Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Problems at LWOS

Well, if its OK, I don't want to keepmentioning other forummers names who aren't here to make comment for themselves. I can think of quite a few others whoare not postingfor work or personal reasons and hope to make a comeback one day. These things happen.

Of course, Broncos fans are not going to like it when people are critical of their team.Trust me, Saints fans are also subjected to afair bit of bashing from time to time but I won't let it stop me from talking footy... which btw is still the original aim of LWOS. All in all, it pays not to be thinned skinned.

But I hear you Bronco...

What you're saying isif the likes of El Duque and myself stopped bagging Langer and the Broncos, more posts would be made in the Broncos section..... ?

imported_bronco

Well I'll only speak for myself personally in reply to you willow. I'm sure other Broncos fans have various other reasons why they don't post.
Yes I probably would post more Broncos related topics if it wasn't for you and El Duque and a few others. Most of your comments are lighthearted but it just gets aggrivating when the same points are brought up again bogging down a post just for the sake of having a laugh at the Broncos expense. I'm not trying to tell you guys to post differently, Im just saying that I personally haven't been for a while and won't be bothering in the future to discuss the Broncos on this forum. Call me thin skinned if you will but I find I'm wasting my time talking aboutthem here.

At the end of the day, its only ever been a messageboard to me (like all the other boards i have been a member of). If people want to take being on a message board seriously, well yeh, i guess that one is up to you. But forgive me for not understanding it. M'Boards are like real life, you meet some people you like, you meet some you don't. You argue, you agree, you laugh, you cry. Its only a messageboard!

Moffo

I really don’t have any problems with anyone bagging the Broncos or Langer or anything else. I think one of the good things about this forum is that we all pretty much know each other’s personalities, likes and dislikes, and we often know how stir some trouble. However, it can get to a point when it goes a bit too far and you can’t have a proper conversation about a certain subject, the Broncos being a good example. As I said, I don’t mind if people want to have a dig at the Broncos, it’s just when it gets to the point that you can’t properly discuss the issue at hand that it becomes frustrating. I certainly wouldn’t want people to hold back on their views with regards to any subject, but I also think that we shouldn’t allow topics to get sidetracked by unrelated issues. Hazy and Marcus probably think that I’m a hypocrite for saying these things and they’d be right. I’m sure that they find it frustrating when they try and discuss rugby union and the same old crew, including myself, come and sidetrack the discussion with our views on union. So I’m going to stop doing that. I’m not going to stop posting constructively on union, and I’ll probably have the occasional dig at it, but I promise that I won’t let it get to the point that it ruins other people’s enjoyment of this message board and doesn’t allow them to discuss an issue that they’re interested in. If we all do this, there shouldn’t be a problem. Once again, I’m not saying that we should hold back on our views and I’m not saying that we shouldn’t have a bit of fun by shit-stirring. What I am saying is that we should allow discussions to take place without getting sidetracked by unrelated issues.

na, i usually sit in the corner and sulk if something doesn't go my way in real life :D

If you look up the picture of passive in the dictionary, there is dirty big photo of me in it lol...but thats real life, cyber world is sooooooooooooo different ;)

You want quality postings?? I just thought of an idea, give me a bit of time to post it up. I used the thought in forum sevens but it never caught in. Maybe people missed my point

Moffo

imported_bronco

Much better said MM than my repetition strung over several posts. I've got no problems with people having a dig at the Broncos coz I do it to other clubs from time to time but some discussions are taken off the point unnecessarily which is frustrating.

MM, I take your pointabout discussions getting sidetracked but isnt the exclusive domain of Broncos threads.

It happens a lot in many sections. It happened just this week in the 'World Trade Centre' thread. For some reason we all got into some nonsense about fighting over UFOs. Now thats getting sidetracked...lol.
But once that was done with, the thread back onto an even keel.

I'm sure a blokes as talented as Bronco and yourself can do the same with Broncos-related thread.

I know what the Bronco supporters mean by the bashing and needless trash talking we have to put up with here on this forum. It use to bother me at one stage but now I don't post there anymoreand don't really give a flying hoot. The Wayne Bennett thread I posted in a few months or so back was the last straw.
I can handle the tongue-in-chhekshit Sydney-siders throw at us Bronco fans on ocassions, but it seems to be a never ending trait on this forum. And the moderators don't seem to give a f**k! Funny how not one of them is a Bronco fan....could be the reason why it's allowed probably. That's fine. I'll just avoid it from now on. Don't give a shit anymore cause I'm sick of it....but over it.
Thanks for giving a shit legend. But somehow I don't think it's going to change a thing.
We do have some top posters amongs our teams representation here, it's a shame that one or two of them are no longer posting. It's the forums loss. Not our teams. They will still support the Broncos.
I'm just waiting to see how long it's going to be before we are labled as whingers by the usual suspects here on this board....again, I don't give a hoot.
'fan-baller

imported_bronco

BTW Broncos fanballer I'm a moderator here so theres at least one Broncos fan amongst them. :)

I enjoyed reading your post but I don't think the problem falls at the feet of the moderators. I've always thought this the best forum going around because we don't censor anyones views and basically anyone who has an opinion can share it with anyone.
The problem lies with a few people who feel the need to take the discussions completely off track with their petty hates of certain players and the team itself time and time again. Their allowed an opinion like the rest of us but it is frustrating.

Sorry bronco. I wasn't aware you were a moderator.
emembarrassed.gif

Maybe my moderator comments were over the top. And I do take them back. But what I was trying to put across was that it needs to start at the moderators/webmaster to police the bashings we get on this board. I hope you understand. Kid of like the manager at work setting the guidelines and examples for the employees to follow.
I've always thought this the best forum going around because we don't censor anyones views and basically anyone who has an opinion can share it with anyone.
I agree 100% mate. I'd just like to see us Bronco fans and our team taken more seriously than they are. We're a laughing stock
'fan-baller

I won't get in on the Broncos bashing arguement, except to say very briefly that you guys do make a very valid and worthwhile point that I hope for the sake of not losing you all, the forum and those responsible for running it seriously consider your comments and take appropriate action. Whatever they may find that to be. Good luck.
My only twogripesare 1)I whish this community would have a spell check and 2) People would use proper sentence structuring (capital letters where need be, fullstops, new paragraphs etc).
Those two little things make reading peoples posts alotmore easier for the rest of us.
.......oh! and bring back some of the online biffo!
Raidpatch.

...and legend, I commend you on initiating this thread. It speaks a million words about your concerns and character.
Well done and thankyou buddy.
embeer.gif
I'll definitely buy you one if I ever have the pleasure of meeting you in person.

imported_bronco

I get your point fanballer but I think the only way you can do that is by basically telling a certain sector of the community to keep their opinions to themselves. I think this thread at least has made a few of them feel guilty :D. Still I think the damage has already been done.

Raidpatch, maybe I'm a bit anal retentive but I agree. I like forums like the front row and grandstand where you can edit your posts. Thats my biggest gripe about msn forums. I often write something here in a hurry then cringe when I read over it later at some of my spelling and grammar. I especially cringe at a certain 40 year old kiwi dairy farmers grammar at times ;).

Gav-bt

Oh poor little old Broncos fans!

This thread has to be the biggest pile of knavel gazing poop I've ever read.

This is the sort of crap that almost has me throwing the towel in.

"I get your point fanballer but I think the only way you can do that is by basically telling a certain sector of the community to keep their opinions to themselves."
:(

We can't censor opinion.

I had a look at the Broncos section last night and it doesnt seem that bad. There's simply not enough imput from Broncos supporters. If there was a solution, it would be to see more posts.
Incidentially, every team cops flack and imo, its by and large pretty healthy... part of the 'biffo' that Raidpatch refers to.

I guess I'll ask again... if there was no negative posts about the Broncos, would there be more posts?

On a side issue, I reckon it paysto take a leaf outMs Storm's book.
I used to visit the Sportbar but I got sick and tired of all the RL bashing that went on there. I hung in there for some time but it just became overwhelming.

IMO, you havent had a taste of bashing until you visit the Sportsbar with its pathetic NRL section (set up as a result of one of our 'away missions' I hasten to add).
If you want to see relentlesss abuse and the stifling ofopinion, go and have a look.

Anyway, I had a quick gander there recently and Ms Storm is still there waving the flag. Its impressive to see someone so passionate about their sport and their team regardless of what others think.

Almost makes me think we should have a Storm section here in LWOS... perish the thought. ;)

Gav-bt

"Just throw in the towel then, you've been so up and down of late it might help to make a decision."

OK!