Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd14: 4pm Parra v Bulldogs GAME DAY THREAD @ Accor 9/6/25

Noise

Just to play devil's advocate for a quick minute...

Why would a quality player not see us as a good destination?

(1) We are building something special, and I think even non-Eels fans can agree that there is something building at Parramatta.

(2) We have the beat stadium in the country.

(3) We have some of the most rabid, passionate fans in the NRL

(4) We have Origin mainstays Mitch Moses, and Zac Lomax, and they're happy to be here.

(5) We probably have heaps of cash to splash on players.

(6) We have developed one of the most specialised coaching units in the NRL - we have a coach that specialises in backs, a forwards coach, a coach who has connections within the Polynesian community, a coach with experience coaching the other rugby code...

I'm not saying you're wrong, mate, but I do think we have more to offer than most realise.

Having said that, I cannot wait to see the back of Mark O'Neill.

I'll give Sarantinos a pass, simply because he was likely on the committee that got us Jason Ryles.
1. There is no evidence of us building anything special. The evidence points to the contrary.

Position on the ladder, sure.

But we've played good football against good sides.

We've come up short, true - but the improvement in the side is clear to see.

We are being hamstrung somewhat by our abysmal start to the season.

But I think it's fair to say that Iongi, Smith, and Tuivati are exciting prospects who are getting better every week.

Lomax is an elite outside back.

The team is far from perfect, but I would wager that some players might relish the challenge of being "the missing piece of the puzzle" to help turn the club around.

We've also had a lot of disruptions this season, too, with players being unavailable.

Keep the faith!

Noise

Position on the ladder, sure.

But we've played good football against good sides.

We've come up short, true - but the improvement in the side is clear to see.

We are being hamstrung somewhat by our abysmal start to the season.

But I think it's fair to say that Iongi, Smith, and Tuivati are exciting prospects who are getting better every week.

Lomax is an elite outside back.

The team is far from perfect, but I would wager that some players might relish the challenge of being "the missing piece of the puzzle" to help turn the club around.

We've also had a lot of disruptions this season, too, with players being unavailable.

Keep the faith!
Improvement for 20-30min a game doesn’t mean much if we aren’t winning games. Lots of teams have a few promising prospects and disruptions due to injury / suspension. I reckon we are going to sign more below average players because that’s all that want to come here .

Penrith were at the bottom of the table in mid-2019, with only two Origin players. Then they went on to make five straight grand finals.

This mofo has done it again! Cricket will be finished before final siren of tonight’s game

Falling Down Lol GIF by America's Funniest Home Videos

For all our sake, I hope you're wrong.

Just to play devil's advocate for a quick minute...

Why would a quality player not see us as a good destination?

(1) We are building something special, and I think even non-Eels fans can agree that there is something building at Parramatta.

(2) We have the beat stadium in the country.

(3) We have some of the most rabid, passionate fans in the NRL

(4) We have Origin mainstays Mitch Moses, and Zac Lomax, and they're happy to be here.

(5) We probably have heaps of cash to splash on players.

(6) We have developed one of the most specialised coaching units in the NRL - we have a coach that specialises in backs, a forwards coach, a coach who has connections within the Polynesian community, a coach with experience coaching the other rugby code...

I'm not saying you're wrong, mate, but I do think we have more to offer than most realise.

Having said that, I cannot wait to see the back of Mark O'Neill.

I'll give Sarantinos a pass, simply because he was likely on the committee that got us Jason Ryles.

Absolutely extraordinary. Well not really.
You make 6 valid points, yet Pou quotes just one (the bolded one) and chooses to take an alternative view for the sake of it. An opinion that others have pointed out that he wouldn't even know was true.
Astounding.

Absolutely extraordinary. Well not really.
You make 6 valid points, yet Pou quotes just one (the bolded one) and chooses to take an alternative view for the sake of it. An opinion that others have pointed out that he wouldn't even know was true.
Astounding.
Maybe you should keep your nose out of my discussion with Eelementary. He is one of the posters I agree with most often. In this case I disagreed with one of his points and explained why. There's no need for you to butt in and throw a hissy fit.