Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Recruitment challenges

This ain't about dominos.

It's just some observations about how hard recruitment challenges are at the moment.

The significant one is COVID-19. People can't meet up at the moment and it's been nearly a month since they could. It takes the humanity out of recruitment which is difficult.

Potential third Brisbane team. I think a lot of players, managers, coaches are watching this closely. At least 2 players come to mind that have signed 1 year deals when they probably could have gotten more. Crighton and Edwin Duff

For us, Fitz is juggling three commitments. Roosters, SOO and Sharks. His head is barely in the Sharks right now. For a month he's between SOO and Roosters mostly.

Lack of top tier players available. There's a handful and we got one of them. I don't really think the Sharks have missed anyone they would have offered and arm and a leg for. I think those days are over. I reckon the long game of patience is on. That's hardest on the fans.

The new "Cone of Silence" management is good. I have no doubt at all that in the hallowed halls of Shark Park the work is being done but they have realised silence is golden.

So my message is.

"We will get there when we are meant to get there. So relax, breathe and be patient"

Paraphrased from Kung Fu

snout

So how many dominoes have we missed out on?
At least 3.
But thats just an observation.

I would have thought that Zoom meetings would have accommodated any true interest negotiations.

No. You forget what Reynolds said about his negotiations with us. You can't tour facilities on ZOOM, go for a cuppa or a meal, have incidental meetings in the club which sway decisions.

ZOOM is a curse. It's good in a pinch. I haven't been to a proper meeting in over a year and get stuck on ZOOM 4-5 hours a day out of a scheduled 8 hour shift. It's a barrier to productivity for sure and everything slows down because of it.

I had a job interview on ZOOM early in June. First thing I got asked was to turn off the video because the bandwidth was poor. Then the faking thing kicked me out twice. The rest of the time it lagged and stalled.

I got the job anyway but it was a terribly painful way to get it.

Rant over. ZOOM sucks

I would have thought that Zoom meetings would have accommodated any true interest negotiations.
Zoom meetings ,And.... Apps that trace your every move, surely also trace every players every move on the football field , For potential suitors perusal.... Probably a little frustrating when you do ring up and get the " if you are calling about a contract for 2022 press 1 , if you are calling about a covid breech press 2, if you are calling about a sexting scandal press 3 .... etc etc ... Now I can understand how all that could be frustrating, but its nothing we dont all have to deal with ,these dAYS. Internet and computers have streamlined everything and made life so much easier and efficient ! ... HA!!!!!!!

No. You forget what Reynolds said about his negotiations with us. You can't tour facilities on ZOOM, go for a cuppa or a meal, have incidental meetings in the club which sway decisions.

ZOOM is a curse. It's good in a pinch. I haven't been to a proper meeting in over a year and get stuck on ZOOM 4-5 hours a day out of a scheduled 8 hour shift. It's a barrier to productivity for sure and everything slows down because of it.

I had a job interview on ZOOM early in June. First thing I got asked was to turn off the video because the bandwidth was poor. Then the faking thing kicked me out twice. The rest of the time it lagged and stalled.

I got the job anyway but it was a terribly painful way to get it.

Rant over. ZOOM sucks

You went through all that just to become a Team Leader at Bunnings. Sheeze.

Youse have got Gladys and Scummo from Marketing to get you out of that mess. Just be patient.

Zoom meetings ,And.... Apps that trace your every move, surely also trace every players every move on the football field , For potential suitors perusal.... Probably a little frustrating when you do ring up and get the " if you are calling about a contract for 2022 press 1 , if you are calling about a covid breech press 2, if you are calling about a sexting scandal press 3 .... etc etc ... Now I can understand how all that could be frustrating, but its nothing we dont all have to deal with ,these dAYS. Internet and computers have streamlined everything and made life so much easier and efficient ! ... HA!!!!!!!
over digitising EVERYTHING.
heading back to a dumb phone pretty soon.

snout

Ah grasshopper....when you can snatch the pebble. Only then can you go into the world and understand its mysteries.

Tiger Shark

This ain't about dominos.

It's just some observations about how hard recruitment challenges are at the moment.

The significant one is COVID-19. People can't meet up at the moment and it's been nearly a month since they could. It takes the humanity out of recruitment which is difficult.

Potential third Brisbane team. I think a lot of players, managers, coaches are watching this closely. At least 2 players come to mind that have signed 1 year deals when they probably could have gotten more. Crighton and Edwin Duff

For us, Fitz is juggling three commitments. Roosters, SOO and Sharks. His head is barely in the Sharks right now. For a month he's between SOO and Roosters mostly.

Lack of top tier players available. There's a handful and we got one of them. I don't really think the Sharks have missed anyone they would have offered and arm and a leg for. I think those days are over. I reckon the long game of patience is on. That's hardest on the fans.

The new "Cone of Silence" management is good. I have no doubt at all that in the hallowed halls of Shark Park the work is being done but they have realised silence is golden.

So my message is.

"We will get there when we are meant to get there. So relax, breathe and be patient"

Paraphrased from Kung Fu

Everyone is having the same COVID problems around meeting in person and other teams are happily recruiting away so that's not a valid excuse imo.

The key points around playing the long patient game and not panic buying is the big one for mine, that and keeping things in house. Where as you have the Cowboys and Broncos openly telling people who they want to sign etc. Just sets them up for failure if they don't sign them.

I think I wanted Liu, but maybe that's because everyone was saying we were talking to him. Not sure how sad I am we missed him, certainly not at the price the Titans apparently paid. We do need middles though.

I defn wanted Reynolds but Hynes is a great substitute and feel like we'll be better off in the long run with Nicho.

Aside from that not sure who else we've "missed" that I wish we got, at the price they signed at those clubs for.

She'll be right mate

bluefox68

Another big factor in recruitment and retention is that we don’t have access to the same information regarding up and coming talent.

Club insiders know what talent is like that is ‘not far off’ first grade, or young players returning from injury…

Example: Hynes.

Another big factor in recruitment and retention is that we don’t have access to the same information regarding up and coming talent.

Club insiders know what talent is like that is ‘not far off’ first grade, or young players returning from injury…

Example: Hynes.
Our club has been smart on selective recruitment, some clubs are chasing anyone and everyone

Tiger Shark

Dogs in for Vaughan after signing dufty and all the others. What cap?
And TPJ

They're going to spend all their money soon and not be able to add anything else.

Reminds of when you're 5 and mum gives you some pocket money for the first time, rather than spending it on something good you blow it on lollies the first chance you get.

Craigshark

And TPJ

They're going to spend all their money soon and not be able to add anything else.

Reminds of when you're 5 and mum gives you some pocket money for the first time, rather than spending it on something good you blow it on lollies the first chance you get.

admiteddly Vaughn and TPJ would be two pretty good additions to their pack with their already pretty decent backline they have for next year

Tiger Shark

admiteddly Vaughn and TPJ would be two pretty good additions to their pack with their already pretty decent backline they have for next year
Yeah but something about it makes me think they're not in for much success all the same. Maybe I just dont rate Barrett