Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd2: 4:05pm Parra v Wests Tigers GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank 16/3/25

eels_fan

Flew my family down from the GC for todays game (booked in months ago) and still held out some hope of a good contest despite last weeks result.

however that was one of the more pathetic and bereft of talent performances I’ve ever seen from an Eels team, and I was a season ticket holder from some dark days….

We were also due to come down for the Dolphins game in May but I’ve just put a big cross through that one.

Timana

Agree if we have put Lomax on the wing should have put will next to him..

Though the terrible defense wasn't because he was moved... He got beaten twice by pace and twice by dumb coming in decisions.
I hope JACS coming in will help the communication in those scenarios

Soto

It's so disappointing that we go through this same s^it almost yr after yr.
Is it time for the club to fold or merge?
I'm puzzled by Nathan Browns appointment if I'm being honest.
His win% for the Knights and warriors was 26% at the Knights in 94 games and 32% in 37 games at the warriors...seriously all the management need to go. They are clueless and we need to demand their departure.
We need proper footy people in their and some parra DNA.
The ceo is a Bulldogs supporter. HoF a Tigers supporter. The coaches are ex Dragons players, defensive coach played for the roosters, our new attacking coach most recently from Union...
These people have presided over one disaster to the next.
I know people will say it's only 2 games but to me it already looks like the season...
Tigers recruited extremely well and that's because they have shane Richardson calling the shots.
They recruited
- Luai
- turuva
- skelton
- bird
- Terell May
- Royce Hunt.
- yr before Koroisau
- Staines yr before and he's now in Reserve grade but would be a walk up start in our side.
Quality signings across the forwards and backs..
We need to sign 6-8 first graders next yr.
Unfortunately alot of juniors are overrated and no where good enough. Not sure why but don't and haven't had a production line of talent for years now.
Some players play 3 first grade games and then want $600k...what Is wrong with this club...too many questions and not enough answers

Angry_eel

It's so disappointing that we go through this same s^it almost yr after yr.
Is it time for the club to fold or merge?
I'm puzzled by Nathan Browns appointment if I'm being honest.
His win% for the Knights and warriors was 26% at the Knights in 94 games and 32% in 37 games at the warriors...seriously all the management need to go. They are clueless and we need to demand their departure.
We need proper footy people in their and some parra DNA.
The ceo is a Bulldogs supporter. HoF a Tigers supporter. The coaches are ex Dragons players, defensive coach played for the roosters, our new attacking coach most recently from Union...
These people have presided over one disaster to the next.
I know people will say it's only 2 games but to me it already looks like the season...
Tigers recruited extremely well and that's because they have shane Richardson calling the shots.
They recruited
- Luai
- turuva
- skelton
- bird
- Terell May
- Royce Hunt.
- yr before Koroisau
- Staines yr before and he's now in Reserve grade but would be a walk up start in our side.
Quality signings across the forwards and backs..
We need to sign 6-8 first graders next yr.
Unfortunately alot of juniors are overrated and no where good enough. Not sure why but don't and haven't had a production line of talent for years now.
Some players play 3 first grade games and then want $600k...what Is wrong with this club...too many questions and not enough answers
I think in our collapse this year, you're forgetting: Tigers fought us for the spoon last year.

Soto

Being at the game with my daughter in 36 degrees, I have a lot to say but one word describes the team: Rudderless
That's being kind..plenty more 1 word descriptions come to mind.
I don't bet but I think the Eels can make me rich this yr.
We will get belted against dogs, Manly and Canberra coming up.
Most likely win the spoon...time to open a betting account and count the moolah

Delboy

Sitting with my daughter and her husband today, after the first try scored against us in the second half, she got up and said “had 4 wisdom teeth taken out on Friday under general anaesthetic and it wasn’t as painful as watching this “ . Don’t think she was alone with similar thoughts , terrible effort from the starting pack and hopeless halves.

Felt sorry for the back 5 , their mistakes were highlighted but f**k me, they got no help or cover (Dylbro walking back after getting beat was obvious, not what we saw last year)

Gherkin

We’ll look like a different team when Moses comes back, even just his kicking game makes a big difference. Unfortunately by then it will be too late.
Our current halves pairing aren’t up to it. Brown doesn’t want to be out there and Volkman is timid. Their cause isn’t helped by our middle though, Paulo and slow mo Joe are ineffective and Hopgood still seems to be finding his way coming back from a long layoff.

Soto

Sitting with my daughter and her husband today, after the first try scored against us in the second half, she got up and said “had 4 wisdom teeth taken out on Friday under general anaesthetic and it wasn’t as painful as watching this “ . Don’t think she was alone with similar thoughts , terrible effort from the starting pack and hopeless halves.

Felt sorry for the back 5 , their mistakes were highlighted but f**k me, they got no help or cover (Dylbro walking back after getting beat was obvious, not what we saw last year)
He needs to be moved to centre immediately or our knucklehead management need to get on the phone to the Knights tomorrow and say let's do a player swap now.
This is already going down a slippery slope and there's no return from there.
He's done. Time for Ryles to own it and do something about it. It's untenable as it is now

Lemon Squash

Last week was woeful but getting pantsed by Melbourne away in round 1 wasn’t a massive surprise really. I was ready to push it aside and start fresh this week.

Today was just absolutely inept though… I’m not exaggerating but that was one of the worst Eels performances I have seen period. I’ve seen us get pumped by 50 plenty of times but today when considering the opposition it was laughable really.

Any half decent side would have put the Tigers to the sword within the first 20 minutes, they were deadset putrid. Fair play to them once they managed to get over for one they realised they were in a training session and rightfully put us to the sword.

I have two young sons, the eldest is 7 and isn’t really into his footy yet but he feigns interest in Parra as he knows it means so much to me. He sat down with me and watched the last 15-20 minutes or so, I think purely because he heard me carrying on and knew I was upset and wanted to support me.

I might have let the moment get to me but I did something that I never ever thought I would do. I turned to him and said ‘Mate you know you don’t have to support Parra if you don’t want to’. He didn't say a word.

I will always support this rabble and I hope in time he does as well, it’s always been a dream of mine to take the boys to the footy on a Sunday arvo. Like what I used to do with my Old Man. But days like today I honestly thought I’m probably doing him a favour if he chooses to support another team.

Soto

Last week was woeful but getting pantsed by Melbourne away in round 1 wasn’t a massive surprise really. I was ready to push it aside and start fresh this week.

Today was just absolutely inept though… I’m not exaggerating but that was one of the worst Eels performances I have seen period. I’ve seen us get pumped by 50 plenty of times but today when considering the opposition it was laughable really.

Any half decent side would have put the Tigers to the sword within the first 20 minutes, they were deadset putrid. Fair play to them once they managed to get over for one they realised they were in a training session and rightfully put us to the sword.

I have two young sons, the eldest is 7 and isn’t really into his footy yet but he feigns interest in Parra as he knows it means so much to me. He sat down with me and watched the last 15-20 minutes or so, I think purely because he heard me carrying on and knew I was upset and wanted to support me.

I might have let the moment get to me but I did something that I never ever thought I would do. I turned to him and said ‘Mate you know you don’t have to support Parra if you don’t want to’. He didn't say a word.

I will always support this rabble and I hope in time he does as well, it’s always been a dream of mine to take the boys to the footy on a Sunday arvo. Like what I used to do with my Old Man. But days like today I honestly thought I’m probably doing him a favour if he chooses to support another team.
It's getting harder and harder to support this clueless club. We are a joke and the laughing stock of the league

King-Gutho94

We missed Gutho so badly today.
A few astute obersvers pointed out to me live today how far back Iongi was from the ruck in attack compared to Gutho

He never lurked around the ruck once.

Gutho was around the ball all the time just like all the champion fullbacks. Now with Iongi having more speed and acceleration then Gutho I reckon he could make bigger inroads around that area.

Though Iongi is 3 games into his FG career so he obivously needs time. But if Ryles game plan is to have him sitting back and waiting for shit to happen were in a world of hurt and its not the way modern FBs operate.

King-Gutho94

In Penisini's defence, his entire NRL career he has played on the right side, and we now shove him over to left centre and hope for the best.

I'd put him back to right centre
Does that solve his piss weak butter hands.

Waqa Blake in hindsight was more reliable on catching the ball in the centres when there was shift on then what Will Penisini is.

All fans like to know how the news is taken by the other club.

Rest assured, we are f**king stoked.

View attachment 99903

I said you guys will make finals. I also like Canberra. Next year they'll go close. Many don't but I do rate Ricky. Over and over again he builds a tough and physical side and they cause upsets multiple times a year.