Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Playing Rugby League for first time, need tips

Bipolarbear

Hey guys,
Down in Tassie we now have a Rugby League comp that's run over the summer.
I played Rugby Union for 5 years as Hooker or Flanker from U14's and then switched to Aussie Rules last year (Half Back Flank, Half Forward Flank or Full Back).
This will be my first season playing Rugby League, I have joined so that I can drop my weight and get fit again, I have had a chat to the coach and because I have put on a few kg's (try 30 lol) I will be playing as a prop (you're probably thinking, no shit?). 185cm 127kg.
I usually watch about 4-5 games or NRL a year, I understand the basics and have followed the Eels since I was about 6.

What parts of the game are hard to get used to?
What sort of exercises should I be doing to improve my ability to play?
Is Rugby League good for weight loss?
What's different about Rugby League to Rugby Union and what are the biggest challenges for code switchers to come across?

Thanks guys!
Bipolarbear.

You need to shed atleast 30kg's otherwise you'll be stuffed after 5 mins.

Getting back the 10 after each tackle is the hardest bit and requires loads of endurance.

Worry about that before you worry about anything else.

TooheysNew

Pfft. It's a struggle, but I doubt they'd be playing limited interchange at that grade, and it's quite easy to bludge through 20 minutes in the lower grades. Yes, dropping the weight will help, but it's fitness that will kill you, not the weight.

Bipolarbear

Haha! I remember thinking that getting up after tackling someone or being tackled in Rugby was the hardest thing after quite a while.
I don't think I will be playing until halfway through the season, the training, eating a whole lot better and jogging a few K's a day should be enough to have me lose weight at a steady pace.
My endurance is something I really need to work on.
Is it more of a stop start fast game than constant jogging?

Thanks for the prompt replies, sorry if I have posted this in the wrong area.

Didgi

If you regularly play AFL your endurance shouldn't he that bad, but only you will know that. As a prop you'll get breaks regularly anyway.

League isnt a hard game if you want to do enough. It's putting in the bit extra that's hard, getting onside all the time, kick chases, cover defence, extra runs.

Bipolarbear

"The "Maori sidestep" was first used by the New Zealanders, and occurs when a player doesn't try to avoid the tackler, but charges him head-on, bumps off the defender, and generally tramples him as he runs over the top"

Haha! Brilliant.
I am of indigenous background, just not Maori! :D

At my Aussie Rules club, I was always the slowest doing the laps, but I was one of the quicker ones over 20 meters.

8-10kg in a week? Wowzer, I assume that's all fluids though surely?
I want to lose it slowly, I will be happy with 20kg before Dec 31.
My mate got loose skin from losing weight too quickly and it looks worse than having the weight on, it's taken him aaaages to get it toned up.

joshie

I'm a big boy too, I'm currently at 105kgs playing lock, but as a former 140kg giant prop, all you gotta do is absolutely tear into the fitness, I went from 140 to 115kg in about 6 months because I held nothing back and did extras like walking to and from school! Eating better is good too! What I do right now, is gym work and then head to my local rugby league club and I do game simulation with about 3 mates! It's you v 3 guys over a full field! You do all your attack straight into their defence, then you kick it down and start defending! On the last u drop back into fullback and they kick it to you! Big hits are allowed, an in defence u must get back the 10

juanfarkall

Good Luck, try and find a rowing machine.
In my situation, using a rowing machine seemed to be more effective than other pieces of gym equipment for shifting and losing weight.

Parra Pride

127kg? Run it straight, unless of course you want to be like Dave Taylor, then still run it straight, but only at centers, wingers, and halves.

***MH***

If you get tackled short of the try line, don't be tempted to promote the ball over the line, that's a penalty. This one traps a lot of the union newcomers.

Bipolarbear

Thanks for all of the helpful tips!
Champions, have taken everything into account, glad I came onto this forum.

langpark

I can relate a bit to your situation. I've been a footy fan since birth, but having Greek parents and being pretty puny as a kid meant i was never allowed to play. I didn't join a club til I was 20, so it was hard not having had learnt the basics as a kid, but I did get the hang of it midway through the season.

As for fitness, there's one great drill we did that I recommend, all you need is a mate who is also keen to get fit, and one cylindrical tackling bag. You stand it upright, one of you takes a run up and tackles it to the ground, stands it back up for the next guy to tackle. You each alternate that up the length of the field and back and by the end you're F***ed. It's the best thing ever for getting fit specifically for rugby league...

All the best man!

Joker's Wild

Oh that's awesome! Thanks dude.
I will have to get myself a tackle bag!

A decent sized punching bag works as a substitute but it needs to be at least chest height

Do some 10m shuttle runs with burpees at the top (ie: run up 10m, perform a burpee, run back 10m, repeat) to improve your fitness.

good luck mate

langpark

I imagine the tackle bag would be expensive (and hard to find in Tasmania!) just borrow from the club...

dogslife

A penalty goal in league is only worth 2 points, and a field goal only 1, so those shouldn't be your go to moves