plenty of first grade experience, has played halves at Q cup level and has a good footy brain.

I would like to see him given a good crack for at least the first 6-8 games if he shows promise in the trials.

I also think the smart move would be to get Jack Payne into the Cutters no.7 for the same period of time.

Payne is a genuine 7 and just needs some time against men.

Imo that would give the coaching staff the best indication of how both are progressing and if changes need to be made, both players have had a good run to show their worth in the role.

In the mean time we can be looking at an experienced 7 for next year. As we all know, negotiations take time and this time can be used to assess how Mann & Payne might be as options long term.