Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rabbitohs Rumors, Signings and News

LIAM KNIGHT​

Liam Knight’s future remains up in the air as we draw closer to November 1.

The Canterbury forward joined the club mid-season in 2023 from South Sydney, after struggling to make an impact following a serious knee injury in 2022.

Knight impressed to close out last season and was expected to continue to improve in 2024.

However, the recruitment of Josh Curran and Kurt Mann, as well as the emergence of Sam Hughes meant the middle-forward was resigned to playing majority of his football in NSW Cup.

The 29-year-old posted a farewell message to his Instagram last month thanking the Bulldogs and fans for their support.

South Sydney have firmed as the favourites to secure his signature.

That is according to the SMH’s Adrian Proszneko who report the club is trying to find a spot in their top-30 roster to bring Knight back to the club.

“He’s got a little bit of history with Wayne Bennet, so that could make sense,” he said on SEN.

speedster

Hell no to Liam Knight returning. Would be better off installing an ashtray on your motor bike than getting him back.

There's still a little wiggle room for our squad if they were willing to be creative. Short of Ilias being tempted by an offer elsewhere that gives him a greater chance of returning to 1st grade than at Souths, such as the Dragons (I think the Roosters are gunning for hunt, hence the ditching of May because, they're so loyal to contracted players who don't want to leave), but what clubs can also do is bump one of their minimum wage guys back out of the top 30 (currently that would be either Fletcher or Mellars) back down to NSW Cup level and expand their cap space by that amount ($120k?) which gets added to what little currently remains and it may mean we can get a bit more bang for our back even if Ilias doesn't end up leaving.

But there are better forwards than Knight out there (such as Lisati) we could also nab on close to minimum wage as well as afford a budget priced gun winger like, say, JAC for maybe $300k?

It's doable.

BotanyBorn&Bred

LIAM KNIGHT​

Liam Knight’s future remains up in the air as we draw closer to November 1.

The Canterbury forward joined the club mid-season in 2023 from South Sydney, after struggling to make an impact following a serious knee injury in 2022.

Knight impressed to close out last season and was expected to continue to improve in 2024.

However, the recruitment of Josh Curran and Kurt Mann, as well as the emergence of Sam Hughes meant the middle-forward was resigned to playing majority of his football in NSW Cup.

The 29-year-old posted a farewell message to his Instagram last month thanking the Bulldogs and fans for their support.

South Sydney have firmed as the favourites to secure his signature.

That is according to the SMH’s Adrian Proszneko who report the club is trying to find a spot in their top-30 roster to bring Knight back to the club.

“He’s got a little bit of history with Wayne Bennet, so that could make sense,” he said on SEN.
this is very depressing

Its a big big big YES from me mate.

Speedster the problem is not one club wants ilias and you can't blame the clubs he was a dud and he has dug his heels in with one more year to go you can't blame him for that he has nowhere to go lol. Infact he couldn't was clearys socks or do a shoe shine even on old grandpa adam reynolds boots he is a modern day dud tries a lot but gets nowhere ffs..

Handy we need terrell may more so than an outside back.cam out tom gone 2 down terrell may would be a godsend at this point of time...

Handy I just read on here from the smh that knight is firming to go to our club please tell me handy its april fools day today please handy im begging you mate it is April handy?.the next thing will be ilias getting a 3yr extension mamouzelos got a 3yr extension the board room must be skulling chivas regal up in the boardroom day and night lol.

Handy if knight returns ello has to go he is our recruitment officer did you know that I think its time to give reggie a rest and put the bunny suit on ello.

speedster

Speedster the problem is not one club wants ilias and you can't blame the clubs he was a dud and he has dug his heels in with one more year to go you can't blame him for that he has nowhere to go lol. Infact he couldn't was clearys socks or do a shoe shine even on old grandpa adam reynolds boots he is a modern day dud tries a lot but gets nowhere ffs..
He has been mentioned as one of the options in the halves for the dragons considering they are now desperate to replace Hunt. If all of the other options fall over, Ilias may be the last man standing and they may take him. Particularly as he has past combo with Cooky. We can only hope.

Looks like they are going for Doueihi first though now that Trindall is out of the question. If Doueihi says no, then strap yourself in for a possible early Chrissy pressie. ;)

He has been mentioned as one of the options in the halves for the dragons considering they are now desperate to replace Hunt. If all of the other options fall over, Ilias may be the last man standing and they may take him. Particularly as he has past combo with Cooky. We can only hope.

Looks like they are going for Doueihi first though now that Trindall is out of the question. If Doueihi says no, then strap yourself in for a possible early Chrissy pressie. ;)

Speedster if I could give stmerge an early Xmas present it would be ilias + mamouzelos for free.

Speedster could you imagine ilias and Mamouzelos playing top notch first grade footy week in and week out for the purple puke id like to see that, yes I just woke up from my fantasy speedster lol ..that was some dream mate! Hang on speedster I can hear ello in another dream of mine yelling out no no no souths need ilias and Mamouzelos they are our future lol.