Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rabbitohs Rumors, Signings and News

handyman2190

%22

%22

handyman2190

ROUND 1
Sullivan to land Round 1 Rabbitohs role, Dodd a starting guarantee
The Rabbitohs will have a new look halves combination in Round 1.
Scott Pryde
Scott Pryde
EDITOR | February 9, 2025 - 1:47pm
The South Sydney Rabbitohs are likely to hand Jayden Sullivan a club debut in Round 1 after he was secured on a one-year loan deal from the Wests Tigers during the off-season.

But before we do that, subscribe to the channel if you haven't already.

Unmute

Advanced Settings

Fullscreen

Pause

Rewind 10 Seconds

Up Next

Zero Tackle understands per sources speaking under the condition of anonymity that Sullivan has impressed new head coach Wayne Bennett during the pre-season and will begin the year at five-eighth with Cody Walker to miss out through injury.

It was reported last week that Walker suffered a calf injury in January and was in doubt for the club's season opener, which will come against Bennett's old club in the Dolphins.

ADVERTISEMENT

It's now understood Walker will return from the calf injury in Round 2 as a best-case scenario, meaning Bennett needs to choose a five-eighth.

Former Canberra Raiders star Jack Wighton spent time in the halves for the Rabbitohs during his first season at the club, but it's believed South Sydney want him to remain in the centres as much as possible.

That means Sullivan, who has failed to hit the enormous potential he showed in helping the Dragons to an SG Ball title five years ago, will start at five-eighth in his first game for his new club and will likely then revert to being the first backup in the halve thereafter while holding things down in the NSW Cup.

ADVERTISEMENT

The Wests Tigers have made it clear Sullivan is free to leave the club rather than returning at the end of his loan stint, so every game the youngster plays in the top grade for South Sydney is a chance to put himself in the shop window.

It was also reported by Wide World of Sports during the week that Lewis Dodd was no guarantee of playing in Round 1, with Jamie Humphreys potentially in line for the halfback jumper after impressing during pre-season training.

Sources have revealed however that Humphreys is more likely to play the bench utility for the Maroubra-based outfit, with Dodd a guarantee to start the year in number seven after making the switch from the English Super League during the off-season.

ADVERTISEMENT

Dodd has been rated by many as the best English playmaker in many years, having found instant success in the Super League, but whether he can handle the switch to the NRL remains to be seen.

Many spine players have made the switch from England to Australia over the years and struggled. That hasn't been the case in the forwards where names like Sam Burgess and James Graham have become among the best in the competition.

Lachlan Ilias (St George Illawarra Dragons) and Dean Hawkins (Parramatta Eels) were viewed as the long-term halfback options when Adam Reynolds left the club for the Brisbane Broncos, but both have departed during the off-season, leading to a fresh view in the seven at the foundation outfit following the signing of Dodd.

ADVERTISEMENT

Humphreys meanwhile left the Manly Sea Eagles during the off-season in hopes of landing game time at the Rabbitohs, and with the ability to play multiple positions, should feature prominently in the club's plans this year.

If he does indeed win the bench utility spot for the Rabbitohs, it could leave an interchange bench that features the recently re-signed Tallis Duncan, Dolphins recruit Euan Aitken and former Manly forward Sean Keppie with the likes of Lachlan Hubner, Thomas Fletcher, Ben Lovett, Siliva Havili and Shaquai Mitchell providing excellent squad depth.

South Sydney is desperate for improvement in the first season of Bennett's second stint in charge, having finished at the wrong end of the ladder last year.

2025 NRL PlayersJamie HumphreysJayden SullivanLatest NRL NewsLatest Rugby League NewsLewis DoddNRL TeamsSouth Sydney RabbitohsSouth Sydney Rabbitohs Latest News
Drive your golf game forward in 2025 with Callaway’s new pro-worthy ‘Elyte’ range
When it comes to pastimes that tick all the right boxes, it’s hard to beat golf. From keeping you fit while being low-impact to encouraging you to get out and about and be social, it’s pretty much a hobby hole-in-one. Whether you’re picking up a club for the first time in 2025 or are looking to slash your existing handicap, there’s one name that golfers worldwide trust to lift their game: Callaway Golf. The iconic American brand is known for its high-performance golfing gear and accessories for players of all levels. And, if your main area of focus is to improve your long-distance shots, you’re in luck — Callaway Golf has added four revolutionary drivers to its ‘Elyte’ family.

Shop Now
Read more
This content is selected by our team. We may receive revenue from the featured brands.
NRL Streakr
Which FIVE teams are most likely to improve in 2025?
TOKYO × OITA
|
Sponsored by Taboola
Explore Deeper in Japan: Oita x Tokyo
Matt Lodge lands NRL lifeline for 2025 with a catch
Ex-Kiwis forward to continue playing career in 2025
SkipDiscoverRead More
EcoFlow DELTA 2 Portable Power Station - DELTA 2
* The estimated arrival time for DELTA 2 is at the end of January. • 1024Wh Capacity (85Ah@12V) . • Huge AC output • 7x Faster AC charging • Or go green without sacrificing speed • Built to last 6x longer • Control from anywhere • 5-Year warranty
Ecoflow
|
Sponsored

The Perfect Gift Card
GS Diamonds
|
Sponsored
Swisse Beauty Collagen Glow Powder 120g
CHEMIST WAREHOUSE
|
Sponsored
- Tachikawa Regent Hotel
Booking.com
|
Sponsored
LEAVE A REPLY

Latest News
NRL Rd 9 - Sharks v Cowboys
Surprise new frontrunner emerges for Hazelton
February 9, 2025

Sharks’ marquee prop fueled by accountability and Fitzgibbon’s influence
February 8, 2025
2020 NRL Nines - Day 1
Tristan Sailor ready to forge his own legacy at St Helens
February 8, 2025

Olam cautiously optimistic about PNG’s NRL future
February 8, 2025
NRL Rd 3 - Knights v Dolphins
Old rivals become allies at The Dolphins
February 8, 2025
2024 NRL Ladder
P W L PTS +/-
1 MEL 24 19 5 44 243
2 PEN 24 17 7 40 186
3 SYD 24 16 8 38 275
4 CRO 24 16 8 38 222
5 NQL 24 15 9 36 89
6 CAN 24 14 10 34 96
7 MAN 24 13 10 33 113
8 NEW 24 12 12 30 -40
View Full Ladder
What are you prepared to

speedster

Cody's been a good player but it was clear last season his time was up. He is always injured with calf injuries now so his body is saying it is time to give it away
He didn't have the best season but neither did the entire club. He missed a few matches but he still played in 21 games which means he missed only 3. He still scored 8 tries, had 21 try assists (average of 1 per game) which was equal 9th in the comp, 21 line break assists (equal 11th in the comp), 39 total try involvements (equal 13th in the comp) all in a badly beaten and out of form side massively down on troops and belief.

He's an evergreen who still has some miles left in him I reckon and so does Wayne. Those stats are still not bad and hard to replace and that's what he can do in a bad year. Lets not forget he had to steer the side around from halfback for half the year with reserve graders around him which meant he had less time wider out for putting on tries and line breaks the way he normally would from 5/8.

I fully expect to see him better those numbers by a lot this year. He can bounce back to his best but he needs all the moving parts around him to be in sync so he has options to bamboozle the defence and he'll be back to the top or near the top of the try assist and line break assist charts where he usually is.

Souths Till I Die

Cody's been a good player but it was clear last season his time was up. He is always injured with calf injuries now so his body is saying it is time to give it away
I agree but I think we have to give him the benefit of the doubt for the start of the year and give him one last crack. Hindsight is a funny thing you let go of Reynolds thinking Cody will last longer but it's not necessarily looking that way.

I think it's more a case with Reynolds that we thought we had an able replacement ready to go. That very much turned out not to be the case. Hopefully now with the two 7s we've got one of them will step up and fill the massive void left by Reynos departure.

Eric the great

I agree but I think we have to give him the benefit of the doubt for the start of the year and give him one last crack. Hindsight is a funny thing you let go of Reynolds thinking Cody will last longer but it's not necessarily looking that way. No need to hit the panick button yet as was said earlier he played 23 out of 26 games last year when we had players being injured virtually every game Reynolds didn’t put in a year any where near that he was out at least half the season so hindsight was pretty good I reckon

speedster

Well, over the last 3 years since Adam has been at the Broncos, Adam has played 56 out of 75 games (including 3 finals in 2023) for them, missing 19. In that same time, Cody has played 70 out of 75 (including 3 finals in 2022) games for us, missing just 5. Yeah, Adam was unlucky to rupture a bicep last year but still, he has had a variety of injuries along the way too.

I think the reports of Cody's demise are being greatly exaggerated.

ADAM_SMITH

Shaq has been training with the rehab group all preseason and now he is suddenly fit enough to play in the all stars game?

i definatly wouldnt even think of playing Wighton.

handyman2190

Shaq has been training with the rehab group all preseason and now he is suddenly fit enough to play in the all stars game?

i definatly wouldnt even think of playing Wighton.
Mate i think he is a bludger,your right,last year a huge chunk off with that dreaded calf,this year as well then all of a sudden he is ok to play? Id be shifting him on after this year,i agree wighton should be mothballed