Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rebecca Wilson at it again

Patorick

It was Meshel Laurie on Nova Brisbane who dared to question the might of Bourbon Bec.

Yup, good memory.

Wilson leans strongly on the gender aspect of things; this scandal has brought about several mentions about males in the rugby league community, including ? but not limited to: ?The Rugby League bloke ?Mafia'?, ?the male bosses at Nine?, ?core group of male league reporters?. These people want to protect Matthew Johns, and it?s being alluded to that is because they are all blokey blokey and Bec?s the disgusted woman in this. Indeed ?female league fans? have been emailing her by the dozen. ?Female league fans who have partners or children have every right to feel disgusted and disappointed? apparently. I have a news flash for you Bec, you are not the spokeswoman for female League fans, for all the ?dozens? of emails that you got, I can tell you how many females I know that share your view, do you want to have a guess? I?ll give you a hint, it?s a number between -1 and 1.

Indeed someone tried to tell Rebecca Wilson that they didn?t agree with her point of view. For the record, Wilson said in her ?A culture of cringe? opinion piece that ?I was even forced to hang up on one shameful female radio jock in Brisbane who continued to insist she could not see any wrongdoing in Johns? behaviour and that I had a personal axe to grind. The rugby league culture is a sick bunny, indeed, when female football fans can find good in the poisonous?

For people who don?t know that ?shameful female radio jock? was Meshel Laurie on the Nova 106.9 breakfast show, and Laurie was trying to express a different point to what Wilson had peddled in her opinion pieces. The link is here, roughly 5 minutes in: http://podcast.nova1069.com.au/nova1069_podcasts_140509.mp3

What Laurie was saying, for the deaf and/or lazy, was that she took exception at the comment where Bec says how ?most women? feel, as Laurie, quite rightly, doesn?t believe the same thing as Bec, nor does a lot of other people she knows. She believes, AS MOST PEOPLE DO, MALE AND FEMALE, that whilst it isn?t pleasant, What happened after that was a pure at of petulance, radio?s example of taking your bat and ball and running home to have a good old sook. ?Why have you got me on?? was where the interview turned sour and she has claimed to have ?500 emails in the past week ? (roughly 42 dozen for you playing at home) where ?80% of the emails received have been against Matty Johns, male and female?. Because others have have differing opinions just as much as Bec has differing letters in her inbox,apparently the people on Twitter have less of a valid opinion than the people using email. I find that strikingly odd to allude to the fact that one form of Internet is more worthy than another. The interview turned even more sour when Laurie made the assertion that she had a personal axe to grind against the Footy Show (which she does, everyone knows that), and she disputes that and says her axe to grind is with Rugby League culture (not AFL culture, where they also have massive women issues, not sport culture, RUGBY LEAGUE culture). The last sentences go as such: ?And you know what? Next time don?t ring me if you want an opinion, if you want a genuine, proper, grounded and informed opinion. Goodbye.? And with that she spits the dummy in a major fashion and hangs up because she didn?t get the audience she wanted, she got an opinion that?s shared with the majority of people it would seem. For someone as grounded and informed as Rebecca Wilson she surely acts very precious when the people she?s preaching to aren?t converted.

https://southpenrithcalling.wordpress.com/2009/05/18/rebecca-wilson-journalist/

LESStar58

It was Meshel Laurie on Nova Brisbane who dared to question the might of Bourbon Bec.

Wow. My opinion of Meshel Laurie just went up a notch.

Might add her to my list of people on The Project that I can stomach... so far it's only Waleed Aly.

LESStar58

I don't make a conscious effort to tune in and watch it but my attitude tk Aly has more to do with his performances on Offsiders. He was on after the Storm vs Cowboys prelim and spoke really well about the game and seemed to actually have a grasp on it (saw him there the previous evening, scarf and all).

LESStar58

But agree with you on the show itself. I cannot stand Bickmore, Helliar and the glorified drive time radio hosts they put on it. Pretty sure they use canned laughter!

bnie7349

Its going to be interting how DUI Becs defends the collingwood players LOL

I reckon Bourbon Bec will be watching the Souths v dogs game with great interest and will be hoping that something bad will happen to overshadow the AFL drugs scandal. But I doubt it will happen haha

Patorick

I reckon Bourbon Bec will be watching the Souths v dogs game with great interest and will be hoping that something bad will happen to overshadow the AFL drugs scandal. But I doubt it will happen haha
You honestly thinks she watches NRL games?

:sarcasm:

Flapper

Gallen 4 Lyfe. Every word of that was exquisite. I feel like I've just had sex it was that good.

beave

Gotta agree with Gallen on this one.

She's a piece of shit. A drunk driving piece of shit.

Usain Bolt

She didn't miss Gallen on sportsnight last night lol she even brought up how he takes hit ups to pad his stats:lol:

LESStar58

Well worded by a bloke who has had his head in way too many scrums. To good a response for the likes of a low life talking head.

Wilson is a pig. I don't think I have heard a more vitriolic statement from her against an individual than I did in that sound bite. She never even got this personal with Willie Mason IIRC. Surley some of the things she had to say about him are bordering on defamatory? The parts about padding his stats and such?

I'm well impressed by Gal talking about accepting his tag as a "drug cheat". Very noble compared to the 34 Essendon players who refuse to take their medicine (no pun intended) in regards to the supplements regiment administered by their club. Unfortunately she won't go within a stray pube of that little chestnut because she's the AFLs mole (no pun intended either) in the Sydney media and is never going to question the morality of those players.

mongoose

Well worded by a bloke who has had his head in way too many scrums. To good a response for the likes of a low life talking head.

Wilson is a pig. I don't think I have heard a more vitriolic statement from her against an individual than I did in that sound bite. She never even got this personal with Willie Mason IIRC. Surley some of the things she had to say about him are bordering on defamatory? The parts about padding his stats and such?

I'm well impressed by Gal talking about accepting his tag as a "drug cheat". Very noble compared to the 34 Essendon players who refuse to take their medicine (no pun intended) in regards to the supplements regiment administered by their club. Unfortunately she won't go within a stray pube of that little chestnut because she's the AFLs mole (no pun intended either) in the Sydney media and is never going to question the morality of those players.

It's bizarre that the AFL would even want her as an ambassador as no one likes her. The AFL seem to have this deluded idea that the more mud she slings at NRL players the more NRL fans will convert to AFL :lol:

Was disappointed Dan Ginnane seemed to pull Gallen up when Gallen said 'she might want to look at some of the things she's done in the past.'

I reckon Gal was going to let rip even further.