Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd4: 615pm Eels v Dragons GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank Stadium 3/4/22

Happy MEel

That's true cause athletically he looks average. But it is hard to judge a half on a handful of games.

Many Penrith fans untill 2 season ago wanted Nathan moved to hooker. Plenty said he just doesn't offer enough as a halfback. Yes he showed a lot more then JA but he didn't explode untill Maloney left. Untill then he was very safe and did the little things right
If he’s playing first grade, it’s only reasonable to judge him as a first grader. I have no issue with him learning his trade in reserve grade. However, he should be nowhere near first grade unless long term injuries to either Moses or Drown.

emjaycee

The team as a whole played in slow motion and not to its strengths against the Sharks.

The point is Lane is a weapon out there and we still haven't worked out the best way to take advantage of his size and skill correctly and we only see glimpses of it. If Brown can improve his playmaking skills then he would bring Lane into another level of attack out there. Out lines are all wrong most of the time, especially when in the red zone. It is pathetic really and we rely on the bash and barge option way to much.

The red zone offensive part of our game is pitiful and the coaching has to wear that blame the most. If you can't see that I cant help you. If Moses didn't have a great kick in him, we would be a laughing stock as an offensive team.

To single out Lane as a problem and stifler of Dylan's attack is freakin hysterical and shows that we all see the same thing but come to very different conclusions.

I suppose you are one of these bonehead commentators that loves the energy level and contribution of Nathan Brown when he comes onto the ball on the 4th tackle too?

It is probably the dumbest and most wasted tackle that our coaching staff have persisted with for years now. When will they finally learn and realise that his settling 4th tackle hitup stifles all our momentum and only allows the defensive team time to reset the line unless he is lucky to get a super fast play the ball going.

When will the penny finally drop and they start to instruct him to go into the line with ball out in front of him with runners on either side of him in motion and then just as he is about to hit the line of defenders turn either right or left and pass to a moving at speed attacking line of outside players with space to move?

It isn't rocket science and he can pass and do it well, so why are we using him like a battering ram all the time, instead of like the Roosters use Radley for example? Or Matterson who also has ball playing skills could also do this at lock when Marata is back. If we focused on this small but huge variation on our 4th tackle option it would bring in all our attacking players and give them so much more room and space, especially in the Red zone, which we can't for the life of us, workout how to attack correctly. We just shift from side to side, with the barging settler or two and then kick hoping something works out. Very, very frustration and my throat gets hoarse screaming at the tele watching these idiots bumble around out there.

I keep saying it, what the hell are they practicing at training all week long? Very frustrating. It's the red zone for fu*k sake, get some depth, speed and bodies in motion for fu*k sake and strip them for numbers out wide. Then reload and do it again and again and again. Eventually they will fatigue and or falter. Why are we doing it so freakin wrong? Settlers are for the birds and teams like the Tigers. We are title contender and we need to learn how to attack the red zone correctly. Players like Dylan, Penisini and Blake would have a field day out there if we gave them that space.
Here is a 4th tackle where Nrown wasn't used as a battering ram Ram.

I'm having a day off. Slept 8hrs. Had 3 coffee.
And ate 2 sausages. It's been a great day. Now I'm watching the mid day movie. Then meeting mik for dumplings
I’m assuming you meant to say you ate 2 dumplings and you are meeting Mik for sausages.

TheRam

Here is a 4th tackle where Nrown wasn't used as a battering ram Ram.

Exactly, run to the line and pass. In this case he took the collision and passed, but they were broken so with fancy support players we made them pay.

But if he had done his normal run and just went for the collision the play would have died with him on the ground with the ball in his hands.

The point is, we need him going to the line and then passing to a support player. It would change everything, if we did it with players around him in motion. We have the talent to kill opposition defenses one on one. Lets use them ffs, instead of giving them straight lines of defense and cul-de-sac walls to run at.

84 Baby

Capewell they picked up cheap and had great value from then let go. He wasn't a junior. Similar to Kikau.

Burton is a loss but they have the two current NSW halves. Huge difference. Along with Tago and Critchton in centres. If we had a gun 5/8 snapping at Dylan's heels along with a premiership already WON then fair call if we let him go.
Our alternative would be what?

Anyhows chances are we re sign him. Our club isn't that dopey is it?
My point is, if I have to spell it out, you’re doing it after his last 2 performances when he’s at his most expensive. Apologies if you were hammering the club just as hard about resigning him end of last year.

TheRam

Says the guy who has a melt down when people don't agree with him and launches into narcissistic insults* .....

* sorry; spice and colour. 🤓

No second prizes dude. I know you're a lefty, but at my school you need to earn you star.

Like I said Giffy, you know you want to. I can sense/see the beads of sweat forming down your forehead, go on Giffy...GIF ME!

It is probably the dumbest and most wasted tackle that our coaching staff have persisted with for years now. When will they finally learn and realise that his settling 4th tackle hitup stifles all our momentum and only allows the defensive team time to reset the line unless he is lucky to get a super fast play the ball going
It's a shame you haven't watched enough footy to realise those fourth tackle settlers set up Moses' kicking game. Then people might take you more seriously.

A big is issue in the red zone Ram is we go wide when the opposition defense is set. Its pointless and just puts us put wide which means a wasted tackle following as we try and work the ball back to the middle.

The spread only should come when we have a fast play the ball. If you don't get one no point. Better to try a play up the middle with a forward passing a short ball. And stay in a good position for a repeat set.
To often we go wide when the defense is set and just pick us off. Should be more set plays and bodies in motion which we don't have.
Exactly. TheRam could learn a thing or two from this merkin.

Name the guys they lost? And who was above them.

Like I said Burton had the current 2 x NSW halves signed up.
They've also made the last two grand finals and have a squad that looks strong enough to get there again this year before they lose some big names. Big names that they had at their club during their PEAK
They lost former club captain Moylan, as well as Blake and RCG. All highly touted local juniors who helped f**k their salary cap. If they hadn't given his dad a job they were going to lose Cleary as well, and then they wouldn't have played in any grand finals. He's probably only on $700k. The other $600k or more he should be on is getting paid to a family member outside the cap ffs

They didn't lose RCG or Blake they cut them based on the young kids coming thru. Same as Moylan who we all know was a bit of a bad boy with a smelling issue. In the last 3yrs they have built a machine of a side and kept all the good ones.

We have produced 1/3 of the quality of juniors in the last 4yrs. Mahoney,Pensini,D.Brown are the 3 best along with Stefano. We lost Mahoney and Stefano. We can't lose the other 2.....

There’s the classic defeatist attitude of Pou we all know and love.
So when have we ever signed a bunch of players who were in high demand? We haven't even been able to keep this sort of player. Even back when we were at our strongest since the glory years (roughly '97-'01) we got the flawed coach players didn't like, and every year we were losing some of our best players. The team from one year to the next had major personnel changes. I reckon 2022 is the first year since the mid-80s where we've had the same strong team as the year before. And next year half the merkins are gone again.

I think we have pull now @Poupou Escobar

Just don’t have rich merkins lining up with TPAs
I think we have more pull than we had, so we can now get these roughies with high potential. But there's still the retention issue when their demand skyrockets. We're still not able to recruit these gun juniors who are NRL certainties by the age of 16. Kids like Latrell Mitchell, Cordner, Haas or Harry Grant. Even the Chooks weren't able to keep Mitchell once he was worth top dollar, but they got their money's worth out of him. And their junior rep teams are all topping the table yet again.