Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Please, anyone else in 2021

Didn’t Roosters tell him to leave and didn’t he get less money?

More like
Roosters offered him a wealthy contract
he declined, to go fishing for more money
Roosters pulled the offer so he can't use us as a bargaining chip
he signed to Souths for possibly less money

Pommy

More like
Roosters offered him a wealthy contract
he declined, to go fishing for more money
Roosters pulled the offer so he can't use us as a bargaining chip
he signed to Souths for possibly less money

I don’t disagree with the timeline but you missed out the bit where he told to sign elsewhere. I know it’s not a great look for a double premiership winning player of yours.

Roosters offered to make him the highest paid centre in the game. He wanted more money which is his right and we decided to move on from him at that point.

It is pretty obvious souths was the plan the whole time and he used wests as a bargaining chip. Again his right and all part of professional sports.

The souths acquisition of latrell is no different to ours of Teddy yet one is considered good business and the other a clear sign of cheating.

I think the Roosters benefit from their location. People want to live in Sydney along its beaches. Having 'Sydney' in their name would help attract sponsors.

Maybe Manly could become stronger by changing their name to North Sydney or Northern Sydney?

greenBV4

I think the Roosters benefit from their location. People want to live in Sydney along its beaches. Having 'Sydney' in their name would help attract sponsors.
yep as much as the roosters are laughed at and told they should be the one to relocate, its good for the game to have a team in the high-end of town in Sydney, especially since Souths have all but ditched the area

never gonna happen but something like would be ideal for Sydney IMO
Sydney Roosters, Sydney Bulldogs, Southern Sydney Rabbitohs, Western Sydney Eels, Western Sydney Panthers (I'd go GWS if it wasnt taken, or use it anyway to stick it to them), Illawarra Dragons

Each of these clubs would get a larger slice of the sydney pie, and much greater potential, all should be able to become powerhouse clubs.

Sydney vs Sydney derby, West vs West derby, Roosters v Souths rivalry, Dragons fully own the south coast and give regional nsw better representation

something like this (but more accurate to existing boundries i cbf looking up)
Screenshot 2020-10-30 233633.png
Tigers are interchangable with dogs I guess, campbelltown could be black or blue.

Dogs to Canterbury NZ,
Manly to CC or South Island NZ (if not dogs) or Adelaide,
Tigers to Brisbane (merge with easts tigers and souths logan magpies to become the mega merge tigpies),
Sharks to Perth :joy: (add a Melbourne vs Perth element to the recent Storm rivalry thats died off a bit now).

I am 100% ready to be attacked :joy:

Attachments

• upload_2020-10-30_23-42-25.png
    upload_2020-10-30_23-42-25.png
    729.2 KB · Views: 1
yep are much as the roosters are laughed at and told they should be the one to relocate at its good for the game to have a team in the high-end of town in Sydney, especially since Souths have all but ditched the area

never gonna happen but something like would be ideal for Sydney IMO
Sydney Roosters, Sydney Bulldogs, Southern Sydney Rabbitohs, Western Sydney Eels, Western Sydney Panthers (I'd go GWS if it wasnt taken, or use it anyway to stick it to them), Illawarra Dragons

Each of these clubs would get a larger slice of the sydney pie, and much greater potential, all should be able to become powerhouse clubs.

Sydney vs Sydney derby, West vs West derby, Roosters v Souths rivalry, Dragons fully own the south coast and give regional nsw better representation

something like this (but more accurate to existing boundries i cbf looking up)
View attachment 43432
Tigers are interchangable with dogs I guess, campbelltown could be black or blue.

Dogs to Canterbury NZ
Manly to CC or South Island NZ (if not dogs) or Adelaide
Tigers to Brisbane (merge with easts tigers and souths logan magpies to become the mega merge tigpies),
Sharks to Perth :joy: (add a Melbourne vs Perth element to the recent Storm rivalry thats died off a bit now)

I am 100% ready to be attacked :joy:
I like the idea.

Canterbury to Christchurch could work well as they get to keep their name, with Penrith and Magpies combining to become the Western Sydney Panthers, colours black and white.

Tigers could relocate to Brisbane, with Easts buying their licence. Brisbane Tigers, based at Coorparoo.

Dragons to Wollongong as the Illawarra Dragons.

Manly to Gosford as the North Sydney Sea Eagles. Roosters take over northern Sydney.

I'd leave Parramatta as Parramatta.

South Sydney Sharks and South Sydney Rabbitohs.

Zadar

Merge chooks and Souths. Similar colours. Both inner sydney. Won't have to put up with the wankfest whenever they verse one another.

Chooks finally get fans. Rabbitohs get fans with teeth.

The colours can stay red,white and blue with Souths contributing the red, the name can be Eastern Sydney Roosters taking back everything east from Newton to maroubra.

We take latrell back and clean him up, the rest of the players can play for north Sydney.

myrrh ken

The colours can stay red,white and blue with Souths contributing the red, the name can be Eastern Sydney Roosters taking back everything east from Newton to maroubra.

We take latrell back and clean him up, the rest of the players can play for north Sydney.

You poach their players anyone so you might as well be them. Wing Keary Crichton etc

East Sydney Ratsters. Or maybe east sydney rats and filth

You poach their players anyone so you might as well be them. Wing Keary Crichton etc

East Sydney Ratsters. Or maybe east sydney rats and filth

Wing didn’t have a club to play for after Souths got kicked out. Keary got kicked out by Rusty and Crichton was poached from us first.

Grapple

I like the idea.

Canterbury to Christchurch could work well as they get to keep their name, with Penrith and Magpies combining to become the Western Sydney Panthers, colours black and white.

Tigers could relocate to Brisbane, with Easts buying their licence. Brisbane Tigers, based at Coorparoo.

Dragons to Wollongong as the Illawarra Dragons.

Manly to Gosford as the North Sydney Sea Eagles. Roosters take over northern Sydney.

I'd leave Parramatta as Parramatta.

South Sydney Sharks and South Sydney Rabbitohs.

no way a Christchurch team would have blue and white. (that's auckland rugby colours and nobody down there wants that) its black and red only, which would admittedly be a nice change but would no doubt clash with your manly to north sydney move. (unless manly stayed the same)

if we're talking colours, you have to have a team in wellington rather than christchurch. rock the yellow and black. so different to any other team, and they already have a stadium ready to go.

no way a Christchurch team would have blue and white. (that's auckland rugby colours and nobody down there wants that) its black and red only, which would admittedly be a nice change but would no doubt clash with your manly to north sydney move. (unless manly stayed the same)

if we're talking colours, you have to have a team in wellington rather than christchurch. rock the yellow and black. so different to any other team, and they already have a stadium ready to go.
Is the Orcas bid still active?

Pantherjim.

please enlighten us

lemme guess, something to do with cheating? does cameron smith have dirt on his missus? does he get a new boat every year??

I'd love to hear your theory, pm is fine if you don't want to post it. I have no doubt Melbourne pay him extremely well. My way of thinking is if you are on around 1 million a year, absolute job security & comfortable where you are you aren't going anywhere that could go badly even for 1.5 million. How much money could he possibly need?

I reckon the NRL probably also somehow financially incentivise him to stay down there for the age-old but ultimately futile endeavour of trying to promote Rugby League in the AFL heartland, but a thought also occurred to a mate and I over beers last night so I digress; there’s also probably the added attraction of being able to walk about in public down there without anyone knowing who you are, or giving a f*ck even if they knew.

Pantherjim.

Of course.

I want my club to identify and procure the best talent they can via junior development, identifying 'external' talent and everything in between. That is what a professional sporting club should do.

I don't whinge if and when another club do the same. You are aware that your captain this year is a roosters junior and played all the way up through the grades with us before getting a chance at first grade at the Cowboys?

I am happy to be corrected on this but I am reasonably sure that makes one more roosters junior in the Panthers top squad in 2020 than Penrith juniors in the roosters squad.

On Tedesco, there were other issues going on at tigers at that point. Were you gut wrenched that Moses went to Eels? What about Latrell going to souths or RTS going to Warriors? Did they pull at the heart strings in the same manner?

Nah, not really.

It only “tugs at the heartstrings” when a talented player that could herald a new premiership winning era at an underperforming club such as the Tigpies is snatched up by your c***s.

Re: Tamou, if he was a Roosters Jnr, then he obviously was unwanted if you let him go to the Cowboys otherwise you would have held on to him, yeah?

I have the utmost confidence in the Roosters to “hold on” to players that they wish to keep, so...

Pantherjim.

We don't want dead people and pets as fans mate.

I could walk about in the streets of Bondi, Coogee, Randwick etc with a camera and microphone interviewing people all day; I guarantee you that I reckon at least 65% of the current day locals wouldn’t even know who the Roosters were.