Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd1: 405pm Parra v Storm GAME DAY THREAD in Melbourne 9/3/25

Gherkin

I know we’ve got a few outside backs unavailable, but I’ll find it very hard to watch another game where we have Tago named on the wing.
Pick Papi there, Richie Penisini, move Lomax out to his best position and pick a centre. Put anyone out there, it’s just can’t be Tago again.

Eelogical

They're pretty stupid if they can take confidence from that when Storm had put the cue in the rack at half time - perhaps stupider than the average rugby league fans?
We got done like a mid winter's Sunday dinner. Did you think we were seriously a chance? I didn't and we got one according to script.

JokerEel

The clubs number one priority should have been tall athletic wingers. Why we don't have a decent winger in our club is a mystery. Why can't we find a Coates or a Warbrik? The Storm know exactly what a winger needs to look like.

We have JAC who let's hope isn't on the way down...

I agree though our wingers haven't been good at all for a few seasons having Tago as your winger in round 1 isn't great.

I would have kept Gutho this year and played Iongi on the wing to learn this season. Let's face it we were not going to win the competition this year and having Gutho around could have helped the younger guys.

Eelogical

It wasn't great at times, but we did create some space at times and a better short kicking game may been more successful ......... but we need to factor in Smith with 0 nrl games, feeding Volkman with 5 Nrl games, with our fullback sweep option IIongi with 1 NRL game......along with an edge of Williams who isn't really an edge player or Guymer with only 2 games.....it was pretty inexperienced!
We'll learn and do better. More players to go and more to fill the void.

Tooooks

How can you make an assessment of a game you didn't watch???
I didn’t make an assessment, I made an assumption and a fairly facetious comment about Bellamy feeling sorry for JR.

Are you saying they didn’t take their foot off the throttle? Are you saying we don’t need a cleanout?

Pazza

I didn’t make an assessment, I made an assumption and a fairly facetious comment about Bellamy feeling sorry for JR.

Are you saying they didn’t take their foot off the throttle? Are you saying we don’t need a cleanout?

I'm saying if you ain't going to watch the game, your assumptions aren't worth anything

Pazza

We have JAC who let's hope isn't on the way down...

I agree though our wingers haven't been good at all for a few seasons having Tago as your winger in round 1 isn't great.

I would have kept Gutho this year and played Iongi on the wing to learn this season. Let's face it we were not going to win the competition this year and having Gutho around could have helped the younger guys.

Wats the point your just delaying his development

The younger guys, we're just going to have to wear the start up costs. Perfect time with Moses out

When a team is on, they're on. This result was no surprise, it was always by how much. I reckon merkins on here were thinking we were going to get done by 70 at half time, myself included. Next year is where it's at. This year will be all about 2026 while flushing the dunny.

I still think we have a lot to offer this season.
This was just one game. A disappointing start no doubt, against the most professional club in the NRL.
It might sound strange, but my "glass half full" attitude towards anything in life actually saw quite a few positives out there today.
Call me delusional, but I could actually see more optimism in the future than I have seen for years.
Melbourne are the benchmark with a spine like they have and the best coach in the history of the game. They also shit me to tears with the way they f**king cheat the laws of the game on the field and get away with it constantly.
If that is what it needs us to become, well I hope Ryles can bring that to this club. Nice guys are never winners.

Chipmunk

Just watched the presser which i I just attached the link

Some may disagree but I thought Ryles spoke well.

Didn't give any excuses but was calm and measured.

He knew how many missed tackles we had in both halves.

And identified about 4 players who don't have much experience and won't get better unless we put them out there and learn.

Its about continuous improvement and i guess after today the only way is truly up
Yeah, although he spoke well, I'm pretty confident now that we're a long way away from being competitive with genuine contenders.

I don't think the first half today will be a one off this season.

Chipmunk

Volkman wasn't terrible but what's he going to do behind a pack of forwards who were competley dominated.
Plus he hasn't played in almost 18 months or so.
Is Hawkins better? I don't think so and wouldn't be much difference between them.
Let's just say we need our forwards to step up and not be brutalised.
Also serious question is there anyone in this squad apart from Moses who has footy smarts?
That try Papenhuysen scored right before half-time was so obvious but no-one in that team clever enough to be awake to it...
The stark reality is that if one your halves is on 900k and is still playing, that the likes of Volkman and Hawkins should be able to just come in and do their job. But, the issue is that the bloke we're paying 900k is nothing more than a standard 400k side kick as a half.

We're totally f**ked without Moses.

King-Gutho94

Yeah, although he spoke well, I'm pretty confident now that we're a long way away from being competitive with genuine contenders.

I don't think the first half today will be a one off this season.
Yes It wouldnt surprise me if we have a Bulldogs like 2023 season under Ciraldo.

I recall a pretty average knights side put 66 on them midway through the year at homebush.

Without Moses unfortunately we have one hand tied behind our backs atm even though it's not an excuse.

We have a lot of deadwood to clean out.

Ryles made some tough calls clearing out RCG and Gutho.

Still has a few more to do

King-Gutho94

I still think we have a lot to offer this season.
This was just one game. A disappointing start no doubt, against the most professional club in the NRL.
It might sound strange, but my "glass half full" attitude towards anything in life actually saw quite a few positives out there today.
Call me delusional, but I could actually see more optimism in the future than I have seen for years.
Melbourne are the benchmark with a spine like they have and the best coach in the history of the game. They also shit me to tears with the way they f**king cheat the laws of the game on the field and get away with it constantly.
If that is what it needs us to become, well I hope Ryles can bring that to this club. Nice guys are never winners.
We won't be the only team to cop a flogging down there.

And a combination of Melbourne basically fully fit and us losing our most important in the 1st game of a new coach on a hot day contributed to it.

Unfortunately it's not an excuse the lack of effort in some parts of that 1st half was alarming.

And if Ryles wants to be taken seriously he can't have Kelma Tuilagi playing FG next week.

That's one player in the first 15 mins who let us down horrendously with a lack of effort and defensive attitude.