Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd22 Parra v Manly GAME DAY THREAD @ Sunshine Coast Stadium 14/8/21

So technically, we should go better this year....
We were pretty lucky last year and haven't been so lucky this year, with the draw and injuries. Penrith have been unlucky too, compared to last year. Manly were unlucky last year compared to this year. You can improve your team but still be unlucky. Randomness is a huge factor in our game.

The same team that smashed us?? Honestly mate give it up no one gives a shit anymore. Go front load an argument in an empty house somewhere else.
Then stop replying you f**king know nothing clowns. I get that you're frustrated but don't pretend you want to discuss footy when you just want to sling shit around. Don't waste my time. I come here to talk footy, not put shit on people. f**kwit.

RCG wouldn't have stopped that tonight. Can't you see the obvious defense flaws out wide. Wake up. Start making the coaching staff accountable.
The 'defense flaws' out wide are due to the middle defence needing help. That's how footy has always worked. When a winger scores untouched you don't give him all the credit. Why put all the blame on his opposing defender?

But I agree RCG on his own wouldn't have made a 56 point difference. Would he have helped our middle slugs stay in the game for longer before running out of gas? Maybe. But I'm sure there are bigger issues in our group at the moment.

Then stop replying you f**king know nothing clowns. I get that you're frustrated but don't pretend you want to discuss footy when you just want to sling shit around. Don't waste my time. I come here to talk footy, not put shit on people. f**kwit.

I actually agree with Pou - on paper, our team this season is better.

The only real major loss was Jennings, replaced with Opacic.

Other than that, we have a stronger squad on paper than in 2020, imo.

However, there are big, big issues behind the scenes.

I can't understand how we pushed Penrith to the wire, beat Melbourne (albeit in the wet), beat the Roosters (albeit missing several stars), and then dish this up for 6 weeks...
Yep, definitely issues behind the scenes. This is a team that has given up. The Gutherson saga is alarming. How many captains at other clubs' contract negotiations are such a public f**kfight?

Why do those 3 have to go? Not disagreeing at this stage, but would want some reasons to consider.
Aren't they supposed to be our leaders? Gutherson's contract bullshit is a disaster, and not for the first time. All three are badly out of form. Of course I wouldn't sack anyone under contract, but Gutherson/Paulo can walk at the end of 2022, and Nrown end of '23.

IFR33K

Like I said, it's improving. It's still poor compared to the top sides. These two things are true at the same time. I don't see what's so difficult to understand.

Ok. Let run with your theory. Is it so poor we should be getting smashed by 50.

Or do you think there’s coaching flaws and players selected that shouldn’t be in the team?

On reflection I feel really bad for calling for a bloke to lose his job. But I just don’t see anyway out of this. The killer is that I think BA Is a Parra man and he bleeds blue and gold but will he ever win us a comp? The answer is no. So how long do you then persevere with the status quo ?

he’s had 8 years. That’s a fair crack. Better coaches don’t get that many chances

Silver lining. For the future we need the side to be embarrassed to have BA gone. What happend last night in that opening 10 mins was worrying. Not seen that happen to many sides 7-8 line breaks in that period.

Noise

You said the stats indicate we are a worse defensive team. The stats also say we're a better attacking team. This illustrates why you should leave the statistical analysis to the pros.

At full strength we definitely are.
How is our defence better than last year? What evidence is there?

We certainly were not getting flogged several week in a row last year.

And how are we a better team overall on the field than last year? What do you like about this team as a whole that is getting it done this year?

He's also not in the top 25 try scorers, but one-tackle-break-per-game-Staines is top ten: https://www.nrl.com/stats/players/?competition=111&season=2021&stat=38

Who's making excuses? You merkins reckon these players would be premiership favourites with a better coach. You're off your f**ken heads.

Not favourites. But beat Raiders, Roosters. And stuck with Souths and Manly for atleast 60mins. Perhaps a 10 point loss. We had the ass end blown off us.

Staines has been dropped mate. So what is Ivan's reason?

How is our defence better than last year? What evidence is there?

We certainly were not getting flogged several week in a row last year.

And how are we a better team overall on the field than last year? What do you like about this team as a whole that is getting it done this year?
We let in 11 line breaks by half time, thank goodness we are a better defensive side this year or they would of really ran up a score.

I actually agree with Pou - on paper, our team this season is better.

The only real major loss was Jennings, replaced with Opacic.

Other than that, we have a stronger squad on paper than in 2020, imo.

However, there are big, big issues behind the scenes.

I can't understand how we pushed Penrith to the wire, beat Melbourne (albeit in the wet), beat the Roosters (albeit missing several stars), and then dish this up for 6 weeks...

The Eels in 2002 had a better squad then 2001. And the same can be said for 2010. We had big names signed.
Doesn't always work out. Teams have worked us out and that obvious to see by the way they come after us right from kick off. They have no fear to what we can throw at them. We have no confidence.
I firmly beleive the coach has lost the team. This side from when played Manly last has gone backwards a long way. The tank is empty. Players I don't think are playing for the coach now. There is no energy.

eel01s

Whatever has gone wrong (and there is plenty) I don't think there is confidence that the current group can turn it around.

BA has had his chance. He built this team and can get us to the finals, but history has shown we are not a real premiership contender.

We have to rebuild and start again.