Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RAIDERS FANS WE NEED YOUR HELP!

RifRaf

Folks below is our press release to help us save our ground. Any of you who have been to Leichhardt will know what fantastic and historic ground it is we'd love the support of our fellow league fans.. Please visit www.stoptherot.org and download and send the petition (it's free post) thanks in advance of your anticipated support.

Stop the rot!
SAVE LEICHHARDT OVAL!
23rd April 2004

Leichhardt Oval has been the Tigers home since 1934. There’s no better place to watch footy. But Leichhardt Oval is in urgent need of repair.
We need the Government to lend a hand.

This Sunday (25th April 04) when the Eagles take on the Tigers at Leichhardt Oval we will be launching our campaign to save Leichhardt Oval. We’ll be handing out petitions to pressure the state government to get behind us in our quest to secure Leichhardt Oval not only as a football ground but also as a community asset for many years to come.

In a game that is crying out for its traditions what better tradition is there than Sunday afternoon footy at Leichhardt oval. Please lend your support to our cause.

Please note that this is a supporter’s initiative and although both the Wests Tigers and Balmain Tigers football clubs are supporting us, the fans are driving this.

www.stoptherot.org

greeneyed

Sorry, I think governments have put enough money into stadiums in the centre of Sydney, and there are high quality alternatives pretty close to Leichhardt eg Aussie Stadium or Parramatta Stadium. Better to put money into hospitals or schools or areas underserviced by decent sporting facilities. Further upgrades to Penrith Stadium and Campbelltown would make more sense.

RifRaf

I respect your right to have your opinion but pls remeber it's not just state govt $ we're after it's in the most case Leichhardt Councils that has recently put a parking metre on every bit of spare street in the council area. Leichhardt oval is their property.. Leichhardt is also please remeber the following: " Leichhardt reminds of you of what our game is about, born from the suburbs for all. It’s no coincidence then that the very first games of the NSWRL in 1908 were all played within 2kms of Leichhardt Oval. –
At Birchgrove Reserve, Balmain over-ran Wests 24-0 and Souths beat Norths 11-7, while at Wentworth Park, Newtown beat Easts 32-16 and Glebe defeated Newcastle 8-5. In the two lower grades that day there were also teams representing Enfield, Sydney and Drummoyne."
History is something you can't rebuild or replace with another high denisity unit development... But as said before I respect your opinion..

greeneyed

It is fine to remember history, but there is rugby league history all over the place. It is here in Canberra too. It is up in Brisbane. It is all over the place. Sydney doesn't have a monopoly on history. Just because of history, it doesn't justify a new stadium in 2004.

Plus, this is the Raiders forum. You can have your opinion, but don't expect to come in here and expect us to agree with you, especially as there have been serial Balmain supporters coming in here and hanging garbage on our club. I'm sure it isn't you, but frankly, there are multiple Balmain trolls coming in here and abusing the hell out of us Raiders fans, and now you expect us to help you!!!!

Balmain trolls have been just about as bad as Roosters fans in here. Almost worse.

Forget it!!!!!

RifRaf

As I said mate I respect your opinion and please don't let a couple of bad eggs spoil the whole bunch.. As you'd know from home and away games with us most tiges fans are a good bunch as are your lot.

RifRaf

greeneyed said:
Better to put money into hospitals or schools or areas underserviced by decent sporting facilities. .
Part of the upgrade proposal is to open up its facilities to the local schools which they currently cannot.. This proposal is not just for the football games mate.

greeneyed

This thread really should be over in the Wests Tigers forum. Go and ask Simon and his mates about how nice they are to us Raiders fans.

RifRaf

Mate It is there I'm sorry if they've given it to you but, I haven't, so please do as I will to you, and don't judge someone for others sins.

greeneyed

I just think it ironic that Balmain supporters are the ones that have been most rude to us in this forum, and now someone from Balmain comes in here and asks for our help??!! It is just a bit rich to expect it!!!! Not your fault, but go and explain to your friends in the Tigers forum how their behaviour has consequences in terms of goodwill etc etc. Bottom line is your club is not well liked, at least with me.

If it were someone from say, Cronulla coming in, it would be a different story, as their supporters are always nice.

If it is the Leichhardt Council's problem, I don't expect they will pay too much attention to Raiders supporters in any event.

RifRaf

It's all helps mate.. So if you do decided to sign I thank you for it and will discourage any further "trolling" by others (please understand I usually use the official Tigers forum so I wasn't aware of them giving it to you).. I will admit to the occasional bit of Bunny baiting but those cuts go very deep.. :evil: You've had the last laugh on us anyhow mate "a little miracle try by chicka" saw to that (broke my heart in two still haven't recovered)... In my books that's the best come back you could use to anyone giving it to you there's no come back to that.... Good luck to your team this year buddy and as I said before if you choose to sign thanks, if not I respect your decision...

thickos

a noble venture RifRaf. I hate the tigers with a passion but Leichhardt needs a big overhaul, thats for sure. It would certainly make visits there for us at the SGB more enjoyable, plus its a great ground to view footy at so I hope you don't lose it (I wish we were playing there this year rather than that dump at leumeah).

I'll be sure to check out the link, just dont think that I like the Tigers though :lol:

RifRaf

No worries mate, just cause you sign doesn't mean you like us.. ;-) Where does all this dislike of the tiges come from Raiders fans? I always thought we got on well with you guys from when I've been to matches both our home game and at bruce.. And that GF win on us..... I've missed something... Well for what it's worth I like you guys and your team I've always thought are clashes have been good spirited matches.... I really am surprised.....

thickos

what greeneyed was saying earlier is partly the problem, the tigers have a lot of 'internet trolls' that shoot us down at every opportunity, probably as they are still bitter about '89.

Anyways I probably overstated my hatred a bit, I mean I dislike all the other clubs to varying degrees, primarily because they're not the Raiders! Plus I've had some ordinary experiences at Leichhardt, we had tigers 'fans' trying to burn holes in our flags with cigarette butts last season, that was pretty low.

anyways I got no problems with the fans, especially decent ones like yourself that are trying to make a difference. well done

RifRaf

Thanks mate, as said before don't let a couple of bad eggs spoil the whole bunch... Good luck with the rest of the year..

mike83au

No worries mate. I've signed the petition. Living in the inner west of Sydney, I know how important the Tigers are to the older generation who love their club and their ground.

Wish you all the best in your crusade :)

greeneyed

RifRaf said:
No worries mate, just cause you sign doesn't mean you like us.. ;-) Where does all this dislike of the tiges come from Raiders fans? I always thought we got on well with you guys from when I've been to matches both our home game and at bruce.. And that GF win on us..... I've missed something... Well for what it's worth I like you guys and your team I've always thought are clashes have been good spirited matches.... I really am surprised.....

As mentioned, your club has the worst behaved supporters, after the Roosters, on this forum. There are heaps of them, not a few. They go out of their way to be incredibly rude about our club. No doubt because the Raiders won in 1989, and now Balmain will never win another Premiership because of the merger. But it doesn't excuse the bad behaviour. And it rankles. So you can't expect us to feel nice about Balmain in return.