Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd4: 405pm Parra v Manly GAME DAY THREAD @ Brookvale 30/3/25

Soto

I know plenty will disagree and media will talk us down, but I reckon we did pretty good. And built on last week.

Yes attack is poor, and Manly were too good. But our defence was pretty good. We only missed 32 tackles. To many errors after our try, hurt us. Manly pretty much had the ball for next 20. But only managed 2 tries. They had 55% of the ball. It was their lowest score at home this year.

And our rucking off our line is getting better too. We are moving the ball around nicely.

But attack (not rucking it out) is poor. To much sidewards stuff.

Overall doesn't feel like it but think we are improving.
Manly was in 2nd gear all game...they went to 4th a couple of times and scored easy tries..sorry FA positives here except last try wins...
We were awful mate...manly were coasting all match

Think Smith need to come on 5-10 before HT, and play out the game

If we are persisting with Lussick, then plays the first 30. His concentration levels after this are poor

Think DBrown is close to playing his last game for Parra ,just a hunch. Cant see him playing out the year

Joshuatheeel

Well, defense is good but if giving those penalties and 6 agains on the last is considered part of the defense
Obviously not perfect, it's a new system. And other sides have a system where they are happy to give away penalties/6 agains. But overall my point I think we are improving.

put it this way, it I said to you before the game, Manly had 55% of the ball, completed at 86% and us at 74%, would you be happy manly only scored 4 tries...most would I reckon..,

The Predictor

I know plenty will disagree and media will talk us down, but I reckon we did pretty good. And built on last week.

Yes attack is poor, and Manly were too good. But our defence was pretty good. We only missed 32 tackles. To many errors after our try, hurt us. Manly pretty much had the ball for next 20. But only managed 2 tries. They had 55% of the ball. It was their lowest score at home this year.

And our rucking off our line is getting better too. We are moving the ball around nicely.

But attack (not rucking it out) is poor. To much sidewards stuff.

Overall doesn't feel like it but think we are improving.
Manly were shit today, and we still never got close

Obscene Assassin

Why? We aren't playing to our edges. Look at how we are moving the footy to the edges. It's basically pass to half pass or 2 passes to half then pass. No one in the middle is running it before passing it the half.

So we aren't creating any space. Edges are getting the ball with defence already on them. Very easy to defend.

Watch how some of the other sides feed their edge.

Lane can't time his run at all. There was a play in the first half where Iongi wanted to draw a defender and pass to him but he ran hard at the line as if he was going to be a decoy. Both lane and brown are to blame for the mess of the left edge

DaveMc

It’s early days and he’s obviously got natural talent, but I haven’t been super impressed with Iongi yet. He’s not clicking much in attack, and isn’t doing the link stuff out back or pushing through in support as much as I’d like. I’d persist with him still, but I can’t say I’m overwhelmed with what he’s brought to date.

Timana

Manly was in 2nd gear all game...they went to 4th a couple of times and scored easy tries..sorry FA positives here except last try wins...
we just never looked like winning

Both Manly and Dogs felt sorry for us

Joshuatheeel

They said the same of the dogs last week too....manly had 55% of the ball and completed at 86%....it's an easy argument to say manly weren't on their game, rather then saying eels did ok..

Joshuatheeel

Lane can't time his run at all. There was a play in the first half where Iongi wanted to draw a defender and pass to him but he ran hard at the line as if he was going to be a decoy. Both lane and brown are to blame for the mess of the left edge
Which is a fair point, but overall the edges aren't getting much quality ball.

Timana

It’s early days and he’s obviously got natural talent, but I haven’t been super impressed with Iongi yet. He’s not clicking much in attack, and isn’t doing the link stuff out back or pushing through in support as much as I’d like. I’d persist with him still, but I can’t say I’m overwhelmed with what he’s brought to date.
I am not sold. I'd rather Joash.

Kick returns aren't impressive. Don't see him chasing kicks. No dummy half runs, no supporting around the middle.

In attack, it's like he's waiting for that 1 play where he can chime in and throw a cutout.

Pazza

We're just going to have to persist with hands or lussik till Smith gets more experience

How was players like Smith and tuivati playing mostly flegg last year?

Good qustion for the HOF...

Joshuatheeel

No fullback will look good in our edge play at the moment. They are getting the ball with hardly any space

Soto

I am not sold. I'd rather Joash.

Kick returns aren't impressive. Don't see him chasing kicks. No dummy half runs, no supporting around the middle.

In attack, it's like he's waiting for that 1 play where he can chime in and throw a cutout.
I feel as though Joash will give more energy and enthusiasm.
Ionghi at 6?
It's sad how I almost want the season to already be over...what a cluster