Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rabbitohs Rumors, Signings and News

Well Game Day is just about upon us. I am pressed for time this week so it’ll be a shorter preview. But I’m pumped we have our first home game of the year as we make the trip up to Gosford so everyone get your colours on and get a spring in your step! Let’s make sure we get as many of us up there as we can let’s turn Polytec Stadium into a sea of red and green! It’s important for us I feel to bounce back from last week and get the 2 points going into the bye the week after. Losing Campbell, Euan and most likely Hubner to injury doesn’t help but it provides great opportunity for Graham Taufa, Fletcher and Le Blanc who will be hungry to do their bit for the team. It’s going to take a total team effort to get it done.

Looking at the Tigers it won’t be easy they had a massive win last week against the Cowboys and they’re a side that love to offload and can be dangerous. Their spine poses a real threat in Api, Bula, Luai and Douiehi so we need to be right on our game. The key to that will be winning the forward battle it’ll go along way towards winning. We all know we have lots of points in us what I’m more concerned about is our defence I want to see that tighten up this week. Tallis Duncan gets the start too and I’m sure he will be ready to deliver. Having Jamie back is a big in I feel too and will help take some pressure off Cody. If we can also cut out the silly errors and penalties this week I’m confident we can get the job done.

Ok not long til the players come out here onto Polytec Stadium. Great to see so much red and green up here on the Central Coast. Let’s make sure we make plenty of noise for the full 80mins and do our job in the stands to get those 2 vital competition points. And lets make sure everyone wherever they may be watching knows this is a South Sydney home game.

Ok as we look down the tunnel here at Polytec Stadium we can see the away team making their way down the tunnel. Rabbitohs members and Rabbitohs supporters please give a warm South Sydney welcome to the Wests Tigers…………

10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1…………….

OK RABBITOHS MEMBERS RABBITOHS SUPPORTERS ITS TIME TO GET ON YOUR FFFEEEEETTTT!!! Show the colours clap ya hands wave ya flags scream your llluuunnngggssss out! HERE THEY ARE YOUR SOUTH SYDNEY RRRRAAAABBBBBIIITTTOOOHHHSSSS!!!!!

GLORY GLORY LETS GO RABBITOHS!!!

SOUTH SYDNEY CLAP CLAP CLAP

BossHoss

Well Game Day is just about upon us. I am pressed for time this week so it’ll be a shorter preview. But I’m pumped we have our first home game of the year as we make the trip up to Gosford so everyone get your colours on and get a spring in your step! Let’s make sure we get as many of us up there as we can let’s turn Polytec Stadium into a sea of red and green! It’s important for us I feel to bounce back from last week and get the 2 points going into the bye the week after. Losing Campbell, Euan and most likely Hubner to injury doesn’t help but it provides great opportunity for Graham Taufa, Fletcher and Le Blanc who will be hungry to do their bit for the team. It’s going to take a total team effort to get it done.

Looking at the Tigers it won’t be easy they had a massive win last week against the Cowboys and they’re a side that love to offload and can be dangerous. Their spine poses a real threat in Api, Bula, Luai and Douiehi so we need to be right on our game. The key to that will be winning the forward battle it’ll go along way towards winning. We all know we have lots of points in us what I’m more concerned about is our defence I want to see that tighten up this week. Tallis Duncan gets the start too and I’m sure he will be ready to deliver. Having Jamie back is a big in I feel too and will help take some pressure off Cody. If we can also cut out the silly errors and penalties this week I’m confident we can get the job done.

Ok not long til the players come out here onto Polytec Stadium. Great to see so much red and green up here on the Central Coast. Let’s make sure we make plenty of noise for the full 80mins and do our job in the stands to get those 2 vital competition points. And lets make sure everyone wherever they may be watching knows this is a South Sydney home game.

Ok as we look down the tunnel here at Polytec Stadium we can see the away team making their way down the tunnel. Rabbitohs members and Rabbitohs supporters please give a warm South Sydney welcome to the Wests Tigers…………

10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1…………….

OK RABBITOHS MEMBERS RABBITOHS SUPPORTERS ITS TIME TO GET ON YOUR FFFEEEEETTTT!!! Show the colours clap ya hands wave ya flags scream your llluuunnngggssss out! HERE THEY ARE YOUR SOUTH SYDNEY RRRRAAAABBBBBIIITTTOOOHHHSSSS!!!!!

oh Chrissy you’re so passionate
Weird though

Souths Till I Die

I reckon we're lucky that Jye Gray resigned and didn't go for the big money at Perth we definitely would have lost that game if he wasn't there. Him, Murray, Fifita and Haas need to be in our priorities moving forward and build the team around them.

My predicted 19:

Gray
AJ
Latrell
Wighton
Campbell
Cody
Humphreys
Tatola
Garlick
Keaon
Fifita
Duncan
Murray

Mamouzelos
Hubner
Keppie
Sullivan
Fletcher
Graham Taufa

As strong as we could name I like that Le Blanc is there I’d be using him over Sullivan if we get no in game injuries to the backs.

Rabbitohs $1.85
Bulldogs $2.00

Ref Todd Smith
Bunker Wyatt Raymond

Let’s all get out there Friday and give a massive ovation when Nathan rings the bell just before we come on. Won’t be shocked with myself if I breakdown in the moment!

You can buy raffle tickets too to support Merritt family I got the members email and just bought some tickets it’s the least I could do just felt right and if I won I’d give my 50percent share to Merritt and his family who get the other 50percent.

Nathan Merritt has been given 12 months to live. He has one dying wish​

Christian Nicolussi
SMH
March 31, 2026 — 7:30pm

Nathan Merritt has been given about 12 months to live, and has one simple dying wish: “To see South Sydney win the premiership.”

The Rabbitohs great has been undergoing chemotherapy for stage four cancer of the liver and oesophagus, but will muster the energy to attend his first NRL game in more than two years on Good Friday.

Nathan Merritt celebrates his father Tony’s birthday with family last month.

Souths have asked Merritt, 42, to ring the Legacy Bell before kick-off against the Bulldogs. The rare cameo will also give fans a chance to honour their popular former winger, who scored 154 career tries including 135 for the Rabbitohs.

“To see Souths win another comp, that would be a great way to go out,” Merritt told this masthead. “The doctors have given me 12 months or so. The chemo is to prolong my life expectancy.

“I’m in a bit of pain, but I’m not as bad as what others have experienced. Souths have the team to do it. I’d just love to see them in a grand final again. As a fan of the club, it would be a wonderful moment.

“Hopefully they can stay injury free and give themselves the best chance to be there.”

Nathan Merritt watches Souths training during Indigenous Round Week in 2024.Sunny Brar

Merritt was too fatigued to attend Allianz Stadium to see Alex Johnston break the game’s try-scoring record against the Roosters.

“But watching the scenes was awesome – I had the hairs on the back of my neck stand up,” Merritt said. “I was spewing I wasn’t at the game because I would have tried to run on the field as well. The chemo has sapped most of my energy. I get tired really quickly. I’ve lost about 20kg, and I’m down from 105kg to 83kgs.

“The last game I went to was Indigenous Round at Homebush when Souths played against Parra. I’m looking forward to Good Friday.

“I had a lot of great memories playing against the Dogs. There was one year, I think it was 2013, we came up with a trick play, and Adam Reynolds kicked it across field for me, we caught them off guard on the opposite side of the field.”

Great mates: Merritt with Adam Reynolds at Redfern Oval in 2018.Janie Barrett

Merritt, a father of five, made the shock announcement about his cancer diagnosis earlier this month. He has already undergone two rounds of chemo, and will start a third at the end of next month.

Merritt revealed to this masthead in 2024 how he was lucky to be alive after being placed into an induced coma at the end of 2023 when struck down by a dose of double pneumonia.

Souths started a pre-game tradition of asking people closely associated with the club to ring the Legacy Bell, a tradition that dates back to the club’s first game at Birchgrove Oval in 1908, and were keen to invite Merritt if he was feeling well enough.

Skipper Cameron Murray and his father Corey, who also played for Souths, rang the first Legacy Bell last year, while Cathy Freeman OAM, along with club legends Ziggy Niszczot, John Sutton and Sean Garlick, has also had the honour.

“This is our first opportunity to show Nathan how much the Rabbitohs family loves him.”
South Sydney CEO Blake Solly
Jack Wighton said of having Merritt at Accor Stadium: “He’s one of the greats, and someone I looked up to when I was growing up, and when I was playing. The club loves him. I got to know him a bit outside of footy, and he’s an absolute champion. It will be awesome to see him on Friday, and hopefully in good spirits.

“Nathan Merritt is Nathan Merritt – everyone loved him, and everyone wanted to be like him coming through. He’s one of a kind.”

Souths CEO Blake Solly said of Merritt: “Our members and fans loved what Nathan achieved on the field, and he was always a crowd favourite here.

“Everyone at the Rabbitohs were shocked when his diagnosis was announced, and we were inundated with offers of support.

“Friday will be an opportunity for those fans and members to give Nathan the reception and support he deserves.

“This is our first opportunity to show Nathan how much the Rabbitohs family loves him”.

Campbell Graham returns from a shoulder injury as Souths chase their third win in four games.

My Match preview ahead of Friday game!

Well here we are Game Day is just about in us not too far to go as we go into another massive Good Friday clash. They are always big and we have a fierce rivalry v the Bulldogs. It’s always a game I look forward too every Easter always a big crowd a great atmosphere the Easter Show next door too. Over the years in this clash we have had a good record against the Dogs but last year was a horror show it was the Dogs home game there was 67,000 people there from memory of which 80-85percent were Dogs fans and we got flogged I think the score was 32-0 and sitting through it was painful and the way some of those Dogs fans were carrying on it hurt a lot. So now I want revenge 12 months later. I would love nothing more than to win this Friday. I will be going to the game with Dad and I know of people that are going too with family and relatives and are looking forward to it. It’s our first home game back home at Accor as well for season 2026 and it feels like it’s ages since I have been there. One things for sure the Dogs fans will turn out in force they always do and I’d like to see a much better turn out this time around from our members and fans. Also what make the occasion bigger is this game is to help support and honour Nathan Merritt and his family and Nathan as we know is going through a horrid health battle with terminal cancer he’s having a very rough time and he will be ringing the legacy bell just before the boys run on this Friday. Nathan deserves 40,000 Rabbitohs faithful to be there for mine just seeing him get to lead the boys on is worth the price of admission alone this is a significant moment and should be treated as such. I won’t be afraid to say I’ll probs shed a couple of tears as we all will as he rings that bell just before the boys come on. I will be on my feet and giving Nathan a massive standing ovation. I’m sure I speak for all Souths members and fans when I say we all stand with him at this time and his family they are all in our thoughts often and in our prayers. I really hope the boys can get the win for Nathan too it would mean a lot to him. Also there is a raffle you can buy tickets I already have go onto the Souths website and buy some tickets with 50percent of the winning pool going to Nathan and his family to help support them. Tbh as I’ve already said yesterday I have bought some tickets and if I won I would give my 50percent share to Nathan and his family I wouldn’t hesitate.

Looking at the Dogs they have started the year 2 and 1 like us and they haven’t been at their best but they’ve been in the media a lot this week about their poor showing against Newcastle last week and I reckon they will show some sort of response this Friday. My mate works for the NRL he thinks this will be the game of the round because you have two contrasting styles Souths who like to try to all out attack and the Dogs who like to grind out wins and pray on the opposition and making them pay when they make errors. For the Dogs obviously we know what Tracey brings at the back. The big danger is Stephen Crichton and the number of times he’s pulled our pants down I’m sick of it. We need to shut him down as best as we can he’s the danger man as is Kiraz who loves to offload and create second phase play. In the halves the other danger man is Burton when he’s on he’s hard to stop so we must be alert to what he can throw at us and best try to stop it. Up front they probs have a somewhat mobile pack but they all know their role. M King will get through lots of work up front. Also another danger man is Kikau who I can’t stand we need to shut him down too as best as we can. Off the bench they have Sitili and Hayes who will come on and make an impact we just need to negate that as best as we can. What we can’t do is let the Dogs offload at will as they’ll make us pay.

For us it’s great to have Campbell back that’s a big in and he will have a job on his hands shutting down those Burton high balls but I have full faith in Campbell. Trell and Cody I want to see them be more disciplined this week than last week and across the board our discipline must be better. If we give away that many penalties and six agains and drop as much ball as we did against Wests the Dogs will make us pay big time. Up front we need to win that battle I feel so we will need big games from Keaon and Junior. Our back row too will all need to be on song I want to see Fifita and Duncan charging into the Dogs defence and really asking questions and for Cody and Jamie to help create for them as well. We all know what Cam will do he does it every week. Pete has been playing that role off the bench very well when he comes on 25mins in when there is fatigue in the game and I want to see him asking questions again of the Dogs defence with his darts from dummy half and his crafty work he can do around the ruck. Keppie, Hubner and Le Blanc need to do a job too and especially when Cam has a 10-15 mins breather we need to be alert to try to not leak soft points either side of half time. To get this done on Friday we need an 80mins switched on performance. I don’t want to see us trying to score off every play too we need to complete high be patient and build pressure. I want to see an improvement in our line speed as well. Most of all we need to want it more than them and play well and have a focus on doing those little areas very well.

Ok not long til the players come out here on this Easter Good Friday let’s make it an even better Good Friday by making sure we do all we can in the stands to get the boys home with those vital 2 competition points. Great to be back at home at Accor and seeing so much Cardinal and Myrtle in those stands. Let’s make sure we get that South Sydney chant going up and around Accor for the full 80mins. And ringing the Rabbitohs Legacy bell will be former Rabbitohs player life member and club legend Nathan Merritt who is dealing with significant health issues currently but we are all so thankful he can be here today so I ask every single Rabbitohs Member and supporter onya feet and give a massive standing ovation to Nath when he does ring that bell to lead our boys on.

Ok as we look down the tunnel here at the Rabbitohs home ground we can see the visitors this afternoon making their way down the tunnel……….. Rabbitohs Members Rabbitohs supporters please give a warm South Sydney welcome to the Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs…………..

OK RABBITOHS MEMBERS AND RABBITOHS SUPPORTERS ITS TIME TO GET ON YOUR FFFFFEEEEEEEEETTTTTTTTTTTTTTT…………..

10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1………………..

SHOW THE COLOURS CLAP YA HANDS WAVE YA FLAGS AND SCREAM YOUR LUNGS OUT………… HERE THEY ARE YOUR South Sydney RRRRAAAABBBIIITTTOOOHHHHHSSSS!!!

ALL RABBBITOHS STAND UP ALL RRAAABBBBIIITTTOOOHHHSSS STAND UP ALL RRRAAAABBBIIIIITTOOOHHHSSSSS!!!

South Sydney CLAP CLAP CLAP

My tip Rabbitohs by 4 in a heart stopper.

P.S. The Dogs have a very vocal fan base everyone bring your voices on Friday the boys need us let’s not sit there and make no noise let’s show that we are indeed the oldest loudest proudest and let’s get it done for Merro too!

Money is tight but I wanted to chip in that’s $10 on the raffle and I chipped in $20 for the go fund me. If I had more I could spare I would’ve but I guess it all helps.

Go you good things! We got it done for Merritt that was the most important thing today that one was for him!