Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PS3 vs. Wii vs. XBox 360

So it's still revolutionary for console gaming. But has there ever been a game on PC dedicated to creating and sharing levels? Mods are great but only the hardcore geeks can create them, LBP is designed for everybody. The hardcore gamers can create something big and amazing, the casual gamers can create simple levels with all their favourite photos etc. No PC mod-based game can boast that kind of broad market.
more of an evolution and a mushing together of what's already there, but ok. broader market is a fair point. many many games on PC enjoy user generated content.. whether it be through mods or custom maps (custom units.. custom, well, everything).. although i can't think of a 2D platformer. either way, the concept is hardly new. it'll be a great game either way.

i'm looking forward to spore far more than i am littlebigplanet though, for both user generated content and the game as a whole. i would consider spore revolutionary, and it's best platform will undoubtedly be PC.

anyways i don't want to argue with you regarding game platforms... i got over it a long time ago.

LBP is a level creator with a game, not a game with a level creator. How many of your games allow you to upload your created levels to a server for others to download and rate, then those levels are ranked according to downloads and ratings, and your playthroughs of those levels are captured on video within the game and directly uploaded to Youtube to again be rated, ranked and shared?

Not many, I'd imagine.

Smash Bros Brawl off the top of my head. Tbh the sharing aspect of the feature isn't all that well implemented, thanks Nintendo. But anyway the LBP idea is the same idea as Trackmania (on PC), but methinks it would work a lot better for a racer than a platformer.

Bumble

Jay w*nking off over what will most likely be another flop for the PS3.

Situation normal.

Seriously though, whilst this game has an interesting idea and my well be decent, I have to laugh at the fact that Jay is talking up a game that isn't even out yet as though it's going to be the biggest thing since DOOM. Farks sake, if I ever get a PS3 (and that's a massive if) it will be purely for MGS4.

I also find it hugely ironic that LBP is little more than a novelty game, but the man who things the Wii is a fad and a toy is the one talking it up the most. :lol:

Munky

How good is downloadable content!

I downloaded the freebees for Guitar Hero 3 last night and they go pretty good.

Top Gun Anthem FTW!

If only Rock Band would hit our shores for an affordable price...

ParraDude_Jay

Jay w*nking off over what will most likely be another flop for the PS3.

Situation normal.

Seriously though, whilst this game has an interesting idea and my well be decent, I have to laugh at the fact that Jay is talking up a game that isn't even out yet as though it's going to be the biggest thing since DOOM. Farks sake, if I ever get a PS3 (and that's a massive if) it will be purely for MGS4.

I also find it hugely ironic that LBP is little more than a novelty game, but the man who things the Wii is a fad and a toy is the one talking it up the most. :lol:

Only 9 days after the post? You're getting quicker.

There are 100s of game journos and gamers who would laugh at your post. Everybody is excited about it, I don't need to justify it to anybody. And you know damn well if this was on the Wii you would be talking it up.

I'll be enjoying it while you enjoy... wait, what games are out on the Wii this year? Oh yeah, Super Smash Bros., only 6 months after America got it. Nintendo are nearly as quick as you. Wonder what the delay will be on the next innovative Nintendo game, Wii Sports Resort, will be.

And people still think the PS3 has no games :lol:. Seriously, what has the Wii got coming out this year?

http://www.ebgames.com.au/productSearch.cfm?page=1

That's the release schedule for this year, featuring such killer apps as Pool Party, Facebreaker KO Party, Lego Batman, Littlest Pet Shop and MySims Kingdom. Certainly a great time to be a Wii owner.

simmo1

If only Rock Band would hit our shores for an affordable price...

RB2 comes out moderately soon (in the US at least). I'm guessing they'll just realease that and not bother with RB1, especially considering all RB1 tracks are available for download on RB2.

ParraDude_Jay

Actually RB1 is being released in Australia a few weeks after RB2 launches in the US. And the rumoured price is the same as the RRP for the Wii (the console, not the Wii version of the game).

Europe's Rock Band pricing didn't go down too well, but at least they've got Rock Band pricing. Australia have so far been left out altogether, with only a "later this year" release timeframe hinted at. Well, according to a number of sources across the local retail sector, that timeframe is going to be October. You know, a month after Rock Band 2 is released in the US. But wait! That's bad, but things get worse. Employees at a couple of the nation's largest specialist games retailers have tipped us off as to what the game's going to cost would-be Aussie rock fiends, and the news is not good.

Firstly, as in Europe, there'll be no all-in-one bundle. You'll have to buy the game separately, and the game is going to retail for $AU 120. For instruments, you've got two options. All will be available individually (guitars are priced at $AU 110, with drums at AUD$160 and mics TBA) , but you'll also have the option of buying a "hardware kit" that includes one guitar, drums and one mic. That'll cost you $AU 290. So to buy the game and the hardware bundle (ie what you get in the $US 169 American bundle), you'll be paying $AU 400. That's $US380.

Thanks, but no.

http://www.kotaku.com.au/games/2008..._band_pricing_isnt_real_yet_fear_it_is-2.html
Love Aussie gaming :).

Edit: And for all the resident Kiwis:

Welcome to this special "Rock Band" Edition of the Gameplanet Store Newsletter!
Rock Band is coming to NZ -- secure yours now!
Rock Band has been a phenomenon in North America and Europe and us Kiwi gamers are finally going to get in on the action early October. The bad news however is that Electronic Arts has advised that this is a one off shipment and stock will be extremely limited! Here's what is going to be available...

Xbox 360
• Rock Band (game only) ($119.95)
• Hardware bundle (Drums, Wireless Guitar, Mic) ($299.95)
• Drum Kit ($179.95)
• Wireless Guitar ($99.95)

PlayStation 3
• Rock Band (game only) ($119.95)
• Drum Kit ($179.95)
• Wireless Guitar ($99.95)

Nintendo Wii
• Rock Band (game only) ($99.95)
• Drum Kit ($179.95)
• Wireless Guitar ($US 99.95)

PlayStation 2
• Rock Band (game only) ($99.95)

We fully expect to be sold out of Rock Band stock well before the arrival date. We strongly advise you to pre-order early to avoid disappointment... don't leave it too late!

If you thought Guitar Hero was great, you ain't seen nothing yet...

Happy gaming!

From all the team at Gameplanet Store New Zealand.
http://www.kotaku.com.au/games/2008/07/rock_band_confirmed_for_nz_ea_has_limited_stocks.html
$520 for your Rock Band experience, you gotta laugh.

Bumble

Only 9 days after the post? You're getting quicker.

There are 100s of game journos and gamers who would laugh at your post. Everybody is excited about it, I don't need to justify it to anybody. And you know damn well if this was on the Wii you would be talking it up.

I'll be enjoying it while you enjoy... wait, what games are out on the Wii this year? Oh yeah, Super Smash Bros., only 6 months after America got it. Nintendo are nearly as quick as you. Wonder what the delay will be on the next innovative Nintendo game, Wii Sports Resort, will be.

And people still think the PS3 has no games :lol:. Seriously, what has the Wii got coming out this year?

http://www.ebgames.com.au/productSearch.cfm?page=1

That's the release schedule for this year, featuring such killer apps as Pool Party, Facebreaker KO Party, Lego Batman, Littlest Pet Shop and MySims Kingdom. Certainly a great time to be a Wii owner.

I don't know why I waste my time with your garbage...

For starters, people being excited over something does NOT mean it will be awesome. Remember Daikatana? Black And White?

And shaving the list of Wii releases for the crappiest of the bunch is just a pointless exercise. I'm sure there's some sh*t coming out on the PS3 but I really couldn't be bothered to go through an entire list of PS3 games.

As for people still thinking the PS3 has no games; well...how exactly have they been disproved? Taking out 3rd party games, there's one game left that I'd buy a PS3 for and that's obviously MGS4.

And since clearly releasing one of the handful of games in history that has recieved a Famitsu rating of 40/40 wasn't enough, I guess No More Heroes and Mario Kart Wii which were also released this year will be enough to satisfy you. Or is 3 brilliant games in 8 months not enough? :roll:

ParraDude_Jay

Famitsu gave Nintendogs 40/40, credibility = 0.

And shaving the list of Wii releases for the crappiest of the bunch is just a pointless exercise. I'm sure there's some sh*t coming out on the PS3 but I really couldn't be bothered to go through an entire list of PS3 games.

OK Bumble, I shaved the list for the crappiest? Then what are the best to look forward to? Enlighten me.

Mario Kart Wii is the worst Mario Kart game I have ever played, that's your great game? It's a heap of sh*t, made for geniuss and old women who don't know how to play games (ie. the Nintendo demographic).

did you try playing with a classic controller.. or even a gamecube controller... or did you just spend 3 seconds with the wheel and give up? it's actually a really solid title..

ParraDude_Jay

Played with Nunchuk and Remote, using the stick to steer.

My problem isn't the controls, it's coming first for 2 laps, getting hit by a blue turtle shell (or two) and then coming last overall. There is seriously no point in being good because all the good items are given to the people coming last and there is no defending against one of those bullets or a blue turtle shell.

Played with Nunchuk and Remote, using the stick to steer.

My problem isn't the controls, it's coming first for 2 laps, getting hit by a blue turtle shell (or two) and then coming last overall. There is seriously no point in being good because all the good items are given to the people coming last and there is no defending against one of those bullets or a blue turtle shell.
not having a go at you, but ewvery mario kart game since the beginning of time has had this structure. the one source of frustration i can see from that is that there are more "super items" now than yester-year. i found the nunchuk and wiimote combo to be pretty comfortable and functional while playing.. but each to their own in that respect i guess.

i do agree that the cream always rises to the top though, even with item handicaps. it's weird, but i've always found that the winners in mario kart simply want it more than their rivals - much like footy actually. the thing about mario kart with it's item system is that if you never give up in a race... you will generally be provided with the means to win it if you're good enough.

ParraDude_Jay

not having a go at you, but ewvery mario kart game since the beginning of time has had this structure. the one source of frustration i can see from that is that there are more "super items" now than yester-year. i found the nunchuk and wiimote combo to be pretty comfortable and functional while playing.. but each to their own in that respect i guess.

i do agree that the cream always rises to the top though, even with item handicaps. it's weird, but i've always found that the winners in mario kart simply want it more than their rivals - much like footy actually. the thing about mario kart with it's item system is that if you never give up in a race... you will generally be provided with the means to win it if you're good enough.

Mario Kart games from the beginning have had weapons but never unstoppable weapons. A really good player could always dodge a red turtle and even if you couldn't it only spun you out for a few seconds. Blue turtles are just ridiculous, to have a completely invincible weapon that is issued exclusively to the players who are losing and only ever attacks the person winning, that's just stupid, sorry.

The bullet is just as bad, you don't even have to steer FFS. And since these weapons keep the racers so close, whoever is losing when the finish line is in sight quite often picks up a bullet and moves up into the top 3 minimum. It's just not fair.

Oh and Bumble, I reckon I'm better than you at Mario Kart, stupid weapons or not :). Always open to a challenge if you're game.

And you still haven't answered my question about good upcoming Wii games, still thinking are you or have you backed out of the argument again?

P.S. Media Molecule heard your criticisms of their game, they made this for you:

oldsackcover_2.jpg

Solid Sackboy, or Old Sackboy.

Bumble

M\
Oh and Bumble, I reckon I'm better than you at Mario Kart, stupid weapons or not :). Always open to a challenge if you're game.

And you still haven't answered my question about good upcoming Wii games, still thinking are you or have you backed out of the argument again?

Pfft, anytime mate. I haven't played it since I got an Xbox and Brawl but I'd still slam you...Yoshi ftw.

And I thought I did address your point when I mentioned that 3 awesome games have already been released this year? There's not a whole lot else that's not 3rd party coming out for the rest of the year yes, but there should already be enough recent released to keep you busy.

Jono078

As a PS3 user Little Big Planet doesnt excite me one bit, I don't really know what all the fuss is about. I've only really seen pics and videos though.

InFamous, now that looks to be a good exclusive for PS3.

ParraDude_Jay

Pfft, anytime mate. I haven't played it since I got an Xbox and Brawl but I'd still slam you...Yoshi ftw.

And I thought I did address your point when I mentioned that 3 awesome games have already been released this year? There's not a whole lot else that's not 3rd party coming out for the rest of the year yes, but there should already be enough recent released to keep you busy.

Oh so I didn't pick the worst of the upcoming list, there just isn't anything good on it? Apology accepted :).

And who apart from you would consider No More Heroes a great game? I think all 3 you listed are solid at best, but I'm willing to admit that Brawl just isn't my type of game.

2736484334_103ec3b4bf.jpg

KratosBoy

2735648321_37c366006a.jpg

NarikoGirl

Come on people, this is f**king awesome. I reckon it will only take 2 hours or so after the game launches in NA for a MarioBoy and a World 1-1 replica to turn up on the servers.

OMG CHARACTER CREATOR :roll:

yeh but. anyway. I sort of agree with you on MKWii. The excessive items sh*t me. Took it too far. Still, pretty good game, def better than the Cube one. I almost agree with you on Wii. It has a few brilliant games (Brawl, Galaxy, Twilight Princess, Prime 3, Zak and Wiki), a lot of sh*te, a fair few in the decent-good range (off the top of my head, SSX Blur, Trauma Centre, Mario Kart, No More Heroes, Super Paper Mario) but not enough. Yeah, I'm slightly disillusioned with Nintendo at the moment, after the pathetic E3 showing. My xbox360 is getting a LOT more time and money than my Wii at the moment.