Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PJ Marsh slams Brisbane Broncs

dazeely

Matt Marshall
August 13, 2009 12:00am
DISGRUNTLED Bronco PJ Marsh has launched a stinging attack on his club, declaring: "I haven't been given a go."

A frustrated Marsh, who believes he is still Brisbane's No. 1 hooker, has played just 15 NRL games in nearly two seasons since joining the glamour club.
The 29-year-old has been plagued by injuries since arriving from Parramatta on a three-year deal worth $750,000.
The blossoming of Dogs recruit Michael Ennis in 2008 and teen Andrew McCullough this year has also blocked his path.
However, Marsh, who snapped a five-year Origin drought in Game One last year before his Broncos stint soured, also blames the club's coaching hierarchy for a stalled NRL career.
"It's certainly not my form. I haven't been given a proper chance if you ask me," Marsh told The Courier-Mail. "As far as I'm concerned, no disrespect to anybody, I still consider myself to be the No. 1 hooker at the club. It's just disappointing other people don't see it the way I do.
"You've got to be given a good three to four weeks to settle in. I wasn't given that chance, but it's the way it is. Sometimes you just don't fit the dynamics of a club or team. I think I fit in quite well."
Marsh has played just five NRL games this year – his last in round 15 at Cronulla. After knee surgery in early July he is eyeing a return next weekend with Central Comets, where he has played nine state league games in 2008-09.
Asked if he held out any hope of forcing his way back into Brisbane's NRL squad this year, Marsh said: "I very much doubt it. I was hoping to get a run somewhere, on the bench or starting, but injuries haven't helped me. I can't play injured but when I was fit, I wasn't really getting a go anyway.
"It's disappointing. I know there's lots of other clubs out there who could do with a hooker."
Unless another viable option arises, Marsh plans to see out his Broncos deal in 2010.
"If I was a young bloke I'd probably go chasing a game," he said. "But I've got to look after my family and make sure I know where my next pay cheque is coming from.
"It's hard to be hungry because the season's over for me really. It's another four to five months until I can do anything about it. Of course the fires are burning. I believe I've still got plenty of years still in me. The average person thinks you only play for money but I'm a footy fan, I'm dying to play footy."
Broncos coach Ivan Henjak yesterday disputed Marsh's claims he has not received a fair go, praising the efforts made by both McCullough and Aaron Gorrell to leapfrog him.
"PJ's had two really interrupted seasons with injury," Henjak said.

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,25920704-10389,00.html

that'll go down well with Henjack, may as well just quit now or go elswhere

he's never been one to hold back really

stuke

sounds like he is forcing their hand to pay him out and let him pick up a deal elsewhere.

Jizmizm

for what its worth, i reckon he's played way better than gorrell in the matches he's played for bris, and at least as good as mccullough

Fathead

hahaha when he went up to the Broncos he basically said that he was with the greatest team in the world, that he always wanted to be a Bronco and would have come earlier if asked... how good is that club now PJ ??
What it comes down to is this - You are a average player PJ. Nothing more, and at 29 you arnt offering too much in the future.

In places like Parra of old, you were trumped up as being better than what you are but when the harsh realiities of life hit you like it did when you rocked up to brisbane
you were put in your proper place.

I know no one in Parra would trade PJ with either MK/Kinga or Anthony Mitchell.

Be interested to see more Broncos fan's opinions on this. It is a bit of a whinge considering he hasn't really been consistently fit over the past 2 years. If he's injured and someone else has cemented a position in his abscence then they've earned it and he cannot expect to walk straight back in to first grade. Can understand his frustration, but you cannot expect the best of both worlds. I'm sure he'd easily get a first grade contract with another NRL club and be thrust straight into first grade, but if he's not willing to take a pay cut then it won't happen.

But that's my point - they've been better off than we have lately.

True, that aura will probably disappear now Unky Wayne has moved on and Hunt deserted ship. But they have an aura of success - or used to, anyway.

big boppa eel

hahaha when he went up to the Broncos he basically said that he was with the greatest team in the world, that he always wanted to be a Bronco and would have come earlier if asked... how good is that club now PJ ??
What it comes down to is this - You are a average player PJ. Nothing more, and at 29 you arnt offering too much in the future.

In places like Parra of old, you were trumped up as being better than what you are but when the harsh realiities of life hit you like it did when you rocked up to brisbane
you were put in your proper place.

I know no one in Parra would trade PJ with either MK/Kinga or Anthony Mitchell.
Bit harsh mate I thought at Parra showed a lot of guts and tenacity compared to some of the powder puffs we have had over the years and basically was one of our biggest hitters, no I wouldnt swap him for the above, but deserves a little better to what you served up, by the way he was happy to stay at Parra its just we only offered him a short term deal.