Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Priddis wants to come to Cronulla

Inferno

sydneysharkbrisbane68 said:
Priddis is a class act he is 29 years, so would have 2 years left, so it would probably be best to not sign him, but we should keep a good look out panther way, he is first wanting out with Elliott coming in, Elliott has already got Paul, he signs old players eg Jason Smith and Adamson that time, off contract at Panthers is Frank Pritchard now there is a player we can do with

No chance, we already have more backrowers than we know what to do with.

For those playing at home here are the backrowers we currently have on the books with a decent amount first grade experience.

Thompson
Williams
Gallen
Bailey
Hilder
Loo Loo
Mapp
Ciraldo
Bird

Thats 9 to fill a maximum of 5 First grade postions.

Its easily the most depth we have in any position in the club

backs are what we need, and they are the ones we should be focusing on.

Inferno said:
so why not use it to buy some decent backs:roll:

With Vagana gone that leaves Bailey as our most experienced centre:shock:

Is he definately going or is this speculation?

Well it doesn't work that the money paid on one player HAS to go to replacing that player.

That's not the only money available. We are still under for 2006 by at least $100k.

There are players coming off contract left right and centre, we won't keep them all.

If anyone thinks either Kingston or Latu are as good as Priddis and can bring as much to a team as he can they need their heads examined.

fizman

The defining question is Which season do we have a squad to challenge for the Premiership?? If its a case of we are aiming to win the comp in 2007, Priddis is the man. If we are aiming to win the comp in 2009, Kingston is our man.

With the way we sign and release players, no one really has a clue in my opinion.

Inferno

Frenzy. said:
Well it doesn't work that the money paid on one player HAS to go to replacing that player.

True but the fact remains backs are where we are most short right now.

If anyone thinks either Kingston or Latu are as good as Priddis and can bring as much to a team as he can they need their heads examined.

Thats true, but long term I see Kinga and Latu being greater gains than having Priddis for 1 or 2 years.

fizman said:
The defining question is Which season do we have a squad to challenge for the Premiership?? If its a case of we are aiming to win the comp in 2007, Priddis is the man. If we are aiming to win the comp in 2009, Kingston is our man.

With the way we sign and release players, no one really has a clue in my opinion.

Exactly. It's time to forget the quick fix and build a backline around our good young forwards.

Inferno said:
True but the fact remains backs are where we are most short right now.

Thats true, but long term I see Kinga and Latu being greater gains than having Priddis for 1 or 2 years.

Yes it does Inf but there will be plenty of money to buy backs.

And fiz I agree with that sentiment but whether it be 2007 or 2009 or the one in between Priddis has at least 3 years left in him IMO.

You can't put enough value on winners. Edge, Lazurus, Whatuira and Priddis are some that come to mind. Good luck charms.

White Poiner

Macca said:
Replace Vagana with a hooker? Bizarre.

Whilst Priddis is a very good player, we lack outside backs not hookers. Wasting even half of Vaganas 350k on more forwards would be a step in the wrong direction.

Nope.. that is a just a suggestion on how much money we will have at the end of the year..

Its not like Vagana is the only cronulla player off contract...Priddis is too good to pass up..

And both hookers we have can play other positions..

We dont need a world class centre anyway.. We just need one who dosent f**k up..

Inferno

Even though he was named at half, I can still see Preston and Wesser playing a lot of first receiver.

Padds

SharkWings said:
I think i read that Penrith has signed Robbie Pauls or someone like that for next year - he is a 5/8 or Hooker I guess. Or maybe he does not like Elliot?

Its Henry Paul

dazza

some food for thought, toopi & webb are off contract at the warriors this year, how`d you like to take toopi off our hands. we`ll keep webby though, hopefully.

we have a few younger guys coming thru who can take clints place in the team. although i hear penrith are chasing him.

cheers dazza

G'day Dazza, how are ya mate? Haven't heard from you in a while, hope everything is going well over there mate.

Toopi was in scintillating form a couple of seasons ago, what's happened to him?

. . . and Poiner, mate, I know what you mean. We will have plenty of cash to spend come July 1 this year. My query is this, why spend it on a hooker when we have a couple of good young hookers? Getting Priddis means one of them will go back to PL and become disgruntled after making so much progress in first grade this year. It's not even a quick fix really, nothing is broken, leave it alone. Spend the money on something that is broken, i.e. wing, fullback, centre . . . etc.

eMPee

exactly macca. of all the top player signings we have done in recent years, vags, albert, noddy ect, haven't played their best footy week in week out. where our young players we have let go have stepped up and played some great footy since. i dont think signing priddis will solve anything. we need solid backs.

dazza

hey`a macca. things are goin good over here. wishin i was at last weeks game tho, what a win. bet the cssc were fired up & a big night had by all, :alcho: with a few under the weather people the next day? :sleeper:

toops, imo, was a victim of reading his own press. although he was, at the time, regarded as 1 of the best centres in the game, he has since failed to re-capture that form consistently.

he may need a change of scenery to get that form back, & if he does go, i`d like to see him at the sharks, even though he may come back to haunt us in the future.

cheers dazza

dazza said:
hey`a macca. things are goin good over here. wishin i was at last weeks game tho, what a win. bet the cssc were fired up & a big night had by all, :alcho: with a few under the weather people the next day? :sleeper:
Mate it was a huge night, the beer was flowing.

dazza said:
toops, imo, was a victim of reading his own press. although he was, at the time, regarded as 1 of the best centres in the game, he has since failed to re-capture that form consistently.
Yeah he was considered the best in the world for a short period there

dazza said:
he may need a change of scenery to get that form back, & if he does go, i`d like to see him at the sharks, even though he may come back to haunt us in the future.
Well I guess you have to ask yourself who you would prefer. Vagana or Toopi. They seemed to form a good combination in a test a few years back, maybe we could get em both. If I had to choose though, I think Toopi offers better long term value.