Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd22 Parra v Manly GAME DAY THREAD @ Sunshine Coast Stadium 14/8/21

Sphagnum

There is still time to fix the massive attitude problem before the finals. I personally don’t think BA is capable enough with the man-management to do it but I’m happy to be proven wrong.

The move to QLD would’ve been tough for all of the non qld teams for many reasons. Even Ricky Stuart said he has really backed off on the raiders and reduced the amount of time they spend doing everything footy each week so they can take care of maintaining a healthy mental state. It appears to be working for them.

I’m not making excuses, I just don’t think Arthur has a wide enough range when it comes to being a coach to identify that extraordinary times call for extraordinary measures and would still be doing everything exactly the same way, just in a different location.

they need to forget about the last handful of games and start moving forward from tomorrow. The players need to get their heads right and start working as a team again.

I’m as pessimistic as f**k but even I concede there is still time to get back to the form that saw us firmly entrenched in the top 4 for the first half of the season.

emjaycee

I actually agree with Pou - on paper, our team this season is better.

The only real major loss was Jennings, replaced with Opacic.

Other than that, we have a stronger squad on paper than in 2020, imo.

However, there are big, big issues behind the scenes.

I can't understand how we pushed Penrith to the wire, beat Melbourne (albeit in the wet), beat the Roosters (albeit missing several stars), and then dish this up for 6 weeks...
Don't despair mate.
It's only been 4 weeks.
6 weeks ago we lost by a point to Penrith and the week after we beat the Titans.

chiefy1

They should just rest the team for the next 3. The players look beaten up. Can't finish any other position but 6th/5th. Rest at least 4 players per game

emjaycee

They should just rest the team for the next 3. The players look beaten up. Can't finish any other position but 6th/5th. Rest at least 4 players per game
I reckon BA also needs a rest for a week.
Let the players look after themselves this week.
BA said in his presser that they will have to change things at training to try and get the attitude back.
That would be a pretty cool change.

Sphagnum

First person I’ve ever put on ignore

giphy.gif

I can see our attacking and defensive structures, our use of the bench and the team list. It’s happening right there on the field.
He's picking the best 17 each week, so I don't see the problem there. I'll give you the bench, I'd be using it a bit differently as well. But as for the structures, they are fine. We're playing ugly but it suits our team. Obviously when we get flogged no structure looks right, but that's the same for any team. The only team that hasn't been smashed this year is Melbourne, and those 15 other teams all looked poorly coached in those games. It's not the structure (or else why would Bennett change his structure against Melbourne and Penrith?); it's the execution. When you conceded a big score you lost the middle. That's been true forever.

We got everything we deserved tonight.

Everything.

You could see this coming and it had been coming for a while.

What will it now actually take for someone to do something about this shit show?
Depends if they can agree on what needs to be done.

We shat ourselves in 2018 and made the right calls to turn it around.