Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces 2

POPEYE

Problem with the Simona saga it's like catching someone with a boogey board bag of weed going through customs, who would start off being so f**king stupid. How many increasingly bigger things do you get away with before you get caught.

With our media the way it is every RL player with his hands in his pockets will need to be strip searched. Every dropped ball, obvious forward pass . . . what about a bloke putting his hand on the ball 5th tackle on his tryline in a gf

Thanks to Simona any stupidity on the field for the time being is going to be likened to serial killing, let's hope we don't see any more suicides to top it off

POPEYE

I'm never too fussed what players get up to in their private lives, boys will be boys and if they f**k up in degrees they pay in degrees. All I have time for is what players do on the field so imo the worst thing that can happen to spoil my interest are injuries . . . of course other than game fixing if it does occur

There are times when injuries can be advantageous even if sympathized with, Tohu Harris is a prime example. The bloke is leaving his club next year and although a key player sooner rather than later he'll need replacing. Better to experiment while he's around but can't play for the time being than come up with a solution after season's end when he's gone

Then you have my pet 'hate', key players like Adam Reynolds that when they are 'fit and ready to go' you know it's only a matter of time when they're going to bomb out. There's always a certain disappointment when you see a great player run out that you know is leaving but it's worse watching a 'stayer' you need that will never ever be any more than a part timer

POPEYE

Not long to go now before we have something meaningful to talk about, in the mean time a little more ad nauseam. If you watch ESL you can't help but notice the difference between the current 'top 2' referees. They refereed one WCC game each and a couple of tv ESL games since

First we have Phil Bentham, a clone of the legendary Richard Silverwood, who referees to keep the game flowing. Bentham stops the game when one team is obviously disadvantaged and he has no choice. You might think he missed something but in reality what he 'missed' was ineffectual and as so disregarded. The result is the game flows, is great as a spectacle and the best team almost always wins

Then we have Robert Hicks who obviously copies Australian refereeing, continually searching for a reason to blow his whistle, both his games I watched so far have been over complicated and farcical . . . still, the best teams won which is better than nothing

The point is it's a waste of f**king time whinging and moaning about 2 referees, Bunker/video decisions/non-decisions when all of the adjudication both on and off the field is ludicrously over the top. Although ESL is not quite up to the standard of NRL it's like relaxing with your feet in a bowl of water and a beer in one hand when a single referee that knows what is required adjudicates only on things that matter

POPEYE

All my life I've been a hard nut but kids and dogs always find a way through the façade, must admit I welled up a little seeing the reaction of the Pommie kid Townsend gave his WCC medal to. The little bloke reminded me of my daughter who had to struggle with glasses at a young age

Chad did more good for RL in that gesture than the media here could do in a year of bad. I don't read the Tele . . . did the picture make a full page

POPEYE

Some teams begin Round 1 still in trial mode, some in as ready as can be mode and a few in desperation mode, nevertheless the fools that bet more than lunch money on RL will blame bad luck if they can't pick the winners . . . . the number of reserves shows that coaches aren't betting

Broncos going to miss Parker but Benny should feel comfortable with this lineup. He'll undoubtedly mention jetlag if it goes pear shaped but his mob should be rearing to go. Flanagan can't possibly be settled so the team can't be settled, still won't be shown any mercy by wankers if his lot has a poor showing

CB has the wood on Melbourne in games of less significance, the Storm are still trialing the team while the Dogs' coach is on trial . . . anything could happen in this game

The club that has possibly the strongest cult of supporters seems forever destined to be devoid of a team culture. Hodge podge Souths could very well win any game just as they could very well lose, it's up to the Tigers to supply the surprise in this one and I wouldn't bet against it. Neither of the #7's of any interest to me but the #6's intriguing

McCrone as best choice #7 is the epitome of the rotten luck that has befallen Mary, will we ever know for sure how good a coach he can be or is he partly responsible for this dire situation. There is some consolation in that Hook can have no excuse for losing . . . or winning by a small margin for that matter. Big questions are which Penrith player will get injured and what will Jai Field bring to the game

A ready as can be Cowboys at home should be too strong for an unsettled Raiders, although Whitehead should go well in the Centres, remains to be seen if both Sezer and Austin both finish a game. I hope GGM or GMG, whatever his name is, starts on the wing for the Cowboys . . . more interested in him than a departing Ponga

Kane Elgey has the Aiden Sezer vibes about him, doesn't come with a warranty, let's hope all goes well with the young bloke. The Halves will have to build a combination to make up for the lazy prick Hayne and what inspiration will Proctor bring. Roosters are most interesting, I'd like to see Connor Watson turned into a #9 to replace dumbarse Friend but Keary is an accident waiting to happen so that won't happen . . . otherwise the team appears ready for 'culture' mode

Warriors need to flog the Knights, if even one Newcastle supporter at Mt Smart has reason to rise from his seat there will be hell to pay

Crikey it's hard to keep a straight face . . . 'Lottoland' is appropriate in so many f**king ways. The Seagles are favourites because the Eels are still trialing, I won't believe it any other way for the team I want to play for the cup.

POPEYE

Sharks back down to earth, can lose a tight one just as easily as win one, still imo they looked good enough to go one better this year and win The Shield. The new #9 will fit in nicely methinks

I'd have Kahu in any team of mine and Boyd might just make a great Captain after all . . . good game to start the season

POPEYE

Yes, early days maybe but must admit I'm surprised Boyd looked impressive as Captain, basically he merely did his job as he should. Milford too did his job as he should, as he did at the beginning of '16, will the media cacophony of his 'genius' again be overbearing enough to f**k '17 for him as well

Have to agree with Ennis when in Clark Kent mode he says Beale would be better at #1, not sure Holmes would be quite as magical where he can be corralled. Jaiden Brailey looks to have the platform to build a decent #9, workrate ok but is he smart enough . . . Hookers have come full circle from medieval times, no more room for 'dumbarse'

Benny is again in the 'media accolades groove', more noted for his pep talks than his scheming he has impressed the impressionable and Toga looked the goods for one game at least. The Broncos did their as of late petering out thing but Boyd was at his best in salvage mode. Both teams did what was asked of them, one did it on time and the other too late

taxidriver

McCrone as best choice #7 is the epitome of the rotten luck that has befallen Mary, will we ever know for sure how good a coach he can be or is he partly responsible for this dire situation. There is some consolation in that Hook can have no excuse for losing . . . or winning by a small margin for that matter. Big questions are which Penrith player will get injured and what will Jai Field bring to the game

mate this post shows you really aren't as astute a judge as you present yourself to be

no f**king clue

taxidriver

among the first employees sacked on the arrival of Bennett in 2009 who is on record as saying not much needed to change, funny that Mary was part of that "not much"

Bennett leaves and the old boys bring back Mary to the cutters in 2012. he spends 2 seasons there were the cutters do f**k all

He is appointed as attack coach for the NRL squad who go on to build a reputation as among the most inept, predictable attacking sides seen in the history of the league

so with no success of any sort as a senior coach (and please don't go to those bush comps) he gets the head job whereby the team hits new lows in terms of attack, scoring the lowest ppg in the history of the side since the JV and if I recall correctly in the lowest 3 ppg in the history of the dragons, coached the first dragons side to ever be held to nil at Jubilee ( a feat he managed twice), a win ratio well in deficit of the loss rate, insipid and uninspired selections and a demonstrable MO of trotting the same selections and same shit game plan out every week

we scraped into the finals in 2015 on the back of a run of 8 wins in a row after which every head coach in the comp worked out how to stifle our attacking options

have never won a finals game under him

need I go on?

the guy is in the Langmack class of coach

I'd take Steve Price back over him as would most Saints fans

anyone who has watched us play with any sort of regularity will attest to the denigration of the side under his lead

POPEYE

I see you never passed 'Sarcasm' at school ol' mate. Because I pushed his barrow when he began coaching NRL, as I do all hopefully great coaches, doesn't mean I'm blind. I doubt if you transposed Mary to Melbourne overnight the Storm would make the 8, then again I also doubt Bellamy would make the 8 with your mob as it is

Might be a case of the blind leading the blind but regardless, Mary is having no luck with his roster . . . you have my sympathy

POPEYE

If the game had of been played at AAMI, Storm had 55% of the ball and Kasiano went off early Des would have been satisfied and within his rights dealing out smug holier than thou quips to the shitty media . . . but alas.
As it is Bellamy can't be happy with his Halves combination, the Melbourne spine looked in disarray and only team discipline saved the day

Just had a thought, maybe I should take in the press conference before commenting further. No need to watch the Tigers' presser to comprehend that come what may Taylor finally has full control of his mob. No more excuses or inhibitions and we don't have to wait for Leichhardt to feel optimistic. On the other hand Madge may soon be tuning in to Coronation Street, he needs to lead a simpler life where bad decisions are acceptable

Imo Finchy is funnier than The Professor and they should swap seats

Addendum: Pressers are a must watch . . . even if the questions have to be guessed

POPEYE

I'm off on my annual pilgrimage to the Sunshine for a month where my grandchildren will come up with all sorts of alternatives to watching RL and 'record' is difficult, I will have to sneak games like a kid with a lolly jar . . . things happen beyond your control

Like if I was a betting man . . . I'm not because it'd turn analysis into 'wtf' . . . I'd much rather be on the Raiders than the Panthers this year. Sticky's mob mightn't win every game but they won't be losers, not if his Humpty Dumpty Halves remain on the wall . . . a huge proviso I know

And who knows if Mary's mob will continue to take the ball to the line, maybe sticking it up their jumpers and running crabwise will return . . . simple remedies are not always 'rememebered'

Another lesson that should be easily learnt that isn't . . . some players should play Centre and leave Fullback to specialist Will-o-the-Wisps. Demonstrative players like Inglis/Mitchell/Dugan and lazy pricks like Hayne should be left to running onto the ball, not f**king gathering it up

Keary looked a little overwhelmed with it all . . . can't be this easy can it . . . remains to be seen if he's up to an encore every week. That said, the Roosters so far this round look to be the team that has left 'shemozzle' the furthest behind

Titans will come good I think, Proctor will have to learn to survive out of water and the halves will have to invest in longevity but all is not lost

F**k it, I'm going to have to invest in one of those iPad thingamajigs that can stream Fox . . . which is the best RL radio station for a road trip

POPEYE

Too much Bourban here on the Sunshine Coast but here goes. The way the Roosters and Dogs played last round Dessie should be in deep shit this round. Let's hope the chooks don't become as dependent on Keary as Souths are on Reynolds . . . don't write off the Dogs

Listened to the Warriors game on the road and almost f**king choked on a Big Mac when the Knights got close, that said I hate it when It's Melbourne's turn against the Kiwis

Broncos favorite against the Cowboys . . . bouyed by Boyd maybe

Perenara's refereeing the Knights/Titans and Hayne is proving more trouble than he's f**king worth so anything could happen. Brown doesn't have to win as long as he keeps losing with conviction

Seagles and Souths imo look on par . . . actually equally not on par

Raiders should beat the Sharks going by the last round . . . isn't that how it works

Do the Tigers have a chance against the cup favorites . . . gotta love the f**king media

Dragons v Eels has to be match of the round . . . I kid you not. I could only listen on the radio while Norman proved the equal of Thurston/Cronk and the Dragons might again take the ball to the line even with McCrone . . . whodathought

POPEYE

No Fox where I am and the grandkids were having music lessons so I watched Ch9 on mute, which is better than with sound. Refereeing sucked, one Doggie try off a forward pass but all's well that ends well. Keary on a loose ball reminded me of a greyhound trying to catch a fox, road holding like a Valiant . . . still, the bloke looks pretty impressive for the time being

Kasiano's back into the baked potatoes again and the Roosters never looked like losing until the Dogs knew all was lost and they better do something to save Des. If Robbo can pick up a useful #6 so easy what is it with Dessie The Mule . . . stubborn til the end

POPEYE

As a RL addict I'm having trouble coping without my Fox fix, I feel sorry for those 25% informed who only have Ch9, akin to being dragged to visit an imaginary friend on Sundays. Only observations I have about yesterday's games can be second hand but it's obvious Hayne is only going to play the least amount of footy he can get away with . . . he is a culture anti-christ

Kearney appears to have the same problem as Hasler, no f**king brains on the paddock . . . then again, only the Cowboys/Storm/Sharks are over endowed with intelligence

Brown has a plan at least and it seems to be working, Madge is holding his own, Sticky is not so sticky and Barrett is in La La Land . . . he'll need to win Lotto

POPEYE

How could I forget Corey Norman, he's another V8 along with Cronk/Thurston/Maloney amid the host of 4 cyl halves going around. Whichever State/Country he is eligible to play for that doesn't use him has f**king rocks in its head . . . Maori descent, can you imagine him guiding NZ instead of dopey Johnson

POPEYE

I don't give a shit if the Broncos beat Melbourne, more important Slater comes through unscathed, his confidence is in doubt not his ability . . . still not convinced Munster is ready at 5/8 either

Imo Kerrod Holland is the most dangerous Dog, the rudderless Warriors might have a chance with him missing . . . . again a coffin nail match for Dessie

My wannabee cup winners the Eels look too good for the Titans especially if Norman is playing but he's not . . . 'same for everyone' injuries are bigger enemies than any of the 15

If Humpty Dumpty Reynolds doesn't last the whole game the Knights may beat the Rabbitohs . . . should at least frighten them the way they're going

Panthers/Roosters should be match of the round, wouldn't it be f**king great if both played at their best . . . lotsa luck with that

I want GGM and Ponga to play for the Cowboys, the Seagles will have to reignite the 'wood' to win

Raiders have to win surely, they've gotta have more smarts than Brooks. I reckon Moses is the forgotten man at a buck's party when Brooks plays . . . a breathing ball'n'chain

If the Dragons take the ball to the line on every tackle except the last they may get close to the Sharks . . . Mary is in charge of the youngest group of Alzheimers sufferers I've seen