Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ramifications

Thought I'd start a new thread because this is what is the most important issue now. Ramifications........there will be many.

Firstly Anderson did not leave on happy terms as wrongly reported by some. There will be some court action for sure which should drag on for most of next season. More headlines in the papers to distract players and most likely money spent on lawyers and probable final payout for which the club can ill afford.

Our best player will be filthy. Whether Noddy will have the same passion and determination about the place we will have to wait and see. Under Anderson he has always fired....... under other coaches he has struggled.

Phil Bailey is highly likely to move on. The crap I have read written about this guy on this forum lately is alarming. Obviously those people didn't go to games last year because I reckon he was one of our top three players. He is only going to get better and the rep games he played last year will only bring him on quicker. Obviously the board think rep players are expendable.

Which brings me to that rotten stench we have in the Leagues Club. The board of directors. The players have no faith in them. Outsiders think they are a joke. Yet they stay in this whole mess. A lot of fans have had a gutful of their antics and some will show their grief of the boards decisions in overseeing this with their feet and hip pocket. I am one of them. I will not be renewing my 3 season tickets in the Peter Burns stand for 2004. I will also be sending a letter to the club stating why I am not renewing with the application renewal form. The club will not be getting $1200 which is usally spent at the ground plus the cost of my tickets.

Player retention will be interesting in the next 2 to 3 years. So many up incoming juniors were in awe of Anderson. They may be swayed that they might learn better about the game elsewhere. Phil Gould & Co. have plenty of pull and $$$$.

Player recruitment. Thank god we bought well for next season. Because I can tell you now if you were an opposition player would you come to this joint whilst this current board presides? Doesn't exactly smack of direction and leadership.

Sponsors. Some might of wanted Anderson to go . But I can tell you plenty wanted him to stay. If we have any further dramas (Most Likely) they are sure to pack up the tents and go.

Apparently the incoming coach was a big fan of Treister. If you want to roll a hand grenade into the Sharks camp then bring him back. It is well publicised the spat he and Kimmorley had. If you want to unsettle the team then roll him back in.

If anyone thought that sacking Anderson would deliver a rainbow over the Shire you are very nieve. The drama is just starting to unfold. The power struggle on and off the field will be bigger than anything before. :cry:

One thing - noddy was brilliant at hunter mariners, i think he played under goldthorpe and he was good for australia when john lang was coach

Ramifications? Who knows, we can only speculate. Give it time to play out, then we can have a whinge about the ramifications.

So far, the only confirmed ramification is that a few Anderson apologists are a little cheesed off.

I will not be renewing my 3 season tickets in the Peter Burns stand for 2004. I will also be sending a letter to the club stating why I am not renewing with the application renewal form. The club will not be getting $1200 which is usally spent at the ground plus the cost of my tickets.

So you're a Chris Anderson supporter, not a Cronulla supporter?

beerboy

heres a ramification!!!

a scrum midfield, the backline set deep, ball comes out and goes through each back in a beautiful set backline move for a try

the entertaining Sharks, who use to be everyones 2nd favourite team are back!!!

Garbo, I cannot vote off the board. This is the only way I can show my disgust in how the board have conducted themselves.

Surely there's a better way of showing your displeasure without actually harming the club? If the sacking of Anderson is the first step towards extinction, then surely if fans stop paying the bills then that is the second step.

sharknows

El Garbo said:
Surely there's a better way of showing your displeasure without actually harming the club? If the sacking of Anderson is the first step towards extinction, then surely if fans stop paying the bills then that is the second step.
The board will destroy this club through it's nepotic management.

Look Garbo I see where your coming from. I live approximately 1 hour 20min drive from Cronulla. But that has necer dettered me. I used to catch 2 trains and travel for a couple of hours when I was still at school to get to games.

But for me the interest now is certainly waning. I've been to the tragic semi's and I've forgiven the broken promises in the past. But the way the Club is heading I ceretainly don't have much left in the tank. Tonites decision just smacks of the board just trying to take the heat off themselves. Self preservation above sensible logical thinking that will ultimately damage the club. I think that just stinks. The players will be devastated.

Location: Mackay Nth Qld. Get out of the sun you have sun stroke.

Don't know when you will come to your senses.............

ali

El Garbo said:

Well said. No matter how much I agree or disagree about a decision my club has made, I will always support them. Hurting them financially is no good for anyone. If you want our club to disappear, sure don't go to any games in 2004. I know some supporters will have this attitude. Dragon Slayer I wouldn't have thought you would be one. Deep down I think most will have calmed down by round 1 next year and will be back at Shark Park.

But if we had continued to play the boring, uninspiring footy of this season and the fruit loop coach decided to kick out another couple of long serving players, then I also think many, many fans wouldn't have been to many games this new year. As I said elsewhere, I think we were in a lose-lose situation.