Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Player abuse...

AND what's more he deserved it. Laugh at Geoff Gerard trying to hold her back, finger pointing...it was @ Leichhardt wasn't it....:lol: classic...

I thought it was umberland..although i went to both grounds regularly as i lived right between both grounds.

Mickyd39

I think I'm finding myself yelling at the refs more often than I would like, but never at the players. Well, I do yell at the players, but definitely not in a negative fashion :)

I think everyone yells at the refs.

I would like to share a story with you about my night at the footy.

my seats are in bay 45, i got to the ground around 5.15pm yesterday afternoon.

when i arrived, too my delight,:roll: there was a bunch of refs sitting a row in front of me, Gavin Badger, Ben Cummins, a referre i did not recognise, a female ref that ran the water out to the ref in the NYC game and the linesmen that for 1st grade.

During half time of the NYC the kids and the young refs came out to play. Badger and co(excluding Ben Cummins, Cummins looked very uncomfortable sitting there with that lot.) were making fun of the young refs out there Eg: Everytime a team would score the young ref would look to the sidelines for a touchy, there was no touchies. Everytime this would happen the refs would laugh at the young ref for doing this, some other remarks were made but i could not hear them properly. To me it seemed mean spirited, not in fun.

Instead of sitting there and taking the p*ss out of the young refs, maybe they should go over and talk to these young refs and give them encouragement.

i felt like saying to them "watch and you might learn something from these kids, at least there not always going to the video ref, you dickh*ads."

i didn't say anything because they may have had me thrown saying "i had harrased them.

Also Badger and the female ref were swearing very loudly when talking to one another and there were kids close by.

i don't want to sound like an old fuddy duddy(i know i do and i'm sure it will be pointed out) but if that was a player carrying on the same way i'm sure it would have been on the front page of the DT.

The point is abuse comes not just from stupid fans but also stupid refs.

GO PARRA bring on the bunnies.

Nikki

Does anyone tell her to shut up?

Nothing worse than listening to fowled mouthed, know nothings.

How long has she been in those seats?

Maybe you could advise the club of this behaviour and they could cancel her membership.

She knows people in the know if you know what I mean ;-)

The funniest part yesterday was when she yelled for us to take the two points when we were packing the scrum :lol:

We are loudly commenting on what she is saying now, and her friends around her are forever telling her to shush, but that just prompts her to jump on her chair and yell some more. When Nathan Fien injured himself she stood up and abused the christ out of him. I yelled out at her to show some respect, but she just doesnt get it.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
Mickyd, i would seriously think about dropping an email to the NRL about your experience on Monday night. I would say with referee numbers and quality in local and country leagues struggling all the time, that's really unacceptable behaviour from what's meant to be the elite squad. The young ref's are doing the hard yards, and probably only mimicking the guys they watch on TV - trying to get to that standard.

If you would like contact details, please feel free to send me a PM.

Parra Guru

Wow, sounds like Badger and co. just took 'work talk' to a whole new level of boring.

Pretty poor form.

Parra Guru

She knows people in the know if you know what I mean ;-)

The funniest part yesterday was when she yelled for us to take the two points when we were packing the scrum :lol:

We are loudly commenting on what she is saying now, and her friends around her are forever telling her to shush, but that just prompts her to jump on her chair and yell some more. When Nathan Fien injured himself she stood up and abused the christ out of him. I yelled out at her to show some respect, but she just doesnt get it.

Or "GO KINGSTON" :lol:

At least she didn't call Kinga a piece of sh*t.... he's one of the safe ones!

salvy71

Sadly society has gone to the dogs these days ....it's expected that you will get a percentage of utter scum at a football game .....

andrew057

Also Andrew, how did you end up getting to the game? Was the show fun and exciting, or boring and the same thing as the last 5 years as I keep hearing?

Good mate, ended up leaving the show at about 5pm, traffic was pretty hectic out to Parramatta, still only took about 25 mins I'd say.

Parking was a bit of a lottery, had no idea where to go. We came off Macquarie Street onto O'Connell Street and saw a car park on the left hand side with heaps of parks up the back so pulled in there. Was a line up of cars trying to get in the back part where all the parks were, so we were just waiting, didnt really know what was happening and a car pulled out of the front park of the car park (which was packed), zipped in there and parked for free. When we were walking to the stadium there was a sign and a security guard blocking the the back part with, so I assime that it was reserved or something so we were really lucky. Only took us about 2 mins to walk across to the stadium.

Yeah the Easter Show was the same old boring stuff, but my partner had a good time so I was happy. Although I was disappointed the worlds tallest horse had gone home so I missed seeing him :lol:

Runaround Man

I have been going to the footy since 1979 and what I hear and experience there really hasn't changed much.

Still plenty of passion, swearing, cheering, booing, and at the end of the day everyone just calmly goes home. That is the great thing about Australians and their sport, after the game is over it is over. To be honest the only exceptions I have seen to this are the Bulldogs (arabic) supporter base.

I take my kids, and yes there is heaps of swearing about us. My kids don't repeat this language afterwards, they know it is just at the footy. The footy is that special place that we can lay aside the normal social niceties and yell out abuse and have a right royal time.

Personally I never say a poor word against my own team, but I really give it to the opposition, that is the job of the local fans, make life uncomfortable for the away team, it is all a part of the game.

After the final whistle the theatre is over and everyone goes back to being mild mannered.

Casper The Ghost

yep, we've certainly got some bright sparks supporting our club, I wonder if they released that the time was stopped???

as I've said in the past, there's nothing i hate more than abusing your own players and parra supporters are champions at it but if you pay your money than unfortunately you have every right to express your feeling without physically harming anyone.

Well, if this abuse is the norm and it ain't going away then its best we call this location of abuse The Parramatta Coliseum....

I'd rather be a lion than become a Christian..... boooooo boooooo booooooo
christians_fed_to_lions.jpg

How sick this attitude is Eels fans, please wake up from this commitment
to performing spiritual suicide upon your own club....

Obviously the spirit of Parramatta has not been resolved even after 200 years
Shackle-found-in-foreshor-001.jpg

Casper The Ghost

I resent that implication.
1. I would never yell out at a game, I have too much respect for the athletes
2 I would DEFINITELY not swear at any player
3 I have played, coached, watched, written about, and been an administrator for over 50 years
4 I don't care if you don't like my opinions - or my views on the game, but don't brand me as something I am not - that is a feral loud, foul mouthed Rugby League watcher (I wouldn't call the person you are referring to as a fan or supporter or a lady)

:clap::clap::clap::thumb
Have immense respect for you Pete.

Casper The Ghost

Hope so PG, hope so. I am a grandfather of three, and the sort of behaviour that he was referring to is something I abhor.
Could you imagine how you would feel if the watcher in Bay 48..was your daughter, grand daughter, girl friend, sister or wife!!!!

That is exactly why I do the Love For Life work, this horrible intentional doing-harm sickness is found extensively amongst banksters, judges, lawyers, barristers, politicians, big business representatives, law enforcement officers, public servants, bureaucrats etc, etc. As above so below, as within so without, from the tv, from the people, etc. sh*t only comes out of sh*t.

TheRam

I sat next to the lady that ran on to the field and abused Hartley at the Parra v Tigers game at the SFS last year. Yeah I'll tell you what, she's still an old sprightly chook. Loves a beer and a lot of fun.