Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Predictions for Week 1 Qualifying Finals

knightsgal85

I'm loving it ... My dreams have been finally answered & we will face the Roosters once again in the finals. Obviously, it is 2 - 1 in the past 3 years in favour of the Roosters during the finals series, but spare a thought for our courageous effort last year where scores were locked at 6-all for virtually 60 minutes of football before we eventually faltered & the Roosters displayed their sheer brilliance again, which ultimately won them the premiership last year. Even though we got beat that particular day, & eliminated out of the finals, all the Knights faithful there & all those who were watching the telecast, were so very proud of the boys efforts (for the 60 minutes at least), especially without the maestro of Joey.

Despite our hard-fought win yesterday, when I reflect upon it, I think that was exactly what we needed. We needed to show that we had to play hard for the entire 80 minutes to secure a win, which is what is required if we were to beat the Roosters. Josh Perry impressed me considerably yesterday with his hard front-on defence. Sure, if Ben Kennedy & Timana Tahu are excluded from our team to play against the Roosters, we will be definitely weakened. I was looking at the most probable match-ups & it promises to be an absolute thriller. There was panic in the Roosters outfit yesterday, & they virtually just snuck home against the Raiders who lost their halves early due to injury/concussion. At one stage yesterday afternoon, it looked like we were down & out, but that was full credit to the Cowboys who played extremely well, & were unlucky that they didn't come up with the win in the end. However, the admiration & the determination of the Knights showed once again that 'never say die' attitude, which saw us stage a courageous fightback late in the second half.

The win yesterday has definitely lifted the momentum & confidence of our team. Determination & enthusiasm are just as vital as solid defence & good attack, to claim victory.

If you want something so desperately, you pour all your energy into making things become reality. You work together as a team, be counted, keep tackling, keep going forward. If every single player does their job, are committed in achieving a common goal, have belief in themselves, you can achieve virtually anything. It is how you as an individual perform, that adds to a team's success.

Most of the critics said after Joey's injury, that we would struggle to post a win in another game. We have managed 3 wins out of 4 games, & our only loss came at the hands of the Raiders, & we lost that particular game in the first 10 minutes of each half, & only by a mere 8 points.

Saturday night is our destiny, the people of the Hunter & the fans of the Knights are waiting, the passion is fuelling our flames, we have no extraordinary expectations, we are not intimidated by the Roosters & all that we ask for is a solid, 80 minute performance. We have nothing to lose, but everything to gain. The pressure & expectation is all on the Roosters. If pride & passion doesn't motivate or inspire you to greater heights, nothing will. This game is life or death, people can write us off, but with 17 players who will step out on the field come Saturday night through that ever-so familiar tunnel, will be greeted with as much of the Newcastle faithful that have stood by our team, during the good times & the bad.

You can never underestimate the pride the Newcastle jersey has, we take the underdog status with open hands, & appreciate it a lot. Our destiny is only days away, we have a team, & yes, we have every chance of winning.

My predictions for the qualifying finals:

Raiders vs Storm - I will stay faithful to them. This clash will attract one of their biggest crowds for a very long time. Provided that Brad Drew & Mark McLinden are playing, they should win. The homeground advantage is always an optimistic sign. Although, I think Brad Drew is out until the Semis due to a hamstring strain. The Raiders, despite getting defeated against the Roosters yesterday, remained competitive, to the very end, despite losing their halves early in the game. This promises to be a close game, the Storm have posted some good wins in the recent weeks, but at this stage, I'll stick with the Green Machine, even though they have not beaten the Storm in their 2 encounters during the premiership rounds.

Bulldogs vs Warriors - Despite the fact the Bulldogs didn't impress me in defeating the Sharks in the previous round, they should be too classy for a Warriors outfit. Stacey Jones re-injured his groin during the Warriors win over the weekend, & if he doesn't play, I cannot really see the Warriors posting a win.

Roosters vs Knights - Should be the match of the round (possibly second to the Raiders vs Storm encounter) if the line-ups are as what I expect (with the inclusions of Ben Kennedy & Timana Tahu). There has been good rivalry between the 2 clubs over the years, not to mention the fans. It's a tough one to pick, but at this stage, I'll stick with the Roosters. I'm glad we have to face the Roosters in the first week, as they are one of the teams I like our team to be compared against, as it will prove to be a huge test if we can manage to match it with the calibre of such a team as the Roosters. Brad Fitler is still not 100%. However, he played much better last round against the Raiders.

Panthers vs Broncos - I can't tip against the Panthers as they have impressed me so much throughout the season, & will not disappoint their fans come Sunday. I just cannot see the Broncos transforming their season (especially in the past 7 weeks) on Sunday. The Broncos recent form has been abysmal, & I rate form going into the playoffs as a prime consideration.

antonius

My tips are........

Canberra Raiders vs Melbourne Storm Storm have the wood on them

Bulldogs vs Warriors dogs too strong at home
Sydney Roosters vs Newcastle Knights Well I hope so

Penrith Panthers vs Brisbane Broncos Broncs are Goooorne

antonius

knightsgal85 I didn't realise you started this thread so I deleted mine, Missa sorry your post went with it, can you re-post it in here?

knightsgal85

antonius, it's no problem at all ;-) You could have just deleted my topic, as no-one had replied to it earlier on.

Anyway, has there been any promising news down in Newcastle on Ben Kennedy & Timana Tahu?

astrogirl

knightsgal85 said:
antonius, it's no problem at all ;-) You could have just deleted my topic, as no-one had replied to it earlier on.

knightsgal85, I noticed your post earlier this afternoon but thought I'd come back to it when I had more time to read your thoughts and type mine!!!

I'm still at work so I shouldn't hang around here too long - I'll be back later :D

Terminator

Great post Knights Gal-85, one of your best yet.

TERMY'S 2003 FINALS FORCAST:

RAIDERS to beat Storm

WARRIORS to beat Bulldogs

KNIGHTS to beat Roosters

PANTHERS to beat Broncos.

knightsgal85

It's all cool astrogirl 8) There is still a little longer to go until we know what our destiny is ...

EDIT: Thanks terminator007 for the compliment. I appreciate it ;-)

Just some news from the Raiders camp in relation to injuries, which may swing your tip if you have already selected the Raiders to win:

Mark McLinden suffered concussion in yesterday's match, but will be a definite inclusion for the Raiders to play against the Storm.

Michael Monaghan did not play against the Roosters last round, as he has a torn quadricep. He will not train until later in the week & is unlikely to be available for the clash against the Storm.

The other casualty I'm aware of is that Brad Drew will probably not play against the Storm due to a hamstring strain. Brad undergoes an MRI on his leg tomorrow, but will most probably not play come Friday night.

Michael Monaghan & Brad Drew (as well as Jason Croker, which we already know has a fibula fracture, will only return if the Raiders were to make it to the Grand Final, or possibly a week earlier) are the only 2 Raiders players that are in extreme doubt for Friday night. Mark McLinden will play.

Doctor

Raiders to beat Storm - maybe 10 points.

Bulldogs over the Warriors - close game, maybe 4 points.

Knights to beat Roosters - very little in it - 1-2 points.

- The Sydney media, especially Ch 10, will be loving the fact they're playing the Knights. They can continue their 'Knights without Joey' stories, they can talk about how great the Roosters are, and in the same breath talk about how courageous Fittler was to play, and how his efforts won them the game - the catch is, I think we can beat the Roosters if we get it right on the night. Kennedy back on deck, and with the troops focused, the Knights have an outside chance of causing a big upset.

Panthers to beat Broncos - 16-18 point ending of Broncos' season.

astrogirl

Raiders vs Storm

My tip - Raiders to beat the Storm in spite of the fact that the Storm has beaten them twice this year. I'm told Canberrans love a winner and I'm sure the crowd support will help the team across the line. Sure Canberra have some injury concerns but IMO they are a true team in that they don't rely on any particular player/s in every game. Raiders by 8.

Bulldogs vs Warriors

I'm a bit biased. I'd like to see the Dogs win and will tip accordingly. They have posted some big scores against teams that aren't the top teams however the thing about the Dogs is that they know how to win. I think I heard a report this morning saying that Anasta will be back. Great news for the Dogs - I think this means their Sherwin-Anasta-Norton will be back in action. Bulldogs by 14.

Roosters vs Knights

I have to confess that I always tip the Knights. I have no illusions though. For the Knights to come away with a win, every player will need to give it their best shot. Every forward putting in the hard yards, every combination working perfectly. Stating the obvious, we need BK and the Gids-Tahu combination. If we can build on the confidence that the players must have after the last few weeks, this game can be won. I can't wait. I was there last year when we lost to the Roosters and I want to be there this year to see a win :D Knights by 4.

Panthers vs Broncos

Broncos with 7 losses in a row (I think). Wayne Bennett's observations say it all as far as I'm concerned - the best Panthers outfit playing a crappy Broncos team. I believe Tallis may have said something about the Broncos losing their aura of invincibility. Panthers by 12.

The_Ben

Brisbane V Panthers
I'm actually thinking Brisbane will beat Panthers this weekend. Call me insane, but they still have 10 Origin players in their team and are about due to fire on SOME cylinders.

Be wary of a wounded dog, and sure the Broncos have lost 7 straight, but come finals time, they have the experience. Panthers don't have the experience and the pressure will be on them to perform in front of their home crowd.

I just think the Panthers will falter this weekend. All the media wants a piece of them, no one cares about the broncos, so that's just added pressure for them which they don't need.

I'm tipping Broncos by 8

Canberra V Melbourne
Canberra have a few injuries and Melbourne have beaten them twice this year. I'm tipping the storm to win by 10

Knights V Roosters
The old adage, whoever wins the forward contest will win this game. Simpson, Kennedy, Parsons and Perry will need to be at their damaging best for us to win this game. Kidley's kicking will need to also improve dramatically.

Too close to call

Warriors V Dogs
Dogs will be barking at the tryline all day.

Dogs by 16[/b]

ReplicatedGod

antonius said:
My tips are........

Canberra Raiders vs Melbourne Storm Storm have the wood on them

Bulldogs vs Warriors dogs too strong at home
Sydney Roosters vs Newcastle Knights Well I hope so

Penrith Panthers vs Brisbane Broncos Broncs are Goooorne

i'm thinking the same as you about everything except the first one, raiders and storm. i can see raiders winning this one. but who knows, storm could show there strength and overcome raiders.

about the Knights one, 'well i hope so', i also hope so. It would be a dream come true to see the 2002 Grand Final victors get knocked out in the first week. As i said in the post for this weeks team. It would be heaven if we gave them a thrashing infront of all there fans.

GO THE KNIGHTS

Missa

i guess i can forgive you antonius for deleting your thread with my tips..thanx for letting me know..nice of u to do that...

my heart says...

raiders to beat storm
warriors to beat dogs
knights to beat roosters
penrith to beat broncos

my head says...

raiders to beat storm
dogs to beat warriors
roosters to beat knights...sniff sniff
broncos to beat penrith

MC DUI

Melbourne over Canberra (Too many injury plagued players)

Doggies over Warriors (Should be close)

Knights to smash the pretty boys :D :D :D :D

Penrith over Broncos (Broncos have got nothing)

Teza_85

I can't wait to this weekend it's going to be a ripper and we are gonna see some tip top footy. This weekend it is going to be played out like this:

Bulldogs vs NZ - This game is going to be a big phyical game with neither team taking a backwards step. With the sizes of these teams and the flair both teams can produce this is in my books going to be the game of the week with 4 vs 5 but I will take NZ to win. But by only a couple.
Roosters vs Knights - This game is going to be a hard one for me to pick. My heart is saying knights all the way while my brain can't overlook the cafe mocca pretty boys from the eastern beaches. But I am a knights boy all the way so i will take the knights with my fingurs crossed and praying.
Canberra vs Storm - who can overlook Canberra here they have been traviling well all year and look like sneaking a couple of weeks into the finals
Panthers vs Broncos - can the broncos get back on track after there slump there been in the last 2 months? Lets hope not the panthers have had a great season this year and have done some geart work that could see them in a grand final the only thing goin against this team is the lack off experiance in the finals over the last couple of years.

Rocky Maivia

Canberra Vs Storm - Hardest one to pick. But I'll go with the Storm. Their experienced play maker Brad Drew is out with a hamstring injury, and Mark McLindin isn’t 100%. Michael Monoghan is struggling with a knee injury, so their attack will most definitely be disrupted. For the Raiders to win, expect Clinton Shifcofske and their inspirational captain Simon Woolford to have big games. However, with a full strength Melbourne team, I can’t see the Raiders winning. Cameron Smith continues to impress me with his brilliant dummy half work and creativity, while Matt Orford has arguably been the best halfback all season. Storm by 10.

Bulldogs Vs Warriors – The Bulldogs are a class act. They didn’t have their best game last week, but who honestly believes that the Bulldogs won’t make the Grand Final? The Warriors will put up a big fight, but I can’t go past the Bulldogs. Their forwards are hard working, mobile, enthusiastic machines who have dominated the best packs this season. (Broncos, Knights and Roosters). They’ve already got Sherwin to control the show, and Braith Anasta could be back this week. Nigal Vagana, Matthew Utai, and young gun Ben Harris will run riot if Sherwin has a big game, which I’m expecting. As far as the Warriors go, they’re in good form and they have a huge pack of monsters, but their consistency against top teams can be questioned. Bulldogs by 12.

Roosters Vs Newcastle – Lets not forget what happened in last years final series. Johns was out, and Newcastle played the Roosters in the GF qualifier. Newcastle had no chance, but they were in the game until the last 15 minutes. It was a might effort by the Knights, but they couldn’t get the job done in the end. And why? Well, because of Johns. Kurt Gidley is doing a fine job at halfback, feeding the backs, and creating opportunities for the whole team. But, Johns is one of the best players in the world, he can finish games off in an instant. Kurt Gidley can’t. This is what will go against Newcastle this weekend. When they need something really special, there won’t be any Johns.No doubt that Newcastle will put up a good fight, but without Johns, I don’t think it’s possible. Lets not forget that Newcastle’s defence has been suspect at times. I’m expecting an even contest between the two packs, but Brad Fittler’s combination with Brett Finch will prove the difference.

Penrith Vs Broncos – Please don’t think I’m mad. I’m dead set serious. Lets face it, the Broncos have the most finals experience in their team, not to mention plenty of rep and internationals. Lately, they’ve been playing like a bunch of girls. Gorden Tallis has been the grazing cow, not the raging bull. And Dane Carlaw has been more like Jane Carlaw. And Brad Meyers? Please don’t get me started with this goof. Anyhow, Penrith are a young, and inexperienced team. Sure, they’ve got Gower, and the top try scorer in Wesser, but with so much pressure on them, and all the expectations from finishing first, they might choke this week, and the Broncos might surprise everyone. Brisbane have everything to play for, and don’t forget that we were leading the comp after 12 rounds. Broncos by 8.

So that’s my preview. And don’t listen to that Teza dork. ;-) I beat him up last week, again. So Teza, you stink! :p 8)

Teza_85

is that right rocky :lol:
an how did you do that again was that before or after you woke up and took ya hand off it. this guy is such a turn coat he's a new south welsh man yet he follows the bronco and QLD in the state of origan then last year for no reason he thought hi'll come back to the go side and follow NSW and bag out his own broncos for 6 weeks
hes a smart bloke :roll:

Rocky Maivia

It was a lose-lose situation! :) I’m a New South Welshman, but I supported QLD, solely because I supported the Broncos. So I’ve done the ‘smart’ thing, and I decided to be loyal. Besides, I’ve never really liked Queenslanders, except for the Broncos. :lol:

Teza, you’re a tool. :twisted: I’m going to smash you when I see you on the weekend. Bloody Knights fans, they think they’re so good. ;-)

Rocky Maivia

terminator007 said:
Thats because we are Rocky, haven't you realised that yet?
Were the best of the lot mate! :D

Pffft. The best? The Knights are at a pahtetic 7th! At least the mighty Broncos are...................oh wait a sec. :cry:

Ah what to do with us? :(