Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rat not Back?

Good luck in whatever you do Rat. How are you going to feel when we win the comp next year?

SirShire

f**ken mongrel.

If the c*** has the nerve to show his ugly head at De La again, he'll be sure to cop a sweet f**king serve.

SirShire

I am gutted that he has had Sharks fans on the edge of their seats for the past few months, giving us the run around.

Lockyer?

Shark

WHAT? He went out there and PUT us on the edge of our seats, did he?

He has NEVER categorically stated that he was coming back.

He said he was keen, he admitted that there had been talks, he said that IF he played League again then it would have to be at the Sharks.

He ALSO said that Union still had alot to offer, and there were still things he wanted to achieve in that game.

Just because we became obsessed with him coming back, to 'save' us by taking on the 5/8 role, that's hardly his fault.

And if any of you think that he didn't very genuinely consider coming back, that it was all just a fishing expedition designed to 'get us on the edge of our seats and give us the run-around', you're deadset kidding yourselves.

Like I said earlier, the NRL and the Sharks were simply out-bid. That our CODE has decided that our superstar players cannot be paid that much is hardly Mat's fault.

beekershark

Geez , there are either some very upset people here that we got beat again last night and are taking out their anger on Rogers Jnr, or some complete tossers.

Either way, very little common sense is being talked.

imagine the bitchy dribble coming from the many feeble mouths here if Rogers DID sign for the kind of figure that the sharks offered ( $400,000) and then was forced to sit out for 6 months next season with an ankle injury ? you would all be blowing up about him being over paid and injury prone.

The fact is , that figure doesn't even TOUCH the amount the ARU has signed him for, I'm not talking about $50,000 or $100,000 a year difference.

Lote was offered the same kind of figure I believe and knocked it back.

Why is it Matt Rogers fault that he has made a decision ?

People here are saying he is not welcome back at the club to watch games etc etc etc, can I ask what has changed to make you feel that way between yesterday and today ? He made a decision , that's all. Like Shark says, and rogers admitted today in the paper, the sharks and dragons were the only clubs hunting him away from Union.

He is an elite footballer off contract, Rogers , like EVERY person in his situation got offers to change his current situation, he went public by saying he had a choice, to go back to his old league club, or to stay at the ARU/ Yesterday he made the call to stay.....

excuse me, am I missing something ? where is the CRIME in the above actions by Rogers ?

So he said the club is in a re-building phase...............too close to the truth for some fans to accept ?

He is an injury prone 5/8 whon is a magician with the ball in hand and free running play, who would have a target on his chest for every league defence he played against next year..............PLaying behind an inconsistent pack who lacks mongrel every couple of weeks is something you would have to consider would you not ?

I think our problems lay in the players already signed, not ones that were a possibility of signing. COmments by our captain and star halfback in todays match reports in the printed press should be more concerning to our fans

" I hope our loss tonight will not harm my chances of being picked in the origin team"

Glad to see the priorities after a loss are all about " the team" nod !

beekershark

Here's another thought........

Should he have signed ,Rogers would not have been the only over paid member of the club staff who had his pay cheque signed .......

and I mean GROSSLY over paid.

we have more issues at the club than not re-signing one of our favorite sons.

"Weighing up my options I felt the Sharks were in a rebuilding phase and by the time they were ready to challenge to win the comp I may have been phased out as an old-timer. That's not to say that Cronulla won't challenge in the coming years, but it was a risk I wasn't really ready to take."
:lol: Funny stuff that

Doesnt think the Sharks can win the comp so he's staying at the Waratahs
They'll never win the Super 12s, ever.

RICHO

Beeks, I'm not so much upset about him not signing with the Sharks, as about what he said in the papers.

Shooting his mouth off about how we won't challenge for a Premiership and sh!t like that. Come on mate, you can't say you like hearing that can you?

Mate, if he came out and said that he signed with Union for the money, I'd have no problem. I'd applaud him for looking after his family. It just seems like a bullsh!t excuse that's all.

ali

Rogers can go and get farked. He's a big headed wanker that likes the percieved fame that goes with playing Union. Like Wendell he probably thinks it fantastic that a few people in Japan and Argentina now know who he is. If he genuinly cared about Cronulla then he would have taken on the challenge of helping us rebuild.

Signing him back would have always been risky. And in a way I'm glad we didn't after I read an article this week in one of the mags. Basically all the CEO's were asked to evaluate how much they'd pay for Rogers and Lote and the amount Sludge quoted, which I think was 450000 for Rat, made me extremely worried that we would be paying over the odds for a bloke who would probably spend half the season injured. Most others quoted between 250000 and 350000. I too doubt whether his body would have been up to it. He must be quite a croc now after all the injuries he's had.

And despite what Blacktip said in the other thread, I'm confident we've got a 5/8 within the ranks, and I'm sure in the negotiations it was mentioned to Rat that he was no guarentee of being our 5/8 long term. Centre was a more likely option.

SirShire

ali said:
Rogers can go and get farked. He's a big headed wanker that likes the percieved fame that goes with playing Union. Like Wendell he probably thinks it fantastic that a few people in Japan and Argentina now know who he is. If he genuinly cared about Cronulla then he would have taken on the challenge of helping us rebuild.

:clap:

Don't know why there's so much anti-Rogers sentiment in here. I wasn't really expecting him to return, and I certainly have no hard feelings against him for that.

So he pointed out we're in a re-building period... so what? Its the f**king truth.

You lot might all hate him, but he's still in my good books. One of the greatest Sharks I ever got to see play and those memories will be with me for a long long time. Well done Matty, shame you had to stay with rugger but all the best with it anyway.

Booyah

I'm pretty disappointed but I can understand his decision.

The bloke only wants what is best for him, and his family. Who can argue with that?

If he thinks Rah-Rah can provide him with what he wants, then good bloody luck to him.

bubs

It was always a choice between the SHarks and Yawnion.
Mat Rogers would have NEVER EVER played for another club.
He tried to up his contract offer by making the statements he made, and it sounds like Yawnion came to the party.
It's human nature to try and get the best you can get.
As Beeker said, no crime has been committed.

Jimbo

RICHO said:
Mate, if he came out and said that he signed with Union for the money, I'd have no problem. I'd applaud him for looking after his family.

Gee, I'd like to believe that...

This is very disappointing news, but at the end of the day it is Mat's decision, and his alone. Mat said he had to change his mind a few times, and I don't doubt that for a second. True to his word though, it was either Cronulla or union. The thought of him wearing the red and white snotrag makes me physically sick...

Good luck for the next three years Matty, there's still at least one bloke here who recognises you as one of the greatest players ever to run out in the Black, White and Blue.

Objective One

grab a dose of reality - what does the Rat owe us? he tried for several seasons to get someone to listen to his request to move closer to the action off the wing under BOTH Lang and Anderson but no go. he goes to Union for a position in the action, Big $, a World Cup (which, let's be honest, is an event that just makes anything in League pale by comparison) and ongoing international games with true international following. he gets offered massively more $ to play out his elite days in union than coming back to the Sharks where the one big carrot would be the prospect of a premiership for a big $ discount and less travel so he asks himself - can the Sharkies really challenge for the premiership in the next three years so as to make that discount worth my family's while? replay Saturday night's game and look at each one of the errors, the woeful defence, the inability to come up with anything creative to get across the line despite spending 30 minutes of the second half camped in the Rooster's 20 and ask yourself how you would have voted if you were the Rat. he was just being honest, not shooting his mouth off. it doesn't mean he wants to see the Sharks do well any less than any one of you - in fact it probably breaks his heart more than most of yours to see what state the club is in and how close but far away they came to getting to that premiership while he was a Shark himself. so, IMhumbleO, get real, and recognise that the Rat has dealt in reality, the best interests of himself and his family and with a club that he gave his all to as a player who asked one thing of that club and couldn't get it (a move towards the action) and who moved on, not to another club but to a completely different code and set of opportunties that could set him up for life in a way that League could never offer. don't get me wrong, I don't like the fact that Union has been so successful in being able to create such a strong alternative for elite players and that it has eaten League's lunch as an international game and in the $ stakes, but it has. but to suggest the Rat is unwelcome because he has decided to stay and been honest about his view of the outlook for the Sharks in the next 3 years is just crap.

millersnose

lol

imagine if kimmorley did this - everyone would be bagging him for being greedy

as it is he is not involved and still gets the blame from some :lol: