Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

"QLD spirit"- the myth...

Misty Bee

you sure you don't want to retract that statement willie mason or ken nagas, i mean misty?

Nope, niether of them have played for NZ or PNG, unlike Carroll, Thorn, Lam et al.

Knightmare

To put it in another light:
(NSW lead 20-0 before Qld fight back and win 21-10)
" QUEENSLANDER! QUEENSLANDER! QUEENSLANDER!...(10 minutes later) Well, what a game! How's about that Queensland spirit- we never say die! You New South Welshman- you've got no idea what it means to have passion, the Blue jersey means nothing to you. I feel sorry for your lot, you'll never know what it's like to have that Maroon pride and passion. QUEENSLANDER! Go shove a banana up yer!"

(Now, let's say Qld lead 20-0 before NSW storm home to win)
"That game was a f**king rort! It was a RORT! The ref gave that one to NSW on a plate, bloody cockroaches wouldn't have scored a POINT without that ref. Hopefully Locky and the boys can hold their heads up high- they're Queenslanders and a Queenslander has never let his state down. It wasn't their fault bloody New South Wales came back and won. Bloody ref, he's from NSW too..."

Inferno

All very valid points Knightmare. Anyone saying sour grapes is obviously occupied wanking and didn't read your post properly.

Queensland was definately the better team over the series and deserved to win it, but doesn't make his points any less valid. Team spirit is not limited to guys in maroon :roll:

Knightmare

And another thing-
In Game 2 of the 1989 series, Qld were down to 11 men, decimated by injury. They still managed to win the game, and at the end the SFS crowd (NSW fans) stood to their feet and applauded Queensland off the field. If NSW were cut down to 11 men at Suncorp and managed to win the game, I'd bet any money that the Queenslanders would boo and throw bottles on the field and threaten to kill the ref.

icewind

Misty Bee said:
Nope, niether of them have played for NZ or PNG, unlike Carroll, Thorn, Lam et al.

luke ricketson played for ireland. im sure mason couldve played for nz in the world cup but just wasn't good enough.

Canard

1. True NSW lost in Game 1 last year, but so did Qld in Game 1 this year. Both sides, despite being behind on the scoreboard showed plenty of spirit in coming back, yet only 1 side got the praise for doing so.

Dont know how you got that opinion.

Even the QLD press bagged the side after this and said they lacked "passion" and that there were steamrolled by the blues.

And have you actually watched anything league related in the last 5 years on Channel Nine.

QUEENSLANDERS HAVE HAD TO PUT UP WITH 5 YEARS OF PHIL GOULD, PAUL HARROGON AND MATTY JOHNS TALKING ABOUT THE SPIRIT OF NSW!!!

redVgirl

ive never heard phil gould talk about the NSW spirit. hes a total 'queensland spirit' bandwagoner.

Ghoulies

Hutty1986 said:
Pffft f*cking predictable crap from the Queenslanders, especially renowned w*nkers like Saab

God forbid they give the Blues any credit??

No, sh*t no, its all "suck Sh*t Blues"

Queensland makes me vomit.
The f*cking enemy. Come back when you can win more than 1 series every 5 years
While we're all having a whinge.... where's the "congratulations QLD"?

God forbid you give any credit to the actual victors.

Knightmare

Inferno said:
All very valid points Knightmare. Anyone saying sour grapes is obviously occupied wanking and didn't read your post properly.

I caught a Queenslander masturbating once. He had pictures everywhere of canetoads, Wally Lewis, Artie Beetson, Fatty Vautin, Barry Gomersall and high-rise apartments on the beach- it was scary stuff!:shock:

redVgirl

seeing the words 'masturbating' and 'artie beetson' in the same sentence is something i hope i never have to witness EVER AGAIN.

Canard

They still managed to win the game, and at the end the SFS crowd (NSW fans) stood to their feet and applauded Queensland off the field. If NSW were cut down to 11 men at Suncorp and managed to win the game, I'd bet any money that the Queenslanders would boo and throw bottles on the field and threaten to kill the ref.

What the same state that stood to their feet and booeed Wally Lewis as he ran out in an Australian jersey in Sydney!!! (THE MOST DISGRACEFUL ACT IN Australian sporting history)

That QLD 11 men story has grown in myth over the years too, I remember it being recounted by Wally and Geno as NSW crowd being totally silent (which they considered an amazing compliment).

Now its morphed into a 15min standing ovation,with people stamping their feet and lighting matches for QLD!!!

icewind

Knightmare said:
And another thing-
In Game 2 of the 1989 series, Qld were down to 11 men, decimated by injury. They still managed to win the game, and at the end the SFS crowd (NSW fans) stood to their feet and applauded Queensland off the field. If NSW were cut down to 11 men at Suncorp and managed to win the game, I'd bet any money that the Queenslanders would boo and throw bottles on the field and threaten to kill the ref.

lol. clutching at straws.

icewind

Canard said:
What the same state that stood to their feet and booeed Wally Lewis as he ran out in an Australian jersey in Sydney!!! (THE MOST DISGRACEFUL ACT IN Australian sporting history)

That QLD 11 men story has grown in myth over the years too, I remember it being recounted by Wally and Geno as NSW crowd being totally silent (which they considered an amazing compliment).

Now its morphed into a 15min standing ovation,with people stamping their feet and lighting matches for QLD!!!

its a case of chinese whispers... i mean nsw whispers.... can't trust them southerners lol.

Guys, a bit of common sense. QLD was the better team for the whole series and rightfully deserved the victory. However, Knightmare does make a valid point. You never hear about the NSW spirit. But QLD is reknowned for it and good luck to em. Makes origin an even bigger and better spectacle. So common guys stop with the arguing, and as a NSW supporter i think both sides should be congratulated for putting on such a great series. And well done QLD, but rest assured the mighty Blues will be back better then ever next year.

Knightmare

Canard said:

No disagreement there, booing the Aussie capain is a disgrace, no matter where he's from. And Wally recounted it as being a standing ovation in '89. It's also mentioned in a S.O.O book I have and various recounts of that game. It's not clutching at straws- I'm just illustrating my point.

Big Pete

I hate being a sore winner. I am a Queenslander and I've had to endure 3 years of being told how crap my state is, how bad people are who live in it and how bad my players are and what an idiot for thinking they had any inch of talent by NSW fans.

One year when we finally win and you come up with the fact we weren't gracious last year. Hmm if I remember correctly I came home, stayed online and had to endure the entire Andrew Johns is a god thread (after 2 games though admittadly he proved himself as a all time great during the season). Saab had to endure a topic that was totally against him.

Hmmm so maybe we should make 5 topics about how great Thurston is? Or start a topic about how Misty Bee is a wanker? I doubt most of us will stoop to your level.

In regards to what Knightmare said. Game 1 this year received jack all "Qld have spirit". It was about how lucky we were. Game 1 2005 comeback from NSW had 2 decisions that could've and one in particular should've gone the other way. However we still conceded it was a gutsy effort but ultimately your side didn't win.

Why I think people don't believe in NSW spirit is because they are always expected to win. Queensland are always written off straight away yet somehow do the unthinkable. (eg. 1995 series) and are well known for their comebacks.

Sure sometimes it becomes cliche and is over-used. But somehow you know Queensland always have it in them to win the close ones most of the time.

I never doubted NSW didn't have passion and I doubt most QLD fans would.

So NSW congrats on an awesome series. Your defence was great for the most part in game 3. Hope to see you again next year.

Now to Queensland, you bloody ripper. :D

stormman

redVgirl said:
seeing the words 'masturbating' and 'artie beetson' in the same sentence is something i hope i never have to witness EVER AGAIN.

Typical, you saying that with a facelike this:

uglygirl.jpg