Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Polglase's exit leaves Naiqama in No.1 frame

Frederick

Polglase's exit leaves Naiqama in No.1 frame

FORMER Dragons winger Wes Naiqama will be groomed as Kurt Gidley's fullback understudy during pre-season trials as the Knights adjust to the sudden retirement of underrated utility back Todd Polglase.

The 26-year-old Kurri Kurri and Knights junior, who returned to Newcastle last year after stints at the Bulldogs and Souths, has succumbed to a chronic hamstring injury he aggravated at a sprint session 10 days ago.

Polglase struggled to control his emotions when he told teammates of his decision at training at EnergyAustralia Stadium yesterday.

He declined interview requests but, in a statement issued by the Knights, thanked coach Brian Smith and the club for supporting him and wished the team luck for this season.

"I would like to thank the club for its patience and for giving me every opportunity to overcome my injury, but I had to make a decision that was right for the future," Polglase said.

"I intend to take some time away from football and consider my options before moving on to the next chapter of my life."

Smith had earmarked Polglase as a potential back-up to Gidley, but that role will now fall on Naiqama's broad shoulders, starting with the trial against the Warriors at North Harbour Stadium on February 15.

Naiqama, who has not played since reconstructive knee surgery last May, has spent most of his three-year NRL career as a winger or centre, but Smith believed the 25-year-old Fijian international could emerge as an explosive kick returner and broken-field runner.

"Obviously Wes hasn't played since early last year, so getting him back into the swing of things means he'll get a fair bit of time in the trials and he'll get a bit of time at both centre and fullback in this first game," Smith said. "When Wes plays fullback, we might even have a look at Kurt back in the halves as well. I know he's done it before but it's been a while so I wouldn't mind just having a look and seeing him in there. If Wes happened to come up for us at fullback, Kurt could give us another alternative around those positions."

Smith praised Polglase's toughness and tenacity and said his contributions on and off the field would be sorely missed by the club.

"He has been a pleasure to coach in his time here and he had the total respect of his teammates," Smith said. "He was always willing to do stuff on the field that a bloke of his size and shape would most often not do. He was very tough and very popular as a bloke; one of those fellas that has no problem fitting in anywhere and we're going to miss him a lot. Todd's a very witty sort of bloke he's always got a line but he was gone when he told the boys today.

"He was overcome with emotion and found it very difficult to get the words out."

Smith said Polglase and the Knights had reached an "amicable agreement" on a termination payout and would decide later this week whether to recruit a replacement.

"In the 10 days since it happened, he's been through the necessary business aspects of it with the club and the club showed a great deal of respect towards him and an amicable agreement was arrived at," he said.

"What it does for us from a salary cap point of view, and whether we decide to find a replacement or whatever, we'll determine that in the next couple of days."

Smith hoped Polglase would continue his association with the club in another capacity, possibly as a coach.

"I'm hoping when he feels it's appropriate we can find a way for him to be involved with the club," he said.

"I think he has some talents that would suggest he might make a good coach."
LINK

bluesbreaker

Seems he's doing us a bit of a favour really. Would've been nice to retire at the end of last season, maybe we could've kept Snowden or Miller.

NthKnight

Guess we might end up with Wes at fullback and Gids at 5/8 during some stage of the season. This wouldnt be so bad IMO as Ive always liked Mullo at half and Im not convinced at all about either Walsh or Dureaus defence.

Guess the trials might give us some idea about what will and wont work position wise.

bluesbreaker

Please not Gidley at 5/8th, how many times does that experiment have to fail? AJ could carry him (hell, he carried Todd Lowrie at 5/8th), Mullo cannot. We need two genuine playmakers, whether that be Dureau, Mullen or Walsh.

Keep Kidley at fullback until he stops being freakishly good there. I've got no evidence to suggest Wes might not do well at fullback, but there's no point moving them around. There's been almost two full seasons with Kurt at fullback and they outshone his, what, three, four seasons in the halves - I don't want to see him at 5/8 or halfback until he's a few years older at least.

All the usual whinging aside though it's probably a non-issue, it sounds more like a trials thing. You never know.

bluesbreaker said:
Please not Gidley at 5/8th, how many times does that experiment have to fail? AJ could carry him (hell, he carried Todd Lowrie at 5/8th), Mullo cannot. We need two genuine playmakers, whether that be Dureau, Mullen or Walsh.

Matt Hilder maybe? A solid defender and let's be honest,
the halves are where the opposition target us in defence. For the life of me I don't know why Cartwright moved Hilder from five eighth when he was playing so well there. He got injured and that was that. I reckon he will find a home there with Mullo at halfback. I agree that Kids will stay at fullback and will only move to halves if we are struggling bigtime.

2003 he played most of the year at starting fullback when Robbie was out, is what I mean ;-)

(or 2002, hmm)

antonius

strewth_mate said:
2003 he played most of the year at starting fullback when Robbie was out, is what I mean ;-)

(or 2002, hmm)
Kidley started the year at fullback on fire in 2007, his performance there fell away a bit towards the end of the season though, prob through fatigue more than anything else. I'll admit, I thought it was a huge mistake playing him there to start with last year, but he had some outstanding games there. His other seasons at that position were to put it mildly sh!t, and was the reason I was dubious last season, but he proved me wrong, I think Smiths use of him there was one of his best decissions last season. I wouldn't like to see him moved back into the halves though. Mullo should be the 5/8th IMO and the 7 will come from Dureau, Walsh, or Bailey (who according to the word around has been impressing Smith there during the pre-season stuff)

antonius

Baron Vo Mandor said:
Bailey @ halfback, thats one I havent heard before. The boy sure must be versatile.
Yep I thought the same. I do know though that Smith thinks Mullo is best at 5/8th, didn't Bailey play some halfback last year in Premier league?

macavity

Bailey will play 6 and push Mullo to 7

I think the key to that working is Danny kicking more..

From memory I'll have a geeze tonight at last years big leagues I do remember him in 7 on occassion.

Edit: I stand corrected.

antonius

macavity said:
you are thinking of Riley Brown

killed it at 7 in PL last year
That's it. If you're right about Bailey at six then that'd knock Smiths preferance for Mullo there on the head.

macavity

antonius said:
That's it. If you're right about Bailey at six then that'd knock Smiths preferance for Mullo there on the head.

I think its all up in the air. things should be clearer after the trials... or around round 24.... :crazy:

If Smithy goes for a "proper" 7 we will have one of Bails and Hilder on the bench IMO. but who freaking knows.

Bring it home Knights

If bailey is going as well as has been reported in the media, than I wouldn't mind seeing him at lock! He has size, speed and skill. If tanner can play so many games at lock, than I can't see why Bailey couldn't! :D

macavity

backrow is already full and Smith generally likes a tackling machine at lock

Simmo, Pato, Houston, Tolar - which one misses out so Bails can play lock?

Tolar would be the answer ATM. However we all know how good Tolar can be. I really like the idea of Tolar as a backrower, lock he never seemed big enough to be a prop to me.