Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

R5 // Cowboys 28-2 Knights @ 1300SMILES // Mon 7.00pm

Round 5 result :: Cowboys vs Knights

Jobdog

Exactly. All this "it's a long season" bullsh*t is something that's said by losers to try and console themselves after losses such as this one. It doesn't matter how many games are in the season, if the care factor isn't there now, it sure as fu*k won't be when your 2 from 12.

I know the players are dealing with alot right now but there's no excuse for performances like that and if they keep it up it'll be a season wasted when there was so much hope after the back end of last year.
It's probably not going to be a popular opinion in here after the last fortnight, but I tend to agree with you.

There's no doubt the team have had to endure more than their fair share already this season; Mullen's injury at the Nines, Boyd, Roberts and Gidley all being injured in round 1 and McKinnon's injury in round 3.

That's not to mention the emotional high in round 4 which was followed by the expected flat performance in round 5.

It's been a tough start, no doubt about it. But tough times don't last - tough people do. We can't expect everything to be rosy when Mullo returns (whether that's next week or the week after), the other 16 blokes who will be alongside him all need to chip in too.

Whats Doing

I think Tariq played the 80 while Smith was off for a long period with Korbin playing lock

Comparing their stats is pretty pointless given that and the contrast between the two sides as a whole

I guess I just look at what our players do differently than most and judge from that. Smith has never been that kind of player

All good. As you mention, people look at it from different perspectives.

I look at the balance of the team and consider that we don't have the continued go forward and enough punch down the middle to bend the line to worry the top sides. My view is we lack that balance with Smith unless he starts to lift his work rate up in attack

Johns Magic

I think Tariq played the 80 while Smith was off for a long period with Korbin playing lock

Comparing their stats is pretty pointless given that and the contrast between the two sides as a whole

I guess I just look at what our players do differently than most and judge from that. Smith has never been that kind of player

I reckon Tariq played a touch less than 60 mins tonight.

1qaz

Even though Scott and BJ has been the two best Knights this season, gee wiz they come up with some coach killers at times.
Scott with the last tackle penalty tonight and BJ is good for an handling error which changes the momentum of the game.
Boyd was close to worst on field tonight. Lets not talk about Gidley.

A big positive for me from the last two weeks is Korbin Sims. With the serious injury to his good pal and ex housemate Alex McKinnon, this could well be the kick up the backside he needs to live up to his potential.
At the Broncos, he was rated by the coaching staff to be the best of the 3 Sims boys.

Obviously Mullen is the key to ignite the backline. Bring on Saturday.

Zoidberg

BJ needs to remember how to pass. He attracts enough defence to have Jimmy clear but he doesn't get him the ball.

As much as this form annoys me, I'll (and I'm sure you guys) will always support the Knights. I guess it's just knowing the potential we have, going off last years finals, we need to put things together and live up to it.

Hope for the best guys.

Nuffy

careful. that's an unpopular opinion, even if you're right!

Mate, I'm not anti-Bennett by any stretch, I thought he was the missing piece but I'm beginning to think that its more than that.

I also believe that for whatever reason, we are just plain unlucky.

Lets look at this year as an example.

Packer doesn't even start training with the club before he's off to gaol.
Mason - drink driving.
Mullo going down in the Nines.
3 injuries in Rd1 and the positions being 1, 9 and 7. 2 concussions of all things so the players can't return due to a new NRL rule, but I note that other clubs seem to be flouting that law ever since.
The annual Tinkler circus which is singularly negative in all aspects.
An absolutely disgraceful draw for the year.
And Alex.

What have we done wrong?

Joker's Wild

All good. As you mention, people look at it from different perspectives.

I look at the balance of the team and consider that we don't have the continued go forward and enough punch down the middle to bend the line to worry the top sides. My view is we lack that balance with Smith unless he starts to lift his work rate up in attack

Personally I think our go forward is good in the middle, our issue is getting wrestled into slow play the balls. We rarely get a roll on with quick PTBs to put our opposition on the back foot which would create space for our outside men. Right now we are relying on our centres and wingers foot work and power to bust the line instead of getting them 2 or 3 on 1 with their opposite numbers.

To make things worse too is the fact that we cant seem to dominate opposing packs and slow them down. The Cowboys last night hit their bellies and got very fast change overs in the ruck. No coincidence that there was so much space for their outside men to virtually stroll over

Rod

Mate, I'm not anti-Bennett by any stretch, I thought he was the missing piece but I'm beginning to think that its more than that.

I also believe that for whatever reason, we are just plain unlucky.

Lets look at this year as an example.

Packer doesn't even start training with the club before he's off to gaol.
Mason - drink driving.
Mullo going down in the Nines.
3 injuries in Rd1 and the positions being 1, 9 and 7. 2 concussions of all things so the players can't return due to a new NRL rule, but I note that other clubs seem to be flouting that law ever since.
The annual Tinkler circus which is singularly negative in all aspects.
An absolutely disgraceful draw for the year.
And Alex.

What have we done wrong?

You can add the refs to this as well. And I know it sounds like a lame excuse and we all watch games with the goggles of our team firmly on but when is the last time one of our games finished and you thought 'wow we got the rub of the green in that one.' It pretty much never happens for whatever reason. Even one of those extremely crappy video ref decisions that are so common, we don't get any in our favour.

Haffa

To make things worse too is the fact that we cant seem to dominate opposing packs and slow them down. The Cowboys last night hit their bellies and got very fast change overs in the ruck. No coincidence that there was so much space for their outside men to virtually stroll over
Even when we did slow then down we did it so poorly it led to a penalty. Often because it was our player on their backs despite making the tackle. (Beau Scott before half time as one example)

Zoidberg

I guess it's good to hear Wayne say we're only playing at 50-60% of what we're capable. As long as he can get that extra 40-50% out of us

Wayne didn't really look surprised or worried much at all at the presser last night. He seemed pretty filthy, as you'd expect... but I guess after seeing it all 100 times over your career, you get a bit jaded. You also know that a week is a long time in footy, and anything can happen between now and the finals.

Yosh

Probably not going to watch the game, probably better for my health and mental health...

So, if completed, let's say around 80% instead of 50%, would we have been in the match? From what I've read sl far, seems that the boys had a shocker holding onto the ball. Not much WB can do if the boys don't wanna hold onto the ball...

We've had terrible, terrible luck this whole year. I'm a firm believer rhat good/bad calls even out throughout the year. Hopefully, we've spent all our bad luck already and the footy gods have mercy on the team. I personally believe we'll make the 8 this year. It's not Aug, it's only the first week of April. Still a long season ahead.