Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd27 2024: 6pm Eels v Tigers GAME DAY THREAD @ Campbelltown Sep 6th

Delboy

The issue was a 2 headed monster, playing style and recruitment and retention. They both failed the club over the last 3/4 years. Part of the 2 heads has gone and that’s refreshing, need to see if the other one was a passive member of the monster or can actually improve.

Would prefer a new , more dynamic person in that role, time will tell .

The HOF and the dribbling CEO both to also need to go.

Bea Arthur, MON and the Dopey Timmy Mannah look alike = the axis of evil.

Yeah 5 in a row is the most we ever won under BA. I remember him making a deal about it in the press conference back in 2021 and thinking how poor that was that.

I wonder if any other club has not put 6 consecutive wins together in the past 12 years?
Heaps of them wouldn't have. If you won half your games (the average number of wins in a season, across the NRL), then six consecutive wins would mean half of your wins occurring in sequence. That would mean you would've lost plenty in a row as well.

With a bye in between, I asked more than 4 weeks in a row. Bea just couldn’t keep us up more than a month. You’ll never be a contender when you offer up a shit sandwich every 4 or 5 weeks.
You can be up and still lose if the opposition are also up. If they're better and also playing their best you're not going to beat them, no matter how well you play.

As an example, the Dolphins were up against the Storm earlier this year, at Suncorp. They completed high and tackled well and only lost by 6. Three months later they played the Storm again in Melbourne and they were poor, getting spanked by 42 points. The point is they played their best the first time and still lost. Because Melbourne have a better squad. This shows that losing doesn't mean the coach couldn't motivate the team. Sometimes (I would say often) the team will lose no matter what the coach does. Someone has to lose, and it's usually the weaker team.

If you had an axe to grind you'd be trying to blame the coach.

Maaaate. Wishing your team never made the GF ?

Confused Gary Coleman GIF
It means he wishes we lost the preliminary, which was a great win.

You can be up and still lose if the opposition are also up. If they're better and also playing their best you're not going to beat them, no matter how well you play.

As an example, the Dolphins were up against the Storm earlier this year, at Suncorp. They completed high and tackled well and only lost by 6. Three months later they played the Storm again in Melbourne and they were poor, getting spanked by 42 points. The point is they played their best the first time and still lost. Because Melbourne have a better squad. This shows that losing doesn't mean the coach couldn't motivate the team. Sometimes (I would say often) the team will lose no matter what the coach does. Someone has to lose, and it's usually the weaker team.

If you had an axe to grind you'd be trying to blame the coach.
That might be right over a year or two. But 11 seasons??

Yeah nah!!

Tell us the games we beat Penrith when it mattered?? They beat us in 2021 in that Semi and then smashed us both games in 2022. The Goosters and Storm had injury concerns and the Cows and Sharks finished top 4. Both those clubs were frauds. We sneak into 4th spot.

Someone had to fall into the GF and play Penrith and luckily for your hero Brad it was us. It got him an extra 2 million from our club so you Arthur cheerleaders should be wrapped.
Where's your proof we would've gone any better under a different coach? We have shat the bed after our past four grand finals going back to 1986. Four different coaches. But somehow it's Arthur's fault?

Where’s your proof we wouldn’t have gone any better?? You can’t. But keep simping for a bloke who won 4 finals games in 11 seasons and 3 of those against 8th.

I can’t wait till Ryles officially takes over then maybe the deep throating of a very limited coach may end.

Don’t worry, we’ve done that
Not when we've won a lot of games. Our worst losing streak in a year we made the finals was 2017 and 2021 when we lost four straight games. It's not a coincidence that we won six straight in 2017 and five consecutive in 2021. Your wins and losses have to be distributed somehow. If wins are clustered the losses will also be statistically more likely to be clustered as well. The only thing with higher probability is that you merkins' Eels discussion will be a total cluster.

That might be right over a year or two. But 11 seasons??

Yeah nah!!
It's right over any number of seasons. Not every loss means the team couldn't be bothered. I'd say most of them don't. Look at all our recent losses. With the exception of the Chooks game we were just outclassed, we didn't give up.