Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Punishment for poor nines squads

txta2

And Oikee... Please don't spam this thread..
Forget all this B.S, trails, faking non events, friendlies , faking token gestures to the bush, and all the other faking non events.
Start the faking season with a 3 weekend nines spectacular.

So every faking city can hold a nines event over a 3 year period.

Why have faking cities trying to steal our big events, when we can share the faking huge event around
TAKE NOTE
This is a different rant, below. So for some who cant keep up, my mind has changed onto the next subject, fake me.

I am now talking about trail games. We dont lose them, we turn them into proper NRL matches for the bush,,,?,,, more money, more prestige and promotion for the bush towns.

So instead of playing trails, every club has to take at least one proper NRL game to the bush.
So 16 games each year, go to the bush, proper games, not faking trail events.
Fake me, i am done, where is my get basket.

Kaokash, faking run mate, as fast as you can.
Faking dinosaurs progressed and deceased faster than the ideas of this faking mob.

Spam has progressed faster.
I just bought some spam, turkey flavour.

:crazy:

bfoord

How about this ...

Several clubs still ask for handouts and advances of their club grants...

But if clubs fail to follow the rules of an event where some decent prize money is on offer, then that club is no longer eligible for a handout.

pHyR3

How about this ...

But if clubs fail to follow the rules of an event where some decent prize money is on offer, then that club is no longer eligible for a handout.

the thing is, i reckon ALL the clubs actually are following these rules.

Draw up a potential top 25 for storm (in order) and i reckon close to 12 will have been selected and 1 from the top 5.

now if you want to make the rules stricter, thats different

Who n that Storm squad is a top 5 earner in your opinion? Chambers would be on most and I doubt he is top 8

If clubs do nt give it due respect, fans won't fork out to buy tickets, people won't watch it on TV and in three years it will be dead. Either we want to develop nines as a vehicle to grow the game or it is just a nothing pre season run out, in which case it ain't going to last long. If other clubs see panthers and storm get away with these squads you can be sure there will be very few name players in it next year from any club.

eozsmiles

Cash prizes in footy are a bit of a joke and nobody is playing for them. $100k for the minor premiership and $400k for the 9's....... How long does $400k last a club? A week. Two tops.

So I fully understand a club not gambling their best players to win what is basically two weeks pay. Making the top 8 is worth over a hundred grand in merchandise, sponsorship, and increased ticket sales. If people want to use cash as an incentive, it is at least as juicy to concentrate on the premiership.

Maybe make the prize a million? Or make the 9's a one day mid season knockout. Or just leave it as it is because it was pretty cool last year, just not perfect.

Parra

How about this ...

Funny that you see it as a handout, when it is the very existence of the clubs and their supporters that made the TV stations pay the money in the first place. It's not a handout, is is simply an expedient method of getting cash and distributing it.

In fact, it is the very existence of the clubs that makes promoters dream up garbage like this 9's tournament so they can milk some cash from the footy as well.

eozsmiles

Funny that you see it as a handout, when it is the very existence of the clubs and their supporters that made the TV stations pay the money in the first place. It's not a handout, is is simply an expedient method of getting cash and distributing it.

In fact, it is the very existence of the clubs that makes promoters dream up garbage like this 9's tournament so they can milk some cash from the footy as well.

You're right. Every club gets a handout - it's called the club grant. The clubs are just parts of a bigger business. Occasionally some areas of the business need a little extra funding to keep the whole show on the road.

Parra

I like the idea of a nines tournament. I like the idea of a midweek knockout comp.

As long as they don't mess with the NRL comp. Why can't these play-for-cash jobs be on a nomination basis? Why couldn't a team nominate from anywhere, NRL clubs included if they want to.

Just don't make it mandatory for any club or player to participate. Call it the Jamie Lyon approach - get your priorities right.

Parra

I like a Ranfurly Shield type addition for the NRL - adds interest without adding any additional matches or additional snouts in the trough.

pHyR3

Who n that Storm squad is a top 5 earner in your opinion? Chambers would be on most and I doubt he is top 8

then he must be on a higher contract than people realise.

id say, Slater, Smith, Cronk, Bromwich, Hincliffe, Chambers and Proctor are their best players. Bromwich would be the worst paid of the 7 and chambers must edge our proctor and lie in the top5.

if the NRL fines them, then you know he's not top 5. if they dont then he is

Someone

id say, Slater, Smith, Cronk, Bromwich, Hincliffe, Chambers and Proctor are their best players. Bromwich would be the worst paid of the 7 and chambers must edge our proctor and lie in the top5.

Bromwich resigned in april of 2014, he has been the Storms best forward apart from Smith for a few years now and is probably close to the best prop in the game at the moment.

Its laughable to think Chambers, Hinchcliffe and even Proctor would be on more money than him.

Noname36

See the problem with that is for example if JT plays and does his ACL we are missing out on a lot more of him showcasing the game for the 12 months he is out. All this risk for a mickey mouse tournament that means nothing.

Or he could get injured playing in another trial, the All Stars, at training like Boyd did or falling down the stairs in his house.

No you don't. We aren't communists.

What is best for the game of rugby league is the strongest and most professional NRL competition possible. That is the NRL and participating clubs role. Not ancillary comps, or rep footy, or sideways promotions. There are other committees, competitions and teams for other stuff.

NRL participants should worry about the NRL . Get that right and growing and the rest falls into place.

gronkathon

Actually really happy with the squad the WT are sending.

As a squad for the tournament it is very well selected. Cherrington is a better 9's player then Farah and the side has some really exciting players.

Sending the young halves to the tournament would be stupid. They have had less than a month training with their starting hooker in a new system

shiznit

Actually really happy with the squad the WT are sending.

As a squad for the tournament it is very well selected. Cherrington is a better 9's player then Farah and the side has some really exciting players.

Sending the young halves to the tournament would be stupid. They have had less than a month training with their starting hooker in a new system
I don't mind a club sending a team where the majority of them are young kids.

Just as long as they meet the minimum requirement.

shiznit

If punishing the clubs who don't comply is too harsh...and people would rather increase the prize money...

Maybe guarantee the players a certain amount of the prize money... And exempt it from the salary cap.

unforgiven

Or he could get injured playing in another trial, the All Stars, at training like Boyd did or falling down the stairs in his house.

Most definately, but a trial at least has some value to the club unlike the 9's or the All Stars. If the concept is so good, let the teams send whatever team they choose and the concept will sustain it. If not then it probably wasn't a good enough idea to start with.

typicalfan

Or make the incentive better like getting the maximum nrl grant if you satisfy the criteria.

Clubs have a duty of care to promote the game. They fear if some gun stars at the nines they might get poached.

Noname36

Unlike the City vs Country game, the mould for what makes a good take isn't necessarily set in stone. You say a team should send over their best players, but the best players in an NRL side might not be the best in this game.

Also, what makes you think Matt Moylan is in the Panthers top 5 paid players? I would imagine that the likes of Jamal Idris, Jamie Soward, Lewis Brown, Elijah Taylor, Sika Manu and Brent Kite all signed on reasonable money, and that the likes of James Segeyaro, Dean Whare, Josh Mansour, Sam McKendry etc. have all re-signed on reasonable money aswell.

Sika Manu could very well be in our top 5 paid players. He was a pretty big signing when we got him from the Storm. I'd guarantee he is in our top 5 earners from the players who are available.

There's no doubt that some of the NRL squad may not be right in this concept and there's also no suggestion that the squad that Penrith has named won't do well. However the issue is that a couple of the squads are so void of recognisable names there's little doubt that they haven't even gone close to meeting the criteria that other clubs have abided by even if they didn't want to risk their players either.

I also never said that Moylan was in Penrith's top 5 paid players. What I meant was that if their higher paid players were genuinely injured then they should be at least sending blokes like Moylan, Whare and Blake. I'm aware Moylan has had a shortened pre-season but if Manly can send DCE and Foran who both actually played in the Four Nations then surely Penrith could take Moylan and play him a couple of minutes. If people are paying hundreds of dollars to attend the tournament then surely sides could name more than a couple of players that casual league fans have heard of if we're trying to promote the game.