Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Recruits

magpiemax

brook said:
lol he lets a lot less through than Gidley!!!
Sorry,we would have to draw straw's for that one.
Im a little dissenchanted at the moment.But should we beat the Rooster's by say even 12-10,last week's game against the Dragon's will only be a distant memory. :)

brook

lol I understand the disenchantment

I just think there's few players in the game more over-rated than Matthew gidley

Spike

Gidley is a novacastrian, god of the flick pass and current NSW origin centre :clap:

brook

yeah the flick pass - which looks fantastic when tahu is there to catch it

and the rest of the time sails over the sideline or goes to ground.

and he still can't tackle

HappyTiger

Albo said:
If you think Halatau is a hot centre prospect, you must be kidding.

Compare him to the Gidley, Lewis, Monaghan and Gasnier, where is he placed??

Halatau is a good young player and will be solid for the rest of his career, and may eventually play for NZ, but he aint 1st tier.

Harrison and Collis, havent seen too much to comment, but Harrison looks like a lock to me

I think your underestimating the potential of Halatau.Heres a guy who was promoted to PL last season and plays a handful of games before being selected for first grade and Dene has hardly set a foot wrong so far.I think he has the potential to a top line centre in the nrl and at the very least will be a solid first grader.I think Dene will be selected in the Kiwi team at the end of the season.He certainly deserves it.

magpiemax

Spike said:
Gidley is a novacastrian, god of the flick pass and current NSW origin centre :clap:
O.K, So apart from being an outstanding centre,with a magnificent flick pass who has played at all levels in rugby league.What else has he got going for him??? ;-) :lol:

Vicious

No doubt about it,Dene is a very good footballer,and still has plenty of room for improvement.In saying that IMHO I reckon Collis and Harrison both have more ability as centres than even Dene does.The catch is that they have to get to Denes standard of committment and enthusiasm!

magpiemax

Snide the Tiger said:
Why the f**k would we bring back Clayton????????

We had him for peanuts and he defended like we paid him peanuts!!!
That's right he was the defender you have when not having a defender.

Snide the Tiger

And Clayton is really committed and enthusiastic Vicious???!!!!

As for Lewis - great prospect at centre - but a deadset winger for now!!

Monaghan - as above - but less of a centre prospect!!

As for Gasnier - I rate his team mate Cooper well ahead of him!!!

Vicious

Why the f**k would we bring back Clayton????????

We had him for peanuts and he defended like we paid him peanuts!!!

John Wilson defends like we pay him peanuts,only i`m quite sure he`s on decent money and in the 1st grade side!Difference being,Clayton is a very dangerous attacking player!

magpiemax

Snide the Tiger said:

As for Gasnier - I rate his team mate Cooper well ahead of him!!!
Yes Clayton maybe commited to his family but not when it comes to footy.
Yes we know about Lewis being a winger very good point.Monoghan is great anywhere and as for Gasnier not being better than Cooper,just go and have a look at the boot prints that are still embossed in Brett Hodgson's face and that will answer that question.

Snide the Tiger

Cooper also scored 4 against us in the previous game this year max!!!!

And many of the boys were towelled by him in that game also!!!

Vicious

Snide the Tiger

Posted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 3:41 pm Post subject:

As for Gasnier - I rate his team

Well Snide and Magpiemax.Since you both seem to know it all.Tell us all what needs to be done between now and next year,to turn us into genuine premiership contenders??????????????? :roll: :roll: :roll:

Snide the Tiger

Number one I'd say not bring back former failures like Clayton!!! He s**ked and is simply not of top grade standard!!!

Toopi is the man if we want outside backs!!

NZ Magpie

Just the name Gaznier, scares the c**p out of me.

I am old enough to have seen his Uncle Reg play. It must be in the Gaznier genes, because Reg Gaznier was probably the BEST back I have ever seen. he could weave through the eye of a needle. He could sniff a gap at 300 yards and was gone before you had time to say boo!

Our boy dene is looking that way too, (I hope).

Gobbso

Spike said:

Put him in a team like Souths or Manly, his true colours would show. He has made the most of his opportunities. And who wouldn't? Receiving quality ball or finishing off all the hard work Johns sets up...Heck, Nick Bradley could be playing for the Blues if he was a Knight :lol: Brook thank goodness i'm not the only one who is of this opinion. If being able to hop off your left foot and throw a flick pass is what you need to play Origin and for you're country, well why didn't anyone inform the rest of the good centre's going around in the game? :roll: