Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rabbitohs signings, rumours and injuries 2015-16 Part 2

DiegoNT

Like we discussed the other day this is never going to happen. How are Broncos going to fit him in the cap? I think he's on about 800k here the NRL may allow him to sign for a reduced figure owing to his age and health but it's still going to be at least 600k I would guess. How much is Roberts on?

Roberts was rumoured to be getting close to 400k a season when it was being negotiated in the off season, but i believe he settled for less to go to the donkeys . The big change in the story is Parkers retirement. He would be on decent money, plus the nature of his retirement was weird. All year he he has been saying he thinks he has a few years in him, he had been trying to negotiate a one year extension, then suddenly he retires? It looks likely the broncos tapped him on the shoulder. 350k from roberts, at least 350k from parker, broncos creative accounting and the nrl's 'we see nothing sus about broncos' approach means that this can't be ruled out

We don't even know what really goes on at our own club in regards to recruitment etc all done behind closed doors,how are we able to even vaguely know what other teams are negotiating and who with and who is moving on and why and where to and how much it may leave in the cap if anything
Tbh Roberts would be great for us
We need some strike

I have some mail that GI being on so much money as a centre dosent sit well and a player swop between GI and Roberts who really hasnt fit in at broncos, may be considered. His knee problems etc are not suited to a dominant role and running through forwards is over and should never have been his job

Roberts better not be another Grevs or Carter again with his poor attitude as we know.

Roberts turned us down for this season to play under Bennett. He pretty much wasted our time in negotiations and I reckon he did it on purpose.

If he gets his attitude right we all know what he can do.

Interesting...........

Pommy

handyman2190

Roberts was rumoured to be getting close to 400k a season when it was being negotiated in the off season, but i believe he settled for less to go to the donkeys . The big change in the story is Parkers retirement. He would be on decent money, plus the nature of his retirement was weird. All year he he has been saying he thinks he has a few years in him, he had been trying to negotiate a one year extension, then suddenly he retires? It looks likely the broncos tapped him on the shoulder. 350k from roberts, at least 350k from parker, broncos creative accounting and the nrl's 'we see nothing sus about broncos' approach means that this can't be ruled out

handyman2190

Thats brilliant deduction and analysing thats exactly the case add to that Reed is on the nose big time and will be shown the door and they would have the money,parker is on about 450 plus roberts 250 plus 3rd parties 350 GI would have to accept less being in the centres

I believe GI said he would make a quick decision at the end of the season and wouldn't let it drag on. I don't remember him saying he would see out his contract.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...n/news-story/ebaaf8d63b8c042255f4cbb46165c785

I wouldn't be sad if we lost GI gained Roberts and an extra 400k in the cap.

Well I remember Newc/Southsport posted an article saying he'd see his contract through which ends at the end of 2017.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nrl...s/news-story/65fdfbcd5030bfca9c4b40834c828265

GI says here with his own words he will see his options after 2017 etc.....

rabbitohs95

I wish they'd get moving and re-sign Brown.

It's a big priority.

Same here. Great young forward and I hope he'd want to repay the faith the club has put in him.

At this stage I wouldn't be too upset if we lost Carter, but he'd be nice to keep.

What positions do you think we should target for next year R20?

Sorry about being MIA some of the posts on here were pissing me off plus I just finished uni, but i'll be more active for the next few weeks.

Same here. Great young forward and I hope he'd want to repay the faith the club has put in him.

At this stage I wouldn't be too upset if we lost Carter, but he'd be nice to keep.

What positions do you think we should target for next year R20?

Sorry about being MIA some of the posts on here were pissing me off plus I just finished uni, but i'll be more active for the next few weeks.

All good. Shoulder to shoulder. I'll be there against the Broncs in a couple of weeks giving my support.

Re Carter I wouldn't be too upset if he goes.

Why R95 hasn't Madge used Gosiewski more to see what he's got???

I think we need to sign a quality back if possible.

I wonder if Madge wants to keep Cody at fullback. I've heard. Madge wants to move Cody to 5/8 next season. That's mean AJ to fullback. This is an interesting one tbh.

I think we will chase another 5/8 too. Even if Cody plays 5/8 with injuries and maybe having to switch Cody to fullback for example then we'd need a 5/8. Maybe we will chase Benji for example.

On my wish list I'd have gone after Segeyaro. Tbh I don't think either of Cam or Damien are up to first grade standard. I believe Cam is an interchange player too.

R95 mate Rein is coming off contract for St George. Maybe we should chase Rein. He would be a bit of an upgrade on what we currently have.

We definitely need to buy about 3 forwards. One of the guys I'd chase is Tagataese or Moa.

I'm not sure what else is on the market though???? What are your thoughts??? I think if the forwards are going forward then the backs come into play even if they aren't the best backs. Forward recruitment is important for us as currently our pack lacks size. Mind you we have really missed Musgrove too.

R95 I don't think we can do a proper clean out until after 2017 as some players are still on contract.

Could be another long season next year too.

I just can't understand why we signed Nielsen. Just a waste.

Also the GI rumours to Brisbane are re surfacing.

Hopefully some solid recruitment can put us in the right direction a bit.

For 2018 we could be on the up again I reckon after having the cleanout completed.

Sorry if I'm rambling. I could probably continue lol.

rabbitohs95

All good. Shoulder to shoulder. I'll be there against the Broncs in a couple of weeks giving my support.

Re Carter I wouldn't be too upset if he goes.

Why R95 hasn't Madge used Gosiewski more to see what he's got???

I think we need to sign a quality back if possible.

I wonder if Madge wants to keep Cody at fullback. I've heard. Madge wants to move Cody to 5/8 next season. That's mean AJ to fullback. This is an interesting one tbh.

I think we will chase another 5/8 too. Even if Cody plays 5/8 with injuries and maybe having to switch Cody to fullback for example then we'd need a 5/8. Maybe we will chase Benji for example.

On my wish list I'd have gone after Segeyaro. Tbh I don't think either of Cam or Damien are up to first grade standard. I believe Cam is an interchange player too.

R95 mate Rein is coming off contract for St George. Maybe we should chase Rein. He would be a bit of an upgrade on what we currently have.

We definitely need to buy about 3 forwards. One of the guys I'd chase is Tagataese or Moa.

I'm not sure what else is on the market though???? What are your thoughts??? I think if the forwards are going forward then the backs come into play even if they aren't the best backs. Forward recruitment is important for us as currently our pack lacks size. Mind you we have really missed Musgrove too.

R95 I don't think we can do a proper clean out until after 2017 as some players are still on contract.

Could be another long season next year too.

I just can't understand why we signed Nielsen. Just a waste.

Also the GI rumours to Brisbane are re surfacing.

Hopefully some solid recruitment can put us in the right direction a bit.

For 2018 we could be on the up again I reckon after having the cleanout completed.

Sorry if I'm rambling. I could probably continue lol.

Hmm it's definitely a big topic of discussion.

Honestly looking at our best 17 there's a decent team there, but I do agree in terms of signing and going for a mini cleanout. Some players just shouldn't be there and have either not adapted or just gone over the hill.

I think i'll make a thread about who we should realistically target.

We have a young squad so we definitely need time to develop. So again, 2017 could very well be another rebuilding year. Honestly it's very frustrating but you have to take the good with the bad mate. Even when we do lose i'm just happy we're a well off club that has some of the best resources in the club.

A big thing I think we need is a cleanout of staff. David Ricchio, one of the journos who's frequently on the Sunday Footy Show reckoned today we'd have a coaching cleanout besides Madge during the week. Hopefully it's true, especially with the midseason loss of Troy Thompson, our support staff has been lacking.

Anyway mate, we have the bye so there'll be plenty of time to discuss and yarn about the footy. Just happy to support a great club.

Hmm it's definitely a big topic of discussion.

Honestly looking at our best 17 there's a decent team there, but I do agree in terms of signing and going for a mini cleanout. Some players just shouldn't be there and have either not adapted or just gone over the hill.

I think i'll make a thread about who we should realistically target.

We have a young squad so we definitely need time to develop. So again, 2017 could very well be another rebuilding year. Honestly it's very frustrating but you have to take the good with the bad mate. Even when we do lose i'm just happy we're a well off club that has some of the best resources in the club.

A big thing I think we need is a cleanout of staff. David Ricchio, one of the journos who's frequently on the Sunday Footy Show reckoned today we'd have a coaching cleanout besides Madge during the week. Hopefully it's true, especially with the midseason loss of Troy Thompson, our support staff has been lacking.

Anyway mate, we have the bye so there'll be plenty of time to discuss and yarn about the footy. Just happy to support a great club.

Yes it is a big topic.

There is a pretty good 17 there as you say, but it's the injuries that are killing us plus the young guys need that time to develop as you mention.

I think you making a thread in the coming week is a good idea. I've got a couple more ideas of who we could chase.

I'm sick of supporters/members calling for Madge to go. I've heard for a while that there was going to be an overhaul of the staff around Madge etc....... and that Madge will be kept which is the right decision imo.

I think some of the bandwagoner members will full away next season and we will get to see who the true members are so to speak.

Yes Thommo was a big loss to our HP. I was disappointed when he went.

When I get down I think to myself at least we have our great club/team to support always and that's the main thing.

More to come re Carter and what happens this next week or two as well. As you mentioned somewhere on here I agree I ain't to fussed if he goes. If he stays hopefully he lifts and gets better with his discipline as he's got the talent there.

Pommy

Wasn't the basis of the Cronk rumour he wanted to work with Madge? Seems a little unlikely as things stand.