Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Raiders Recruiting Drive

Western_Eel

The 2010 American National Rugby League season starts on Saturday, June 5 and one team determined to make its mark this year is the Northern Raiders.

For the first time since its formation, the club has brought in players from overseas to join its predominantly homegrown roster.
The rationale for importing the two Australians is to help bring more structure to the club’s game plan as the Raiders are renowned for their somewhat unorthodox style.
"We open it up every play," says assistant coach Tim Lawrence. "We can strike from anywhere and we will attack both sides in the same play on our second touch.
“Teams just don't try that stuff on the first tackle, but that's what makes us dangerous and fun.”
The club was established in 2002 and prides itself on finding and promoting homegrown talent.
Prior to signing on, captain and Connecticut native Tony Kalamas had never played either union or league, yet he is now a top 25 try-scorer in the AMNRL.
Matt Reilly of Long Island is a solid union player who has adapted well to both league and sevens.
“There are a lot of differences between union and league,” says another local player Justin Coffman. "I love them both, but league is a good place for players with natural ability to excel every game no matter what position on the field.
“This is open field action for all 80 minutes. Imagine five penalty plays in a row with a sort of 10s or sevens feel to it. Open subs like hockey. It’s great and everyone plays a ton. That's league in a nutshell."
The Raiders want to grow Rugby League in the Northeast and consequently are aiming the bulk of their recruiting efforts at union players in the Tri-state area of NY/CT/NJ, but they’re also willing to put up any American players from anywhere in the country and give them a chance to try the 13-man code.
There are several spots still open on the club’s roster for this season and they’re keen to hear from any interested players.
For more information on joining the club, please email Raiders GM Joel Venables at [email protected]

Western_Eel

Whats going on? with all these clubs getting players from overseas, they must be paying them, has the amnrl come into some money or something?

Hey Western. I'm Matt, coming over to the US to play for the Raiders this year with my mate Dan. Nah not getting paid mate. We are both young guys who have been given the opportunity to travel to America and not have to worry about accommodation, while at the same time playing the game we love... What more incentive do we need?

I have told friends and family how I am going over to America and they can't believe it. Footy boys don't even know that they have that option! I am telling you now, if it gets advertised out here that people can go to USA to play footy you will have no problem getting young aussie guys over.

So what is it like in the AMNRL. Myself and Dan are itching to come over. We can't wait. Is there much atmosphere at the game? Crowds?

deluded pom?

Hey Western. I'm Matt, coming over to the US to play for the Raiders this year with my mate Dan. Nah not getting paid mate. We are both young guys who have been given the opportunity to travel to America and not have to worry about accommodation, while at the same time playing the game we love... What more incentive do we need?

I have told friends and family how I am going over to America and they can't believe it. Footy boys don't even know that they have that option! I am telling you now, if it gets advertised out here that people can go to USA to play footy you will have no problem getting young aussie guys over.

So what is it like in the AMNRL. Myself and Dan are itching to come over. We can't wait. Is there much atmosphere at the game? Crowds?

Thanks for posting ratw. It would be good if you could keep the rest of us up to speed with your experiences of the Raiders and the AMNRL. I suppose the answer to your question depends on who you will be playing. Some AMNRL teams really try and get the game a profile and get some decent crowds whilst some will only play in front of basc "crowds". Best of luck and please keep us informed on how things are going.

roopy

The AMNRL is the equivalent of a NSW country league, but played in New York, Washington, Boston and Florida.
A bit better than playing in Dubbo or Cootamundra.

No worries at all dp. Will definately keep you guys updated on how it goes. Unfortunately due to university committments, myself and Dan won't be joining the team til July.

We are both pumped to come over. Can't wait to experience the New Jersey summer as well as play some footy. I have to say that team manager Joel Venables has been awesome in helping us out. He has taken it upon himself to organise accommodation for us, and calls us regularly to keep us posted and up to date with everything. He couldn't be more of a welcoming and helpful person to communicate with and his attitude is sure to be doing great things for the game in USA.

Stiff07nz

No worries at all dp. Will definately keep you guys updated on how it goes. Unfortunately due to university committments, myself and Dan won't be joining the team til July.

We are both pumped to come over. Can't wait to experience the New Jersey summer as well as play some footy. I have to say that team manager Joel Venables has been awesome in helping us out. He has taken it upon himself to organise accommodation for us, and calls us regularly to keep us posted and up to date with everything. He couldn't be more of a welcoming and helpful person to communicate with and his attitude is sure to be doing great things for the game in USA.

you will be in for a interesting time with the Raiders mate, are they still playing out of Walkill Airport, Upstate NY?

A couple of the boys have offered to put us up for the time we are there.

Whats the go with the draw? I noticed we (Raiders) only play 3 or 4 teams in the 8 game season. Do teams only play other teams that are nearby? And then how does the finals system work?

And I have to ask... are there awesome summer college parties with red cups like in the movies??? hahaha :D

Stiff07nz

A couple of the boys have offered to put us up for the time we are there.

Whats the go with the draw? I noticed we (Raiders) only play 3 or 4 teams in the 8 game season. Do teams only play other teams that are nearby? And then how does the finals system work?

And I have to ask... are there awesome summer college parties with red cups like in the movies??? hahaha :D

Thats good that you got the accomodation sorted. will be a lot of fun!

I think the comp has been split into sections, because of travel and costs...

haha and college is out for the summer, they on a break. although the league season finishes right at the start of the fall semester so no doubt you will catch the start of the college mayhem haha

I would have thought that they would party harder during the holidays rather than in semester??? Things really are opposite over there. No wonder u guys are on the opposite side of the world haha but no doubt that NYC will provide many many good times to attend to.

Im also keen to go catch some NBA, NFL and NHL games. Will they be in season?

deluded pom?

The NFL finishes in January and kicks off again around October time (?) I think. The NHL tends to be a winter season too and not sure about the NBA but the MLB season should be in full swing (pardon the pun). And stop watching third rate college movies. :D

Stiff07nz

I would have thought that they would party harder during the holidays rather than in semester??? Things really are opposite over there. No wonder u guys are on the opposite side of the world haha but no doubt that NYC will provide many many good times to attend to.

Im also keen to go catch some NBA, NFL and NHL games. Will they be in season?

haha nah they party hard during the semesters then head back home to were they live or work etc etc. interships and stuff like that. you wont find a dull moment in nyc though.

nba will be finished the play offs are now. celtics v lakers, baseball will be going, nfl will be almost starting, ice hockey is in play offs now as well.

The NFL finishes in January and kicks off again around October time (?) I think. The NHL tends to be a winter season too and not sure about the NBA but the MLB season should be in full swing (pardon the pun). And stop watching third rate college movies. :D

hahaha American pie 1, 2 and 3 all the way

juro

Good to see you are going for all the right reasons... :lol:

Just remember, you are an ambassador of Australia!