Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd17: Eels v Tigers GAME DAY THREAD @ Leichhardt Oval 9/7/22

Happy MEel

He's been in average form - he's normally better than that.

He's also made a few silly errors this year.
I have usually been a Gutho fan but he has been ordinary this year…as in the bottom half of fullbacks. I don’t like the fact that the leadership role has been thrust upon him. I don’t think he’s up to it and I think his onfield role would improve if that’s all he needed to focus on. Conversely, I actually think that Moses would flourish with that responsibility and the accountability would almost calm him and require him to focus across 80 minutes of footy.

IFR33K

@IFR33K laugh away you idiot ……but maybe listen to press conference and see the comment with the context…

that is in no way claiming our form has been great or not…..

You pelican!!

Wow relax dude. I’m laughing because you’re the last one defending the coach. I also found the presser a little amusing. Fancy bringing up your position on the ladder from 4 seasons ago.

Gazzamatta

So is where we have to be 6th, with a second week exit? Is that our goal? After 9 seasons at the helm, surely anything less than a prelim is a failure. I’ll accept a loss in a prelim as “progress” but surely anything else calls for a change.
Penrith are far and away favourites. Usually Storm, Chooks or Rabbits would be most likely contenders however all look to have regressed this year. Under normal circumstances it might be a great opportunity for our Eels to progress into the big one this year. Unfortunately while we have tread water the likes of Cows, Sharks etc have improved considerably.
Opportunity lost? Looks like it.
So do we just hope next year with a less settled roster will be an improving season? Cant say Im confident.

An ugly win but we'll take it. Wouldnt have won against a top 8 side with that performance. Once they were down on the scoreboard they finally worked out how to play basic football, not panic, control the game. Why dont they start like that every single friggin week?

Joshuatheeel

My point was exactly as I stated. It was a question which you didn’t answer.
Well we are 6th now and BA has stated tonight we are “miles” away from where we have to be….and last year we excited in week 2, and BA was pretty f**ken disappointed along with the team…

so I suspect a 6th finish or week 2 exit aren’t a goal of the team or something they would be happy with….

I have usually been a Gutho fan but he has been ordinary this year…as in the bottom half of fullbacks. I don’t like the fact that the leadership role has been thrust upon him. I don’t think he’s up to it and I think his onfield role would improve if that’s all he needed to focus on. Conversely, I actually think that Moses would flourish with that responsibility and the accountability would almost calm him.

I don't disagree.

Gutherson is not a leader.

But then, I'm unsure if Moses is...

Who in our 13 would make a good leader?

Dylan Brown - never gives up, but he's kind of in the Gutho mould of "watch my effort levels, and copy me", rather than a calming influence

Mitch Moses - hot, and cold, and does not keep a cool head under pressure

RCG - I think he'd make a decent leader, but not for 80 minutes

Mahoney - before he joined the Dogs, I had him pegged as a future captain

Paulo - not a leader, imo

Papali, Lane - no leadership qualities imo

Brown - leads by example, but questions over his composure under pressure

Matterson - imo, would make a good captain, but admittedly, his ability to stay healthy is becoming a concern

JokerEel

Penrith are far and away favourites. Usually Storm, Chooks or Rabbits would be most likely contenders however all look to have regressed this year. Under normal circumstances it might be a great opportunity for our Eels to progress into the big one this year. Unfortunately while we have tread water the likes of Cows, Sharks etc have improved considerably.
Opportunity lost? Looks like it.
So do we just hope next year with a less settled roster will be an improving season? Cant say Im confident.

It is shit we let the Cows take the next best team spot if we didn't drop games to the dogs and tigers we would be in 2nd.

Our Roster isn't that bad next season.

Hodgson may be a good fit for Moses and Brown.

Jr
Hodgson
RCG
Lane
Matto
Hopgood

JokerEel

I don't disagree.

Gutherson is not a leader.

But then, I'm unsure if Moses is...

Who in our 13 would make a good leader?

Dylan Brown - never gives up, but he's kind of in the Gutho mould of "watch my effort levels, and copy me", rather than a calming influence

Mitch Moses - hot, and cold, and does not keep a cool head under pressure

RCG - I think he'd make a decent leader, but not for 80 minutes

Mahoney - before he joined the Dogs, I had him pegged as a future captain

Paulo - not a leader, imo

Papali, Lane - no leadership qualities imo

Brown - leads by example, but questions over his composure under pressure

Matterson - imo, would make a good captain, but admittedly, his ability to stay healthy is becoming a concern

Next year maybe Hodgson.

I still believe having Rankin on the field as a trainer would be beneficial he can guide and squirt water..

Happy MEel

Well we are 6th now and BA has stated tonight we are “miles” away from where we have to be….and last year we excited in week 2, and BA was pretty f**ken disappointed along with the team…

so I suspect a 6th finish or week 2 exit aren’t a goal of the team or something they would be happy with….
So if we fail to miss our goal again do we persist with BA?

i honestly thought the game was entertaining, with some very dubious calls by the ref. I thought the tigers forward really muscled up. Haven’t seen RCG manhandled like that before
Tigers forwards were solid. Our go forward improved in the second half but the starts of our sets is still poor. Was annoying that we didn't go on with it when we were up 28-12.

Next year maybe Hodgson.

I still believe having Rankin on the field as a trainer would be beneficial he can guide and squirt water..

Yeah, I think Hodgson is definitely leadership quality.

But much like Matto, it's keeping him in the field that will be the challenge.

But if he can stay healthy, he's a great signing - much better player than Mahoney, and a genuine leader, too.

They are both stronger clubs mate, proven by the fact they both won premierships in recent years, under coaches who are no longer employed.