Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Player movement news

maxpower3000

Cronulla have a strong interest in Mason and South Sydney are talking to Anasta through his uncle, George Piggins, while the Roosters have been linked to both - as well as Rabbitohs pair Ashley Harrison and Scott Logan and Sharks forward Keith Galloway.

But even after losing veteran captain Luke Ricketson, Queensland back-rower Michael Crocker and New Zealand prop Jason Cayless, the Roosters are unlikely to be able to afford more than one big-name recruit as none of the trio is on big money.

After almost retiring last season because of salary cap restraints, Ricketson's contract is not much more than the $100,000 exemption he is entitled to for playing 10 years at the club, while Crocker and Cayless were signed as little more than fringe first graders.

Former Queensland winger Chris Walker has not been made a new offer and the Roosters are keen to release halfback Brett Firman if he can find a new club but they are also trying to re-sign Maroons utility Chris Flannery, whose stature in the game demands he earn a vastly increased contract.

In addition, Craig Fitzgibbon and Anthony Tupou have automatic upgrades in their contracts, while the club has

re-signed Brett Finch and Iosia Soliola and is negotiating with 10 other members of last year's successful Premier League and Jersey Flegg teams.

By contrast, Souths have more than

$2 million of contracts due to expire at the end of the season and are expected to snare Melbourne's Matt Orford and Steve Bell, while Anasta and Galloway are also in the club's sights.

With St George Illawarra set to re-sign Test prop Luke Bailey for one more year, Cronulla have set their sights on Mason and have released Michael Sullivan to Warrington and Andrew Lomu and Jason Williams to Canberra, while David Peachey is off to Widnes and Jason Stevens is retiring.

The Sharks are also in the market for a centre, but have baulked at the asking price of Brisbane's Shaun Berrigan and are looking to England where Wigan's Brian Carney and Mark Calderwood of Leeds are among a number of players keen to play in the NRL.

Carney's friendship with Matthew Johns is believed to be swaying him towards joining Newcastle, while Calderwood has been linked to Manly, who are yet to re-sign Chad Randall, Luke Williamson, Shayne Dunley, Steve Matai and Paul Stephenson.

Sharkie73

I just looked these two up why do we want to sign 2 wingers??? unless Simmo will be at fullback next year if Peach goes. even so we would only need one winger, or can they both cover wing and centre.

Surely

Sheros los Deros said:
Calderwood plays for the Leeds Rhinos in ESL. Watchers of ESL matches may be able to tell us more.

This mornings courier mail , says bell is not a certainty for souths and is going to test his value on the open market.

Also says he is more than likely going to leave melbourne.
This is reportedly straight from his manager.

Dread

What an exciting silly season this will be. Lots of players wanting to test the market. Money in the bank to throw around. Lets hope something good comes of it.

SirShire

Firman = hooker
Mason = prop
Chalk = fullback
Bez = centre

Assuming we have $1.2m to spend, these should be our 'big four'. We could probably get Firman relatively cheap, and I'm sure Chalk would jump at the chance of first grade fullback.

black_dot

Firman off to the dogs i my mail.

Carney isn't a centre, I asked him personally about it when he was at shark park, jimbo was with us as was garbo. He's a top bloke and was really keen to get into the NRL and we were selling the sharks big time ! I told him we could use him as a centre but he laughed and said he can't pass the ball to save himself.

Wing and wing only, but a bloody good one.

much of that report max is very old news, ie williams and lomu to canberra etc. But the most worrying thing there if true is the sharks baulking at berrigans asking price. Anyone here calling for big willie to be thrown $500K must surely agree that if berrigan is willing to leave brisbane and come to us , then we should pay him whatever he wants ?

yes pay Berrigan whatever he is worth.
that is, whateve bid is required to get his services.
I dont think he is worth 400k & I dont think he will be getting that.
Which is why the amount we paid for Nigel is even more significant, becaue Berry isa much better centre than Nigel.Isnt he on 320 p/year plus a job?

Mako

Dottie,

While I don't disagree that getting Berrigan would be great I think getting Willie would be more important to us.

Having Willie and ANY class centre would be better than no Willie and getting Berrigan. (get Bell and Willie and we look good)

Mind you getting any or all and not having someone competent at the back in place of the Peach and I am not so sure if it will make a difference!!!!!!!

As someone said earlier we are looking at fullback, Centre, Prop and Hooker being big holes next year and unless someone here can say for sure that Merrit can step up for Peach, that Kingston can step up to hooker ( or we can turn Bird into one ) then we are looking at spending lots. Add to that we need to have a plan for BK. Nige and Nuts over the next couple of years.

SirShire

blacktip-reefy said:
yes pay Berrigan whatever he is worth.
that is, whateve bid is required to get his services.
I dont think he is worth 400k & I dont think he will be getting that.
Which is why the amount we paid for Nigel is even more significant, becaue Berry isa much better centre than Nigel.Isnt he on 320 p/year plus a job?

Christ. Give him 500k a year and let him pull schooners behind the Immortals Bar for as long as he wants.

We need Berrigan..............................

black_dot

What kind of figure does your gut tell you we will need to pay to lure berry this way reefy ?

for mine, and based on what i believe he's on at the broncos ( about $120K only ?? ) I think we SHOULD pay him around $300K a year to lure him, do you think that money would get him or is he asking more ?

Mako I know what you're saying about The merits of signing willie over berry ( how good would BOTH be ??? :) ). Perhaps my oppostition to willie coming toius for $500K is partly due to the fact that I believe we need berrigan more. I think the second centre position has been one of the most controversial and contentious positions this season, one only has to read the zuess/mellor/bailey threads on here to see that. and I strongly belive that players who WILL be here for sure next season, covell and simmons play much much better with quality centres inside ( stating the obvious).

Our weaknesses this year have not been backrow or even front row, and we are not lacking chances on the fringes with bailey and gallen providing them. we are lacking a strong defencive three quarter who is also a try scorer and line breaker.

That's my reasoning anyway and why I'd love berry over mason.

ghoti

Berrigan will stay at the Broncos...close to no chance of moving him out of Brisbane since he's pretty damn attached to his home, the money would have to be at an ESL level monetary offer.

black_dot

the fact that he is extremely under paid at the broncos may make the difference though mate, a $100K plus pay raise is big money in anyones book, even if it means moving south for 2 or 3 years.

Mako

OK then the cunning plan needs to be:

Peach and Stevo clear the way for around 500K for Willie
Sully, Zeuss, Doom and Mellor clear the way for around the 300K for Berrigan

Bird/Hilder Hooker
Merrit Fullback

Job done!

:)

sublimeshark

We should focus on signing Mason and Bell...
But for chrisake no one start ringing any bells at Shark Park like some wanker at Olympic Park always does..!!

Mako

sublimeshark said:
We should focus on signing Mason and Bell...
But for chrisake no one start ringing any bells at Shark Park like some wanker at Olympic Park always does..!!

I would rather Beer Hill shaking bells for Bell than Willies for Willy :lol:

Special K

Mako said:
OK then the cunning plan needs to be:

Peach and Stevo clear the way for around 500K for Willie
Sully, Zeuss, Doom and Mellor clear the way for around the 300K for Berrigan

Bird/Hilder Hooker
Merrit Fullback

Job done!

:)

Stevo for Willie
Lomu, Mellor for Berrigan

Then with Peachey, Zeus and a few others leaving bling bling for cheap players, upgrades etc.

1. Mez
2. Simmo
3. Nige
4. Berrigan
5. Covell
6. Dykes
7. Noddy
8. Williams
9. Trouble
10. Nuts
11. Willie
12. Bails
13. Gallen

... Won't happen :lol:

Seriously but our people need to bend over backwards to try and get these two test players at our club.