Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

R24 Sun - Brisbane v Canberra

salivor

Raider_69 said:
and yet, still you're side required the aid of a 12 point advantage from the video ref's to get you over the line... combined what that says to me, is canberra should have won this game, they'd have won ugly, very ugly, but countless teams win ugly each year, this should have been one of them. It wasnt.

Lol, Carney went in with a round arm action like we see players do continually week after week trying to stop the ball carrier offloading and if they do to knock down the ball. There may have been a case for benefit of the doubt but the video referee didn't give Thorn the benefit of the doubt either so fairs fair.

As for the Michaels try, he grounded it. His hand was still on the ball when it touched the turf, fair try. This is just another game in a long list this season where Canberra fans want to blame the referee. According to some Canberra have only legitimately lost a couple of games this season and should have been playing to rap up the minor premiership today. Really, nobody is taking you lot seriously anymore.

actually according to canberra fans, we've been dudded out of games 3 times,

the cowboys, knights and now this
We've complained about being on the wrong end of woeful video refereeing decisions but most will tell you, at best its only cost us 3 games we probably should have won, the others all came in games we were soundly beaten and out played in... 6 competition points in the 2007 NRL season is alot

and aside from that, we're coming into the finals now, how do you recon Parramatta fans or Melbourne fans or Manly fans might react is one of these decisions costs them a semi final, or even a GF?

JW

Raider_69 said:
and aside from that, we're coming into the finals now, how do you recon Parramatta fans or Melbourne fans or Manly fans might react is one of these decisions costs them a semi final, or even a GF?

It can, does and will happen. That's what happens when the refereeing is substandard.

But that's beside the point.

The point is that there are people here claiming match fixing FFS :lol:

As Sal said, Canberra fans cannot be taken seriously.

Its ineptitude of the highest order, match fixing no way
but i honestly think the referees went there today expecting to see brisbane win, and sub conciously that imo played a part in their decisions today. Thats not match fixing, thats letting their expectations of the contest cloud their judgement.

Both Hayne and West should be stood down immediately for the remainder of the year

Paullyboy

JW said:
All teams will get the good and bad days with the man with the whistle, .

I'll make 2 points based on that stupid statement.

Firstly - By saying that you are conceding that we obviously had a 'bad day' with the officials (bad being geneorous - blatantly cheated being closer to the mark). The score should have been 19-6 - but the team who is chasing a fairy tale finish magically get it back to 13-12 within the space of a minute. If you've ever played the game you'd be familiar with a concept called momentum.

Secondly - When have the Raiders had a good day with the man with the whistle? That statement is a clear cop out from a fan of a team who have no right to be celebrating right now. If that isnt as hollow a victory as you'll get I dont know what is.

JW

Oh i'm celebrating Paully, and the fact that we yet again have a mass sook fest on our hands from Raiders supporters after a loss is making my day all the more delightful.

On your first point, yes you had a dud call or two. But hardly enough to be the sole cause of your loss today. Perhaps the 20 errors, most of which were coming out of your own end, had a little something to do with that. But accountability is not something you'd associate with the Raiders population on LU.

As for the second point...

cat-in-tin-foil-hat.jpg

Good game mate, look forward to our next encounter.

Kornstar

Mr Saab said:
You talking about Perry?
He was shoulder charged by Logan and then Weyman sat on him. Please.

Well didn't Hayne apparently take a dive after being absolutely steam rolled by Thaiday, it was the same thing, how big is Thaiday and how fast was he running at Hayne?

I believe Perry also played on, the same as Hayne......

JW said:
What a shock to come into this thread to see Canberra fans whinging about the officials rigging the match :lol:

Brings back memories of Legend's hilarious rant a couple of seasons back.

Shouldnt have been much of a suprise given the officials performance....but then again, even a bonafide dudding would still have an imbecile like you calling someone a whinger.

skeepe

Is there anything more cretinous than a Broncos fan? Deadset you guys take the cake. ANYBODY with half a brain knows the Raiders should, nay would have won today had the refereeing not been so one sided.

Ghoulies

skeepe said:
Is there anything more cretinous than a Broncos fan? Deadset you guys take the cake. ANYBODY with half a brain knows the Raiders should, nay would have won today had the refereeing not been so one sided.
lol! You can be such a fickle little sh*te, skeepe. You'll no doubt be calling some other group of supporters the worst of the worst the moment they refuse to join in on a Raiders' bitchfest some time in the next fortnight.

Kornstar said:
Well didn't Hayne apparently take a dive after being absolutely steam rolled by Thaiday, it was the same thing, how big is Thaiday and how fast was he running at Hayne?

I believe Perry also played on, the same as Hayne......
Talk about completely different contexts. What possible benefit did the Broncos stand to gain by Perry staying down? Nothing illegal was done, and it's been what feels like an age since the video ref has intervened to penalise a player for something that was missed by the ref, plus it happened 10 metres out from the Broncos try line as we were on the attack. While I don't agree with Bennett and Petero in thinking that Hayne dived, the situations are markedly different.

Big Pete

skeepe said:

You Raiders fans have to be the most selfish fans in the League.

lockyno1

VictorTheViking said:
Whats so selfish about wanting a game refereed with impartiality?? Nothing, f**k off twat.

Every loss you blame the ref..fair dinkum..teams get bad calls in every match..guess what good sides still win the game!

Every loss I blame the ref??? That doesnt hold a lot of credence coming from someone who has to clean themselves after seeing the games sexiest player segment on the footy show. Im perfectly justified in feeling ripped off after that game because of those decisions, if you dont like that, f**k off.

Brisbane didnt deserve to win that game, it was handed to you on a platter, granted you took the chance and ran with it.

lockyno1

Handed to us..so it was the ref that missed Thorn's tackle..and it was the ref that missed Joel Moon's tackle and it was definately the ref that missed Michaels. As I said, we took our chances..the Raiders didn't. Pretty simple. Blame your side for dropping the ball all day long!

You took your chances, the ref took ours, and as charlie said in a different thread, robbed us of what would have been an ugly win

Big Pete

But then again Brad Thorn's no try should've been given so the Brocos would've been 12-6up with momentum. Completely different game.

Yet you guys still complain.

Grow up!

skeepe

Big Pete said:
But then again Brad Thorn's no try should've been given so the Brocos would've been 12-6up with momentum. Completely different game.

Yet you guys still complain.

Grow up!

:lol: :lol: :lol:

You honestly believe that?

Brad Thorn's try should have been given... classic. Did you ever see the ball touch the ground? No. In fact, play should never have gotten that far, as the player who offloaded the ball had been held for an eternity previously.