Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Preliminary Final (2007) Rabbitohs v Warriors

PRELIMINARY FINAL (2007)
*SUDDEN DEATH*
Winner progresses to grand final, loser eliminated

South Sydney Rabbitohs v New Zealand Warriors

Game Thread:
Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
Only original essays, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.
Rules: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.php
5v5 + 2 reserves each
No TBAs

FULL TIME: Wednesday 5 September 2007 at 9pm (Syd time)
REFEREE: Misanthrope
Venue: The Front Row Stadium
ground_tfr_1.jpg

**The Referee Blows Game On!**
whistle_2.gif

Pistol

rabbits.jpeg

Souths fans cheer as the bus pulls in with the Rabbitohs contigent

executiveCoachExtSmall.JPG

Pulling on the jersey for this historic clash is

sm_souths%202007%20away%20jersey%20-%20adult.jpg

Pistol (c)
Master Vippo
Mr Fahrenheit
Bumble
Marshall_Magic

rabs
roosterboy60

May the cardinal and myrtle be with us all

MiXmasterreece for the Warriors

Reefer Madness

00009212-image.jpg

Rugby League immortal or fallen hero? Role model or bad boy? Sporting god or just a man?

The reaction from some pockets of the Rugby League fraternity to the Andrew Johns episode has surprised me – in some cases resembling a witch hunt.

I certainly am not of the opinion that John's actions should be condoned, but who are we to be judge, juror and executioner when a much larger problem seems to be underlying this situation?

I have heard a number of words spoken in disgust by those who know very little about this situation. Whilst they have been quick to wade into the debate, many commentators seem to have had their sights squarely turned towards the downfall of Johns.

One New Zealand journalist castigated Johns as a rich sports star who is a role model for kids. I assume he would have pity if he was poor?

It would seem also that sarcasm has been the weapon of choice for many of these so called 'experts'. It appears that the 'pressure' that Johns believed he felt has become cannon fodder for the masses. Many they say, would love to have the pressure of receiving a six-figure salary for playing a game they love.

Anything coming out of the main stream media needs to be taken with a pinch of salt- these are people who have achieved nothing in sport. They are blissfully unaware of the stresses that come along with being a high profile sports star. Social issues, media and fan expectations as well as the pressure a player places on himself creates stress that cannot be handled easily. It seems easier to comment negatively on those who fall by the wayside.

On the flip side it has long been common knowledge that Johns was a fan of having a tipple, and many speculated that drug use was also a large feature of John's life. So perhaps the surprise did not come in the news that Johns had been caught 'holding' drugs, but perhaps the true revelation came in the details of the full extent of his lifestyle.

So now doubt has to be raised on why John's felt the need to come clean so soon. Was this a case of Channel Nine - once bitten twice shy with the Shane Warne affair - wanting the proverbial skeletons out of the closet sooner rather than later? Or was it John's desire to remove this burden from his shoulders? Only a select few may ever know the truth, but I would imagine many would be very skeptical of John's motives.

Skepticism aside, as the media goes on a personal crusade in vilifying Johns would our intentions not be better targeted towards waging a war on the REAL problem at hand ? Shallow reprisals or real solutions? It should be an easy decision to make.

Many tales are emerging from the murky waters of history that paint a different picture. This week former Australian coach Chris Anderson confirmed that Gordon Tallis lodged a complaint with authorities over drug taking within the team during 2000. Anderson claimed Tallis told the ARL specifically about Andrew Johns' drug taking during that time but nothing was done by officials. The chance was presented to change the culture, nothing was done, and now Johns is carrying the can.

So the next question should be whether or not there is a difference between a 'drug user' and a 'drug abuser'? Johns by all accounts would seem to fit into the latter category - which is a high risk group of players who are dependent on the relief provided by illegal substances. A player who drops an E tablet on a Saturday night during the off season isn't our main concern right now.

Alternatively, any player willing to risk a positive test result during the playing season is a 'drug abuser'. These players need the help of the NRL, and this is what their attention should be focussed on. Not catching the lighter, recreational users.

Andrew Johns hid his burden for near on 12 years - how many others in our Rugby League stocks are hiding the same dark secret? With 16 competing teams bringing in 25 players in their first grade squad, what are the chances that only 1% of those 400 players are heavy drug users? What about 2%? 5%? 10%? What's an acceptable percentage?

We need to recognise that our sports stars are just as fallible as us, and sometimes a little help goes a long way.

750 words.

Marshall Magic runs out onto the ground following his captain, takes a look up to the fans going beserk, looks down at his jersey, his pride, then gets ready to catch the kick off.

Someone has to pay
Only 36 days ago, Wests Tigers trump card Benji Marshall returned from injury, as did captain Brett Hodgson. In their return game, the Wests Tigers destroyed the North Queensland Cowboys, 54-10 in front of a big crowd at Leichhardt Oval. The Tigers looked set to make the semis.

Just when it seemed to be going well the team went north of the border to play the Gold Coast Titans minus captain Brett Hodgson. Not even one of the tries of the season by Taniela Tuiaki stoped the team being comprehensively beaten. While still in the 8, the side had botched a chance to advance up towards the top 4. While many fans slung insults at referee Steve Clarke after the game, the team was just not good enough.

The following week saw a crucial game in the context of the season, holding onto the bottom spot in the top 8, and against a resurgent Roosters outfit under the guidance of Brad Fittler. The Roosters had one tactic to employ, BOMB MARSHALL. It is unusual for a halfback to defend on the wing, and it could be considered stupid for one of small size to defend against a giant winger in Joel Monaghan. Marshall’s confidence was clearly drained from the constant kicks to him, and tries conceded, it affected his attack, he was horrendous. The Roosters went on to take the game in golden point 26-22 thanks to a piece of Braith Anasta brilliance set up the win for the Roosters. The Tigers clearly were not up to golden point, with many idiotic plays.

The team was then under lots of pressure to win heading down to Toyota Park. The Sharks had the same idea that the Roosters had, BOMB MARSHALL. Cronulla winger and giant Luke Covell managed to out jump Marshall twice, once for a try and once for an assist with centre Ben Pomeroy. The Tigers looked gone at halftime down 18-4, but some quick tries after the break saw the scores swing to 28-18 in the Tigers favour and they remained calm after 2 late Sharks try for Robbie Farah to slot the winning field goal. The Tigers were now ranked 7th and had to win 1 from 2 to make the semis.

After a huge build up all week, the Tigers had their third and final game at Leichhardt Oval for 2007. The game was against long time foes South Sydney, with a finals spot ready for the winner, and a lot of hard work ahead for the loser. Souths drew first blood, but it was what was happening in the in goal area while Joe Williams lined up the conversion that was the real blow. A pain killing injection had gone wrong, and Dally M Medal favourite Robbie Farah had no feeling in his whole leg and his afternoon was over. Souths continued the trend and continued to BOMB MARSHALL. After a downright embarrassing performance, Souths ran away with the game easily 37-12.

The final chance to secure a top 8 spot came up, the final roll of the dice. The opponent, the troubled Newcastle Knights, ranked last in a must win game. After a terrible first half performance, the Tigers by some form of miracle led 12-6 at the break. The second half was not much better and with 10 to go, the Tigers somehow held a 24-12 lead. Then the trouble really began, 2 late converted tries had the scores locked up at 24 all, before a moronic penalty saw Kurt Gidley slot a penalty goal and win the game.

After this terrible end to the season, it is clear something was wrong with the Tigers. They just kept on dropping games they should have been winning and in turn cost themselves a spot in the semis. For a majority of these games they had their full playing roster available, and could only manage 2 wins in 6 games. The defence was poor and the motivation and will to win was non-existent. Somebody has to bite the bullet and with the same tactical mistakes made over and over, surely Tim Sheens is liable to some extent. Also, the defence was pathetic all season, placing some liability is on the shoulders of defensive coach Royce Simmons. There is something wrong with the club, after the premiership has seen 2 mediocre years. Time to bite the bullet, Tim and Royce, 2008 will be your last chance.

744 words between stars

rayroxon

A nervous Rayroxon shakes it out before hitting the ball up. Now that's what I'm talking about!

Found.

“Ged em back the 10 ref!” (Manly fan)

“ey’re offside again ya goooose!”

“Mate they’re already back 12 metres, how big a 10 do you want?” (Yours truly)

“Errr…go back to EN ZED you sheep shagging twinkieh!”

“Go drink some more and see if you can kill off that last brain cell!”

Ahh Brookvale Oval. It’s the only place in the world where a frontal lobotomy is an entry requirement. It was 2002 and the Warriors were sitting atop a revised ladder after the Dogs salary cap scandal. If I knew I’d feel the bite of the cap in 2006 I may not have laughed but that’s another story. They were at Brookvale Oval for what should have been a very winnable game but were struggling against a rejuvenated Manly side on the cusp of breaking through to the 8.

“Youse Warriors are going to cop it!”

“You’re awfully cheery for a guy who got flogged by 56 points earlier in the season aren’t you?”

“Well you’re a…”

“Sheep shagger. Yeah I know, you told me before. Tell me is it hard?”

“What’s hard?”

“Talking, breathing and watching the game all at the same time? You seem to be really struggling.”

This crap always seems to happen when I go to games. I can’t help myself. I don’t hate opposition fans in general, just the stupid ones. It just happens that Manly’s full of them and I’m having another running battle with the hill. I’m supported though by appreciative laughter from fellow Warriors fans while the glares of Eagles fans bore into me like a multi fingered Hoppa.

It’s a delicate situation that could erupt in crowd violence directed at myself. I find salvation from a Warriors fan roughly my age with his family. He breaks the tension by turning and yelling up the hill at me “You sir are a beautiful man”

“Ha, told you ‘e was a nice person”

“Who exactly did you tell this to? You’re watching a game in a deck chair by yourself, at least I picked someone up today.”

I nodded back and said thanks to the source of the compliment and sat back down. It started raining soon after and so I chose to find cover under the northern stand. Yells of derision were hurled at me as I left.

“Run when you’re team needs you, you dickhead.”

I turned for support from my fellow fans but they had deserted me. Off I trudged to cover to watch the rest of the game under shelter and alone. I didn’t even have a deckchair to sit on. Curses.

The Warriors ended up losing that game but got to the Grand Final that year. Teams I support never get to grand finals and so to celebrate I decided to head down to Sydney International Airport to meet them.

I got there two and a half hours early and staked a position. I soon felt a tap on the shoulder. It was my fellow Warriors fan from the Manly game. We exchanged pleasantries and chatted like we’d known each other for years; we got along like Scott Prince and Benji Marshall in a hot tub. The fact we were both tragic enough to go to the Airport to meet our Grand final heroes speaks volumes of our similarities. The next few hours were a blur, we met the team, got photos and autographs and it was time to say goodbye. Like nervous schoolboys after a first date we exchanged numbers. Like those trapped in a long distance romance we then swapped messages. We supported each other through the heart breaking Grand Final Loss; we rejoiced when we discovered we’d both bought away jerseys and we excitedly anticipated the start to a new footy season. Together.

We recommenced our friendship at Brookvale Oval in 2003. Amidst the backdrop of a Warriors victory we made more small talk. It turned out he needed a job and I was looking to hire. The Warriors are also a recruitment agency. Not only did we have the again finals bound Warriors to stoke the fire of friendship, we now worked together. It was true bliss.

Fast forward four years and this fan, turned friend, turned colleague is now my groomsman. A friendship founded on nothing more than the love of a club and a code has stood the test of 04, –4 and Warriors Finals: Mk IV. Who would've thought it? League, what a game.

746 words between the stars incl title last time I checked. Go Team!

Pistol

Master Vippo succumbs to a stomach infection

On to replace him is roosterboy60

Mr. Fahrenheit

Mr. F runs out onto the field, that steely look in his eye indicating tonight is just a stepping stone to GF glory.

Rugby League: The True Test of Character

“It’s just a game.” “What happens on the field stays on the field.” These are two of the more familiar aphorisms that are attached to sport, however one may argue that life does indeed imitate art, or in this case Rugby League. A first grade fixture reveals the best and worst of those involved, from the diehard fanatic to the whistle blower, but my focus is to reflect upon the characters of those who undergo the most arduous task of all, the players.

“Ignorance is spoken, confidence is broken, sustenance is stolen, arrogance is potent” – these words from Alice in Chains describe the consequences of pushing one’s body and mind past its threshold of pain, something that occurs in the duration of every Rugby League game. It's in these moments that a player’s character is stripped naked to be judged and evaluated by everyone with a ticket to the match or access to a television. When faced with adversity, humans tend to revert to their primal instincts. A cross-section of any Rugby League team has the potential to unveil an assorted box; in this article I shall explore the truffles and nougats of the Parramatta Eels.

On the sidelines since round 17, Luke Burt embodies the archetype of the humble larrikin. Unassuming, methodical and good humoured. These are the traits that have resulted in his recognition as Parramatta’s premier fullback, and one of the best in the competition in 2007. His laidback nature has also surfaced in his goal-kicking this season, where his rise to prominence challenged the likes of Hazem El Masri.

Lining up anywhere in the backline, the exuberant Mormon devotee Krisnan Inu has stimulated the imagination of Rugby League fans across the globe. His natural flair and apathetic attitude towards ball control is countered towards an ingrained discipline and sense of respect. Inu’s character was put to the ultimate test when he played in an international after only one first grade cap, Inu’s calm and grounded personality resonated in the Test arena resulting in a memorable debut.

Ahh, the Mint within this box of chocolates is the much maligned five-eighth. Brett Finch. Two words that used to emerge constantly within the nightmares of Sydney Roosters fans, however Brian Canavan came to their rescue and offloaded this bloke to Parramatta, who snapped at the opportunity. Voted in a Rugby League Week player poll as the biggest sook of 2006 and 2007, Finch’s idiosyncratic characteristics escaped ambiguity in the Round 6 clash against the Bulldogs. Where given the choice between tackling an opponent and diving for a penalty, Finch chose the latter. Every assorted box needs a Mint and every team needs the likes of Finch, as a fan I just hope Parramatta’s next Brett Finch can do more than just ‘sook.’

If the Energiser battery and the Duracell bunny had a lovechild, he would be the country lad with a stubborn plumber’s crack from Robertson, Nathan Hindmarsh. His ‘never say die’ attitude and endurance has seen him transform from a rampaging backrower, to one that has tackle counts that reach the stratosphere. From rounds 23-25, this ironman made a total of 184 tackles made and missed only 10, a 94.8% completion rate. Brian Smith described him as a “machine”, but to the fans he’s just the loyal bloke who’s full of heart, the kind of person that you would want on your side – an indication of this being the fact that he has won the Provan Summons medal for three consecutive years.
With this talk of bunnies and batteries, I’m forgetting the battering ram. That’s right, Parramatta’s very own Fuifui Moimoi (he’s so good you have to say it twice.) Upon arrival to first grade he instantly became the cult figure that fans have yearned for since the departure of Mark ‘Tooooooookey.’ However, despite his fame, Fui remains an intrinsic character, who continues to improve his game, recently eradicating his lackadaisical defence.

I could continue to have a yarn about Tim Smith and Mark ‘Piggy’ Riddell, but I have met my nemesis; “words, words, words”, or rather the limit to which one should adhere to. English dramatist Aaron Hill writes; “There is no merit where there is no trial; and, till experience stamps the mark of strength, cowards may pass for heroes, faith for falsehood.” A game of professional Rugby League is one of the tougher ‘trials’ anyone could face, and it remains the true test of character.

749 words including title.

References

roosterboy60

Roosterboy60 on the field for Souths...

What a Year For The Roosters!

It was supposed to be a memorable season for the Sydney Roosters, and it has been. For the most part it was not so memorable but the last two months of the season made up somewhat for a poor start to the season…and middle part as well!

It really all started at the end of the 2006 season when the Roosters sacked coach Ricky Stuart for a poor season when they finished second last. All sorts of rumours were going around that Wayne Bennett would join them and for a while that looked likely, but then he reportedly pulled out of it and the Roosters signed former Australian Coach Chris Anderson.

So the season started with some hope for Roosters fans after they beat the Tigers and Eels in the trial matches and Anderson was trying a new one-marker tactic, which would fail very quickly. In the first Round they met a new look Souths side and were never really in the match. That match showed how things were going to be for the first part of 2007.

In Round 2 they got they’re first smashing of the year against the Cowboys at Dairy Farmers Stadium, again a sign of things to come. They then went down to the Broncos and Manly and the season was just going from bad to worse.

But things started to turn around, albeit very slowly against the Raiders where they were putting up a good comeback until a stupid mistake stopped the role they were on. They finally got win 1000 on ANZAC Day against the Dragons this year, a win that they had been chasing for a very long time. They didn’t really look like being beaten for most of the game and they needed that win to really have any chance to make the eight well so everyone thought.

For the following six weeks they went win and then loss with wins over Titans, Sharks and Cowboys and losses against the Eels, Storm and the Knights. The game that stands out of those is the Golden Point game against the Sharks when Anthony Minichiello kicked the winning field goal against former coach Ricky Stuart.

The Roosters then got back to back wins for the first time since 2005 when Mitchell Pearce scored a match winning try with seconds remaining which was one of the highlights of the Roosters year. Little did people know that would be the last game Chris Anderson would win as Roosters coach.

They then went down to the Eels by twenty points, which capped off a week of drama for the Roosters when Craig Wing signed with Souths and had that press conference which turned a lot of Roosters fans against him, at least for the short term.

They then went down to the Bulldogs and the week after they played the worst game of Rugby League I have ever seen them play when they got smashed by Manly 56-0 which would end up being Chris Anderson’s last game as Roosters coach and a season turning moment when they employed club legend Brad Fittler as caretaker coach for the remainder of the season.

The first game with him in charge they won against the Sharks and really never looked like losing, they then went onto defeat the Knights in the final minutes at Energy Australia stadium the week after.

But then the biggest three games of the year happened, first off they beat premiership favourites the Melbourne Storm in probably the Roosters best performance of the year and all of a sudden they were a chance of making the top eight. They then played in what could be described as the best game of the year against the Warriors where they were down 30-18 with twelve minutes remaining and came within about thirty seconds of winning the match but it finished as a draw after Golden Point.

A week later they got another game in Golden Point against the Tigers, this time they won thanks to a Joel Monaghan try after Braith Anasta set it up for him and most people were talking top eight for the Roosters. Sadly for Roosters fans they then went down to the Titans and Penrith and then capping off an interesting season with a win against Souths last weekend.

The signs are good, Braith Anasta has stepped up to a new level and Brad Fittler is head coach now for two years. Bring On 2008!!

749 Words (Including Title)

byrne_rovelli_fan82

byrne_rovelli_fan82- Warriors

~~~~~~~~

Just a game

‘WHAT?’ cried Warriors supporters, as the TV screen showed in bright red bold letters: ‘NO TRY’ and small capitals, ‘PENALTY’. Just as it seemed the video referee decision-making and obstruction interpretations finally sorted, this shocker of a call reignited the argument. As the fans scream in despair and the players grunt in frustration, it seems easy to become lost in the world of rugby league. Just look around the crowds the next time you attend a live game and watch the ecstasy and agony as each person goes through the game emotions.
‘Is he blind?’
‘Wake up ref! Where was the b****y obstruction?
‘Oi, ref! Even my grandmother can do a better job then you!’

Depending on the result win, lose or draw these fans can go for days even weeks talking of that one game. Sometimes it occupies their heads 24/7 and the rest of the real world sinks into obliviation. They may even lie dormant during the week waiting for the next match, and suddenly their body has life. So what happens now? The last month of rugby league is just around the corner then it’s a long six-month wait before the new season gets under way.

When you see groups of young men gathered and none of them, even flinch an eye at a skimpy dressed clad of females then it is obvious they have their mind firmly focused on one thing. Footy is their life they can eat and breath the game, they’d even talk footy language to their non-footy friends. During last year’s off-season members of a forum complained about the long wait until the ‘real new year’ got under way.

This obsession has to stop. Its fine, if seven months of the year they swarm their lives full of the newspaper’s sport section, search the Internet all day and all night for any new news on their team, but there comes a time when real life has to exist, work and make a living. Already there’s one week in a day when these obsessive men can let their hair down and go mental. After that, snap back to reality.

Rugby league is like any other sport in the world, you love it and talk about it with pride but don’t take it over the edge, don’t follow in the same footsteps as the stalkers of Hollywood’s famous actors and actresses. A fine line must be drawn to give space, to make you and all fans remember that too much of an obsession is not healthy. However, that is a lot easier to say then do. While the outside world frowns upon this ‘obsession’ one wryly-eyed supporter said,
‘Mate, I wouldn’t be here if league never happened’

So, there it was, the reason league fans are in our society. Every minute of every game lingers in their blood. A memorable grand final? Or a finals playoff game that sticks out in the memory bank? Many Warriors fans recall the 2002 Grand Final against the Sydney Roosters as the ultimate match, but when it ended with a loss, they broke down. Piece by piece their once hard, cold nature started to crumble. These fans go on the same rollercoaster as the players that day did. In the eyes of these fans, it was them making the plays with each passing minute and failure was too much to bare. They take this simple game so seriously as if it is the very breath of life. Unfortunately when they have spent every last penny of their savings on yet some more match tickets, they drop back into isolation and drink like there is no tomorrow.

Nonetheless, there is light at the end of the tunnel. These fans are the ones that make rugby league what it is today, and without them stadiums like old style, Leichhardt would sit empty. For the NRL, they’d benefit a huge deal from obsessive compolsive footy heads rather then bittersweet bandwagoners.

So if you have footy-mad males in your household never fear. They will skip school and work to play touch footy with their mates at the local park. They will be ‘hammered’ physically and mentally and lose the capability to speak. One thing is for sure, they have a reason to live.

Just a game? No, it is a way of life.

~~~~~

Words: 720 excluding title

Robster

The day Rugby League arrived in New Zealand.

Teams:
Sharks: David Peachy, Matthew Rieck, Chris Mckenna, Paul Franze, Paul Mellor, Greg Bird, Brett Kimmorley, Jason Stevens, Dean Treister, Danny Nutley, Paul Gallen, Phil Bailey, Nick Graham.
Interchange: Matt Bickerstaff, Dean Bosnich, Karl Lovell, Andrew Pierce.

Warriors: Ivan Cleary, Justin Murphy, John Carlaw, Clinton Toopi, Francis Meli, Motu Tony, Stacey Jones, Jerry SeuSeu, Pj Marsh, Mark Tookey, Ali Lauititi , Awen Guttenbeil, Kevin Campion.
Interchange: Lance Hohaia, Warangi Koopu, Logan Swann, Richard Villasanti.

It was the 02 preliminary final match between the New Zealand Warriors and the Cronulla Sharks. Only two seasons ago the Auckland Warriors drowned amidst a sea of incompetence and a huge loss of revenue almost resulting in the New Zealand based clubs expulsion from the competition. It would’ve been miracle enough for the newly branded Warriors to make the top 8 in 2001 let alone the miracle that eventuated a year later. The 2002 Warriors were one win away from making a Grand Final.

Amidst pre-match hype, Warriors chief Mick Watson purchased ten thousand tickets for Kiwis with a New Zealand passport. The ploy was a success with approximately 60% of Telstra Stadium fanatically Kiwi, and proudly supporting the New Zealand based club.

Kick Off and Tim Mander blows time on. The crowd erupts in the simple but lethal chant of “WARRIORS, WARRIORS, WARRIORS” The first try came in the 20th minute when Sharks winger Paul Mellor has a pass remarkably intercepted by Warriors five eighth Motu Tony. A million cheers sounded simultaneously across New Zealand living rooms. Ivan Cleary converts what proves to be the only try in the first half. The Warriors are now only a half away from a Grand Final berth.

Whilst it was only a 6-0 lead the blend of Australian refugees, Polynesian globe trotters and a sprinkling of Maori Magic would all hang onto the hope of producing the Warriors most significant win. Most importantly they were intent on making a nation proud.

The Sharks on the other hand had as much to play for as the Warriors. After all, the Sharks hadn’t won the competition in almost 40 attempts, and based on the first half they looked like a team who knew it by playing fidgety and wary football. The Warriors on the other side of the coin drew on Kiwi Mana and looked like a team who would do whatever it takes to make the Grand Final.

However, emotions changed quickly. Within 5 minutes of the start of the second half, Sharks Winger Matthew Rieck crosses the line after fielding a Brett Kimmorley cross kick to mount a Cronulla fight back. Fortunately for the Warriors, Kimmorley missed the conversion. The chat swings and sounds “Sharkies, Sharkies, Sharkies” drowning out the Warriors call.

It was the 56 minute when Warriors center Clinton Toopi makes an outrageous 50 meter run to out pace David Peachey, and score a remarkable solo try. Take the Warriors to a 10-4 lead. League fans could sense a New Zealand team in the League masterpiece that is the “NRL GRAND FINAL”. Despite Ivan Cleary’s missed conversion from the sideline, it was looking good. With 24 minutes on the clock the camera showed the reactions from kiwi supporters in the crowd. The Warriors looked dead certs to produce their so called “Slice of Heaven”.

Ten minutes later it got grim. A lot of nails were chewed in New Zealand as Brett Kimmorley scored and converted to level the match.

A nervous nine minutes later saw a nation roar, cheer and possibly stomp so loud they did structural damage to their own houses. The 75th minute saw a classic Stacey Jones grubber kick under the posts. Unsung Warrior hero John Carlaw swooping and scoring the most important try in club history to send New Zealand’s club to the Grand Final.

I for one have never felt so much love for anything in my life. It wasn’t just love for someone, it was love for a team. It was as though the Warriors have been a wayward partner since they started in the Winfield Cup; I’d endured so many years of them letting me down only to do something remarkable and repay that love back in all the right ways. I’m sure thousands of kiwis like me felt that way after that match. It defiantly overshadowed Union for a while and brought a new spark to Rugby League in New Zealand. League had arrived.
744 words

Pistol

Pistol lunges at the line for Souths late in the game

A Momentary Lapse Of Reason

(Yes, it is the title of a Pink Floyd album but we’ll leave that alone for now.)
We’ve all had them. The occasional “brain fart”, a “faux paux”, a “flipping fulmination” or even a “ropable reverberation” has entered into our lives at some stages. Speaking from a personal point of view, I can honestly say I have experienced them all at least a dozen times. Once, whilst playing basketball, I somehow managed to combine it with Rugby League and tackled the point guard. Needless to say I received a foul. In fact, I received a record four fouls in just two minutes on the court. I can tell you now, that was the last of my endeavours into basketball.

On the footy paddock, there have been numerous lapses where the players have committed some irretrievably stupid acts. Some would make the highlight reel on “Funniest Home Videos”; then again some would make the news for all the wrong reasons, forever being shroud in infamy.

Cast your mind back to the late 80’s and early 90’s. A Souths player by the name of Wayne Chisolm took it upon himself to tackle the referee. Whether or not it was an accident (between you and me, I think it was a damn fine tackle), his brain had put out the “gone fishing” sign and he didn’t get the memo.

More recently we experienced a more disturbing brain snap involving Danny Williams, the former Storm interchange player. It was an evening in July 2004 when he displayed how callous he could be. He viciously king hit Mark O’Neill in the back of the head. As a result, it sent O’Neill crashing to the earth with a thud. The aftermath was he was left convulsing on the ground, totally unaware of what had just transpired.

Williams defended his actions at the judiciary hearing, citing he was suffering from “post traumatic stress”. That dog however wasn’t barking as the panel handed down a sentence of 18 weeks, an NRL record and the longest since Steve Linnane copped 20 weeks for eye gouging.

Steering back towards the comical, who could forget Russell Richardson, the former Cronulla centre? Richardson was making a name for himself in the late 90’s with the Sharks, largely due to his try scoring ability. What I remember him most for was that howler he committed when attempting to score a try. Celebrating what he thought was a done deal; he dived to put the ball down, only for it to come flying out like a bird escaping from a cage. The look on his face could only be described as forlorn. The look on MY face was quite the opposite. It was watching Nigel Vagana’s “attempt” at scoring against the Tigers two weeks ago that made me remember this golden moment.

That brings me to the Rabbitohs game against the Roosters on Saturday. This game threatened to degenerate into a ridiculous farce. Souths were getting soundly beaten when David Fa’alogo lashed out at Braith Anasta, claiming he was being grappled. Whilst I was pretty impressed with the jab he landed square on the chops of Anasta (I’ll admit I am not a Braith Anasta fan), it was an insane thing to do. Just when I thought insanity and brain snaps stopped feasting on this game, Ben Cummins sent Fa’alogo to the sin bin for ten minutes. One thing I learnt from my first lesson when I became a referee was that the sin bin should never be used for foul play. Cummins should have used one finger instead of ten. Then just to add the cherry to the top of this cake, Cummins awarded the penalty to Souths! Maybe he was trying to be the next Ardal O’Hanlon because that effort was nothing short of a stand up comedy act.

Probably the biggest clanger is from the 1999 Grand Final when Jamie Ainscough thought he was a professional wrestler and put a clothesline on Craig Smith as he was about to put the ball down to score. As a result Smith was in Disneyland and Matt Geyer was putting a conversion over from in front thanks to the penalty try.

Brain snaps are a part of the game. Whether good or bad, they are an added ingredient in the concoction that is Rugby League.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

726 words inc title

Bumble

*Bumble snipes from dummy half late in the game, at the tired forwards...has he got it down? We're going upstairs!! And Video Referee Mander says....*

5.jpg

Luke Stuart: The Most Underrated Player In The World

----

The slightest changes can ruin everything, or bring glory from nothing. Some changes are discreet, but there are other changes in which you KNOW the consequences. Case in point: Souths picking a certain shiny-headed winger against our biggest rivals. The red and green faithful knew he’d be a liability, and a 39 point turnaround on our previous weeks efforts transpired.

We all know that it’s virtually impossible for a team to remain perfect week in, week out. Things change; Players aren’t as fired up, maligned figures aren’t as under pressure…there’s injuries, suspensions, brain explosions…poor refereeing, a change of tactics…the list goes on. However, there’s one thing that Souths fans have been able to depend on since Round 1, 2002: the consistent brilliance of one man – Luke Stuart. Second Rower, Prop, Legend.

“Baz”, as he is affectionately known by Bunnies fans, will never win a Dally M. He will never play for Australia, and though he might grab a City Origin gig next year, he’ll never be on a $300000 a year contract. But, would I trade him for another other backrower in the comp? Not likely. In 2007, he has so far made less than half an error per game. He has given away less than 10 penalties, despite playing all 24 games for us. You would expect that in a team that has often displayed poor discipline and committed bone-headed penalties (Hi Jaiman Lowe and David Fa’alogo!), that at some point he would have had a lapse in concentration, but this has simply not been the case.

When you all watch us play the Silvertails on Saturday, take note of him every time he gets the ball. He makes 8-10 metres per hit, no more, no less. We have our devastating wrecking ball in Roy Asotasi, we have our ball playing forwards like Dean Widders, Johnny Sutton and Michael Greenfield, but rest assured – if you were to look over any footage from Souths games circa 2002 to 2006, you would see Souths heavily behind on the scoreboard, but one man still getting stuck in, never missing a tackle and never taking a backward step.

It was a huge relief for fans of the Rabbitohs to make the semi finals. We endured the floggings, the torment of wooden spoons and the 4000 strong crowds in our darkest days as we got lapped, week after week. Luke Stuart stuck with the club through all of that, through offers from England and other NRL clubs…he deserves September glory as much as anyone and now finally, he will get to play finals footy for the first time since getting a taste way back in 2001 for the Sharks. (He also scored a 50m try in a semi-final that year)

It’s understandable that some of you wouldn’t have a clue what I was on about. This is a player who has never been suspended, never been nominated for anything and doesn’t play for Newcastle or Manly, so you won’t hear about him on the Footy Show. However, in a poll that I saw on the Hutch a few weeks ago discussing whether or not to re-sign him, the official tally when his re-signing was announced was 123 to Zero. That’s how highly he is valued by fans of this club – A huge Rabbitohs forum with over 2500 members could not find a single voice that did not want him in the club - that’s how highly we value him over Redfern way.

I can’t imagine that any other team would desire to have Luke Stuart in their starting line-up, and if they were musing over dream signings he certainly wouldn’t be a priority. But contrarily, I can’t imagine that any Souths fans would seek to replace Baz if they thought changes had to be made, nor do I think that if we were speaking of hopeful signings, that we would look to steal other toilers that are adored by their clubs – Luke Williamson, Daniel Wagon, Craig Stapleton and many others have their fans that speak of them with such high praise, as I do for my unsung hero.

But when I stare at these names I’ve just listed, I give an apathetic shrug and a scoff, because through my fiercely red and green eyes, none of these men can even hold a candle to Luke Stuart.

Let’s hope he can grab a try on Saturday.
----

742 words between the lines.

Jesbass

Jesbass stumbles onto the field, drunk. Again.

Field Of Dreams (749 words)

”You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you will join us, and the world will live as one.” ~ John Lennon​

With the 25th and final round of the National Rugby League regular season having come to an end, and the top eight teams decided, the hopes and dreams of those who missed out must now shift to a new season as they ponder what might have been.

At the bottom of the heap, wooden spooners the Penrith Panthers are left to wonder if they can start 2008 better than they finished 2007, after sending captain and long term clubman Craig Gower away with the extremely undesirable piece of timber cutlery.

One spot above them, the Newcastle Knights must be dwelling on what might have been, had their captain and star player Andrew Johns not received a career ending injury after what initially appeared to be a rather innocuous collision at training in April. But they will surely have taken pride in denying the Wests Tigers their first playoff spot since their grand final winning efforts two seasons ago, while supporters of the 2005 Premiers will be wondering just how it all went so horribly wrong when a place in the finals had seemed almost guaranteed.

And the long suffering fans of the Cronulla Sharks may be forced to find solace in the unintended – and, indubitably, the unwanted – familiarity that yet another season without a Premiership might bring.

There is freedom within, there is freedom without
Try to catch the deluge in a paper cup​

But for eight teams, the dream is still alive and very much kicking, in every sense of the cliché.

And for some of them, revenge will be at the forefront of their minds.

Minor Premiers the Melbourne Storm will face off with the Brisbane Broncos in the first round of finals matches, undoubtedly longing to pay them back for the 2006 Grand Final.

The Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs will be looking to do the same to the North Queensland Cowboys for their 38-32 loss in the final round of the 2007 regular season, just one weekend prior.

The Warriors face the Eels for the first time in a finals match since 2001, when the rampant Parramatta side were 56-12 victors.

And the South Sydney Rabbitohs will be hoping to make the Manly Sea Eagles pay for each of the eighteen years the side has failed to make the finals series, and for 2000 and 2001 in particular, when the club was removed from the National Rugby League altogether.

There's a battle ahead, many battles are lost
But you'll never see the end of the road
While you're traveling with me​

But no matter how much incentive and emotion takes to the field, there are no guarantees of victory. In a season where the team in sixth position and the team in twelfth position finished the regular season only four competition points apart, and with the finals series essentially wiping the form slate clean as the intensity levels lift, the race for 2007 National Rugby League Premiership is well and truly open.

Any team can win it on the day, and, if former Kiwi Mark Bourneville is to be believed, finals matches are usually won well before kickoff.

"You can tell by looking into the eyes of the players," says the former dual international, who also represented France in the early-to-mid 1990s. "It all comes down to how each team prepares."

And Bourneville should know what he is talking about, having played in thirteen grand finals in his professional career, and winning eleven of them.

Hey now, hey now, don't dream it's over
Hey now, hey now, when the world comes in​

So as the players and fans alike get ready for another exciting round of September football, they are bound to dream of what may come. For some, such as the Rabbitohs, their expectations have already been exceeded. But for others, like the Storm, there is still plenty of work to do before they will be satisfied.

Over the next four weeks, the true contenders will rise to the top as the rest fall away, one by one.

When John Lennon famously wrote that he was a dreamer in his 1971 hit Imagine, who are we to say he wasn't thinking about winning a rugby league grand final?

They come, they come to build a wall between us
We know they won't win...​

Sources:
Imagine by John Lennon
Don't Dream It's Over by Crowded House
www.wikipedia.org

Bumble

Damn Jesbass I wanted the last post...

good luck Warriors and c'mon Souths!!!

Jesbass

Bumble said:
Damn Jesbass I wanted the last post...

good luck Warriors and c'mon Souths!!!

Mate, if you think I posted it in the nick of time, check out my edit time! :lol:

I need to lie down!

Jesbass

Okay, with my pulse beginning to slow, let me say...

Well done to the Warriors for getting those last articles in while choreographing it all via MSN and TXT! Lol. :oops: :D

Good luck, Bunnies! :)

And...err...good luck, ref? *tries winking at Misanthrope in a vain attempt to win his favour* :sarcasm: :crazy: